We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, location, location in a charming 450 year old building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Ranked #397 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Location, location, location in a charming 450 year old building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Cannot beat the location of this hotel, which is near Louvre, Notre Dame,Seine, Metro ...
Management staff is nice and accommodating. Just chat and ask for information. Did have the welcoming champagne drinks. Lift is small but hotel staff can help get your luggage to your room.
We chose a balcony room so we have a extra room to breath Paris air out of the small room.
We needed the adapter and got it from front desk easily. Breakfast is nothing to root about but convenient just in case you don't want the Parisian breakfast around every corners.
The construction is inconvenience and noisy during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TirelessDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    270
    63
    21
    17
See reviews for
131
258
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The location is terrific. Less than a 10 minute walk to Louvre and just a 5 minute walk to Notre Dame, Seine, and Latin Quarter. I would stay here again just based on the location. The front desk staff was very nice and helped us call some restaurants where we wanted a reservation, even insisting on giving looking up the location and giving us a map so we could find the place.It is VERY clost to a metro station. We had a very easy time getting there from the airport and getting around when we needed the metro, although we walked to many places. It is close to a shopping street. The room itself could have used a little bit of updating and the shower was so small we could barely move in it, but overall it was clean, quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler89675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Dechampaigne after a business trip in Germany. The location is fantastic. Less than a 10 minute walk to Louvre and just a 5 minute walk to Notre Dame, Seine, and Latin Quarter. I would stay here again just based on the location. The front desk managers were very nice and gave directions and restaurant advice when asked. Another huge perk is that there is a small convenience store just a few steps away and because I don't drink coffee was a huge bonus in getting Diet Coke or waters in the morning. The room itself could have used a little bit of updating, but overall it was clean, quiet, and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agfriedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Although it took us an hour to find the hotel, this is in the best location of the city. It is a couple feet away from the metro station. It was close to Norte dame, the pompidou, Lourve museum, and many more. There are many delicious cafes with great breakfasts in the area. The service was nice, with the hotel managers easily accessible. The rooms were good enough with comfortable beds, flat screen televisions, and air condition. The hotel building is over 800 years old and is adorable. It is a classic French building in the heart of the city. I highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is overall very good but do be careful to specify that you don't want the top floor unless you are able-bodied enough to carry your suitcases up one flight of winding stairs. The elevator, which is small, goes only to the next to last floor, so if you are at the top you must walk the final flight. Not too difficult usually but very challenging and somewhat dangerous with suitcases. Had help carrying them down for our checkout but no help offered upon check-in. The check-in desk clerk was generally unfriendly (arguing with another customer in front of us, for example) and indifferent. The room was fine for this price range in Paris. The location is great, except for the inconvenience of the current street closing. Upon checkout, they insisted on an extra 2-Euro charge for a tax, even though the room was prepaid. Not going to argue over 2 Euros, but still this left a sour taste.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDN37535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your guest comment.
We are surprised in reading our staff was indiferent, we take care of each one of the guests comming at the desk looking to make them feel like at home, we regret if you had a wrong feeling about the staff. We'll take this like a suggestion to be more carefull in the future.
The 2 euro requested upon departure are the local city tax (1 eur per person per day), wich is mandatory and is given to the public treasury each year, is never included in the price, is the same in all parisiens hotels.
Thank you for taking time in giving your feeling about your stay.
We'll be pleased to welcome you next time in Paris.
Best Regards,
Ms LAUFERON Owner
Ms Fernandez Front Desk Manager
Nicolas / Anna front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family, friends and I were staying in this hotel for many times in the past few years - mainly due to its good location. In the past the indifference of the staff was toleratable, it was more or less ok, and there were couple of people who made an effort. This time the experience was next to disastrous.
No welcome, no explanations, no nothing. The person on duty threw the keys in our direction without raising his head from the monitor.
No welcome drink, which used to be a good tradition.
The room was the smallest I have ever seen in this hotel ( stay away from room 202). As a loyal guest, you would expect more.
Promised free wifi was not working. After a long conversation with the hotel rep, it still did not work. After two days we have managed to join the network which was not even hotel's.
There is a renovation going across the street so the noise is unbearable.
grand hotel de champagne paris
Beds are uncomfortable and breakfast for 13 euro is a high way robbery.
On top of this we were in Paris on Bastille day. No one at the hotel warned us about this, and the fact that some metro stations will be closed, as well as some shops.
Also, I think that they are working with the most overpriced taxi in Paris. When we were taking off to the airport, the driver walked into the hotel, since the entrance street is blocked by the construction, picked us up. The meter was running all that time. I know taxis are tricky all ov the world, but all the worst experiences I had in Paris were happening in this hotel.
It such a shame that staff and owners do not care for their guests at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondie2010msk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alidalauf1607, Gérant at Grand Hotel Dechampaigne, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Madame,
Thanks for your review.
We wish to say that we can not uderstand why you never asked to change your room if you didn't had satisfaction. As you know the hotel the most easy is to say it imediatley upon arrival and don't wait till your check out to say "for next time i don't like to have this room" as per your feedback with our staff upon departure. We are really surprised about your review.
About the internet connection we think you were not doing the good procedure to connect on our wifi network, what we explain carefully to all our guests upon request and that it was working propely during your stay.
We regret the noice from the renovation around the corner, but we try our best to avoid inconvinience to our guests regarding this situation totaly out of our hands.
Corcerning the beds, we think your feedback regarding this matter in not justified because the mattress has been changed not long time ago.
Regarding Bastille Day all the satff said to the guests making requests about this special date, but as you didn't come to ask for nothing we think that you were aware about it.
We inform you that all the taxi drivers have a counter machine in service in the car to count the amount of each trajet, so normaly the traject to Charles de Gaulle airport cost around 65 eur and around 50 eur to Orly airport, we don't know how much you have paid, but we use to work with all the official taxis companies from Paris.
We feel you are rude on your feedback by this system and nothing told about all you complaints at the desk or to the manager. We regret very much this situation.
Thanks you anyway.
Best Regards,
Ms Lauferon - Owner
Ms Fernandez Front Desk Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

After hours of train ride from Geneva heading to Paris. Weve arrived in the most underrated hotel in Paris, the Grand Hotel Dechampaigne.

I dont know if some hotels have been twistedly rated by hotel reviewers that this hotel has only 3-stars. Quite frankly, ive stayed in some 4-star hotels in Paris, but this one should be in that league. The room was very spacious with great interior that surely you will adore and most likely you would copy for your own room. The bathroom was huge and separated to the toilet which is very convenient if youre travelling with friends.

And lastly, the staff were so kind, friendly and attentive to your needs. Highly recommended to everyone who wants to stay in the very heart of Paris. This hotel is not so pricey that can compete with other overrated 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenedr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Britannique
Hotel Britannique
#169 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
#765 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#615 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,053 of 1,816 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#263 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,122 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dechampaigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dechampaigne

Property: Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Address: 17 rue Jean Lantier, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#366 Family Hotel in Paris
#409 Business Hotel in Paris
#596 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Dechampaigne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne Paris, built in the XVIth century, is the symbol of the French hospitality tradition, with delicate French decoration and architecture a refined service.Our staff will be pleased to welcome you in French, English, Spanish, Russian, Italian and German. The Grand Hotel Dechampaigne combines a high standard of comfort and the refined service of a friendly mansion within Paris: Few steps from, the Rivoli Street, les Halles, The Louvre Museum, Tuileries Garden, Concorde Square and Champs Elysees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Dechampaigne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing