We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #168 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2006

This was our first time in Paris and because of the reviews we chose this hotel, which I absolutley loved! We felt that the location was perfect! We had a room on the sixth floor facing the street. I know I read some reviews complaining about the street noise, but I didn't hear a thing from outside, maybe because we were up higher, although I thought the street the hotel is on was very cute and quiet. There was one bum that camped out in front of the hotel at night, but harmless. Every morning we went to the bakery around the corner which was delicious, we looked forward to it every morning. The metro is just around the corner along with a lot of shopping and cafe's everywhere. It is true that the hotel walls are thin and the rooms are a bit small, but we still found it to be very comfortable. The staff is very nice and extremely helpful. We found that most of the people/waiters in Paris were very nice. It really helps if you at least try to speak french. We used a guide book by Rick Steve's that was extremely handy. All together we loved Paris and we loved this hotel. If we were to come back we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nstojov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    441
    65
    24
    5
See reviews for
221
841
105
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

We are just back from a weekend in Paris where we stayed at the Hotel Britannique near Chatelet Metro Station. We could not get over the welcome we received and from start to finish our stay in the hotel was just perfect. While the elevator was small, it did not pose any problem. We just took turns in going up..... The library on the ground floor was magical and the rooms were in no way too small. We were on the 4th floor and had a great view from the window. My son however was on the 5th floor and he had a private balcony.

The hotel is perfectly located and there are lovely restaurants just around the corner. We had breakfast in the boulangerie to the right of the hotel and dinner in the restaurant across the road - it has "robes" in the name - just across from the boulangerie. Camille the waiter there took fantastic care of us...

A very short walk in any direction and were in the middle of everything.

Fantastic and will certainly stay there again soon.

Helpful?
5 Thank corklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Britannique. We found the previous positive reviews of this hotel to be accurate. The hotel is spotlessly clean (we even saw the chambermaids cleaning the legs of the beds and the doors each morning!) and is in a great location. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the gentleman who works in the evening.
You are right beside many major sites such as Notre Dame, Sainte-Chapelle etc with the Louvre and Musee D'Orsay approx a 10-15 minute walk away. Also you are across the road from a metro station which is very useful when travelling further afield.
There are some nice cafes, restaurants and creperies in the area. We dined in Restaurant Zimmer across the road one evening and found the waiters friendly and the food good.
We would definitely stay in this hotel again when in Paris, because of its good location, cleanliness and feeling of enjoying a little more of the ordinary daily life in Paris rather than staying in a large chain hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roscommongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2006

Stayed here 4 nights last week.
Very central location for metro and all the sights.
Hotel very clean and friendly. Rooms small but well decorated and very very clean.
Were on 4th floor room 46. No view but quiet.
Would stay here again.
Cafe Zimmer across the road waited over 5 minutes for them to take breakfast order so walked out and found small cafe round the corner instead.
Didnt' ahev breakfast ib hotel as 14 euros is a lot when we only wanted coffee and crosiant.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2006

My partner and I spent three nights here. For Paris standards the price-quality ratio is exceptionally good. The hotel is well situated, intimate, very well decorated to create a comfortable atmosphere and the staff is very kind. Our room was small, but very cosy and pretty. The bathroom, on the other hand, was very comfortable and irreproachably clean. We enjoyed the bathrobes!

The little salon next to the reception is also very warm and peaceful - the kind of place you would want to walk into when looking inside from the street.Breakfast, though rather expensive, is fantastic, with fresh juice, an assortment of attractive French cheese, ham sausages, and pastry.

Although other people on this website commented on the heat and noise, we did not experience any of these problems. The room was rather hot when we arrived but we simply opened the window - and despite being very close to the reception and sleeping late in the morning, we were not woken up or bothered by noise at all.

When travelling I particularly dislike arriving at a hotel and being disappointed by what it is really like, as opposed to what it looked like on Internet. With Hotel Britannique, this is defintely not the case and we feltthat we really got what we expected.

We were sad to leave and will definitely come straight back next time we stay in Paris - there should be a Hotel Britannique in every city we visit!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2006

This hotel does have a great location about halfway between Notre Dame and the Louvre. It's located in The Beaubourg/Les Halles area and is only steps away from lots of cafes/bars/restaurants. It's also really close to a metro so you get easily get just about anywhere in Paris.

The rooms are very small compared with American hotel rooms but standard for Paris hotel rooms. Our room had plenty of storage space so we weren't tripping over our bags. The rooms are spotlessly clean and we had no smoking odours in our room. However, the location of the Hotel is very busy and our room experienced a lot of street noise - people talking, cars, sirens etc. Maybe lighter sleepers should request a higher floor or one at the back of the building. The bathroom is nice but small - especially the shower - there was no bath.

Hotel staff are quite friendly and helpful. The place does have the world's smallest lift - not for the claustrophobic.

We had the breakfast one day for convenience and it is a bit pricy at Eur 14 however if you have a big appetite and like to nibble on a few different things then it may suit you well - they have sausage, scrambled eggs, bread, ham, cheese, yogurts, fruit etc. They'll also do boiled eggs for you as well. There's plenty other places in Paris where you'd pay the same for much less food.

One previous reviewer said the area was a bit seedy but I didn't find this. We went to a couple of different restaurants in the area which were wihin easy walking distance and found them really good value. We particularly enjoyed Au Pied Du Cochon near St Eustache which is a bit more pricy but good for a special occasion. Cafe Beaubourg on Rue Quincampoix was really excellent value and good food. I would not recommend the mussels at Le Trappiste which is just round the corner - they weren't very good.

If we returned to Paris we would consider staying here again - I thought it was good value for the location. Alternatively I would look for other hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bebe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2006

We stayed three days at the Brittanique and just loved it. The hotel was on a quite street and within walking distance to many of the major sights. The rooms were very small but that is expected in most European hotels but it was VERY well decorated and very clean.

The bathroom was actually a little larger than some other hotels and I could not believe how clean it was. It had to be one of the cleanest bathrooms I had ever seen. We were in room #5 on the back side of the first floor and the only disappointment was that that room had no view but that was ok with us since we did not spend a lot of time in the room.

The downstairs sitting room was lovely. The breakfast I thought was a little pricey but it wasn't bad and it was easier than going someplace else.

I would highly recommend this hotel for its location, decor and price.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#69 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#337 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#133 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#659 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
#692 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#12 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing