We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this hotel”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #150 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New Canaan, Ct
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2009

My husband and I (relatively seasoned travelers) recently took his parents (in their 80's, somewhat limited mobility for him, not seasoned travelers) to Normandy and Paris. The Hotel Brittanique in Paris was a gem! Small boutique hotel but had everything we needed to be comfortable. We had rooms 25 and 55. Rooms were of a reasonable size (given its Europe ... need to realize they will be smaller than Americans generally used to), lovely bathrooms, a small elevator so didn't need to lug our luggage upstairs. The common sitting room was quite pretty and had a computer hooked up that guests could use. Continental breakfast was a little pricey but well done with eggs, saugage, breads/croissants, cheeses, cereal etc. The staff at the front desk was also quite pleasant and helpful (I would especially point out the very very nice and competant brunette woman from Vancouver Canada as being top notch). The location of the hotel was also quite convenient ... several nearby metro stops, walking distance to the Seine, Notre Dame and the Louvre. Several fine brasseries also nearby were nice to stop in for a later evening nightcap and cheese. All in all we had a terrific time and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEH_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    452
    66
    24
    5
See reviews for
230
860
110
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights during a trip to Europe for our 3rd anniversary. Overall, we enjoyed it and would stay here again

Paris was our first stop from the US so we arrived quite early and could not check in. They did have a baggage room for us to store our things in and pointed us in the direction of things we wanted. Our room was ready when we came back and was nice and clean- small but that is to be expected. We had a room with a balcony, which was a great addition. The shower was fine but leaked some water into the bathroom.

The wireless internet worked well.

Location is great you are literally steps from the METRO and very close to Notre Dame, etc. The staff is knowledgable and friendly.

Check out was smooth.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybugx87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I found this gem of a hotel on TripAdvisor and it exceeded my expectations. The location was perfect - we could walk to many museums/monuments and the rest were only a stop or two away from one of the Metro lines at Chatelet. Lots of great cafes and restaurants in the area as well. Great buffet breakfast which went beyond the usual Continental fare. The staff was unbelievably nice and helpful and were most accomodating of every request. We were there for a week so we met many of them and they all treated us like special guests. We talked to another guest that has been staying here for 10 years and he says the service has been consistently great.
I highly recommend this hotel for location, service, value, and the clean nicely appointed rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaGirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

this hotel is in a great location in the 1st arrondissement, just across the street from a (chatelet) metro entrance, and one short block off the seine. the rooms (i stayed in a single but visited a king) are clean and cozy but not too small. the bathrooms are clean and appear recently renovated. my single bath had a shower stall, but my friend's king bath had a tub. air conditioning and in-room safe worked well. there are several places (salons du the, cafes, restaurants) quite close for meals. the staff are helpful and friendly. the elevator is tiny, but reliable. the sitting room is comfortable and full of books on paris.

i arrived before check-in and the hotel offered to keep my luggage in a locked area until my room was available.

the higher rooms on the front of the hotel have good light and pleasant views. i arrived the day before a (daytime) street festival: on the first night i heard loud construction noise as workers put together a stage and festival area, on the second night i heard the deconstruction noise, but after that the following nights were blissfully quiet.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peregrinatious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Britannique for 4 nights when celebrating our Ruby Wedding - 40 years!The hotel location is excellent, on bus/ underground routes and walking distance to Louvre/ Notre Dame, and Pompidou Centre. The hotel is very clean and reasonably quiet for centre of a busy city ( we had room on front of hotel.) We never heard any other guests. Breakfast was fine and in a nice cosy breakfast room. We really relaxed here and the staff were fantastic. So friendly and helpful, we even had compimentary English tea in the afternoon in our room. This hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanakaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Excellent for a romantic break, took my wife for first anniversary.
Very central - good for Louvre , Metro , St Germain.
Nice and clean room 'slightly' on the cosy side.
Good breakfast buffet with hot options..
Hotel organised a beautiful bouquet of flowers and champagne for the room ..
Although whilst changing rooms the maid threw out the flowers which we found very disappointing and not really explained .... the replacement was not as good...
Very helpful reception organised evening tickets/restaurant bookings etc ..

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getawayanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My wife and I staid in Paris for 6 nights (from August 30 till September 5). One cannot have a better location to stay in Paris. The hotel is perfectly located for the tourists planning to get knowing Paris, especially by walking. Many Paris' beautiful places and museums are at the walking distance from the hotel: Ile De La Site, Ile De Saint Louis, Jardin Du Luxembourg, Jardin Des Tuileries, Notre Dame, Latin Quater, and many many others. We even waked to the Alexander III Bridge (Place of Invalides) - about 40 minutes one way, to the Arc de Triomphe - about one hour along the Champs-Elysees, and to the Eiffel Tower - about 1.5 hour along Seine River.

Service is very good, rooms are clean. We had one unfortunate incident with somebody's dirty stocks appearing on the night table. After I brought it to reception's attention, management had sincerely apologized to me and offered a complementary breakfast. Also - for some strange reason, they do not provide the shower caps, so plan on having it with you.

The hotel offers the complementary WiFi connection - worked fine, and I was able to read the news on the WEB and to check my e-mails.

The room (#32 - street exposure, no balcony) was great - small, with the king size bed, and very cozy and clean. Two huge windows can be wide open allowing fresh air in. If you are planning on having several electronic gadgets as I had with me, get ready to take with you the power cord, - there is not enough power wall outlets in the room. And, obviously don't forget a few 220v European power outlet adapters (I had 5 with me - used them all for my camcorder, photo camera, GPS, and two cell phones).

The room has a safe with the code lock, it was working fine, so I used it for some of my valuables and purchases I have made. It was not trivial to understand how to use the lock, so I had to figure out it myself and only then I found a small sheet with the instructions on the table.

Bathroom is a bit small, but still convenient and very clean. Towels are changed every day. After you check in, you may want to ask them for some more soap bars, as we had only one prepared in the bathroom, and bar us really small.

There is an air-conditioner in the room - located just above the entrance door with the regulator on the wall. It's cooling the room sufficiently. We had a chance to try it it for the couple of days while the days in Paris were quite hot (up to 30 degrees Celsius).

Breakfast, the hotel provides, is not extremely good. Despite the price for the buffet type of breakfast (15 euro per person), I could not persuade myself to eat it. We tried several various places to eat in Paris (breakfast and dinner alike), even using the hints from the well known "Tom's Guide to Paris", and we found the best to be the "Zimmerman" restaurant just across the street from the hotel. Breakfast for two: two omelets (one - with bacon), one big vegetable salad, two coffees, and three small croissants - all cost about 35 euro.

The weather was not very good for the last three days of our stay - clouds and rain. I regretted I did not take a sweater and a raincoat with me.

All in all, it was a great, unforgettable stay in Paris, we very much enjoyed, in large part due to the hotel we chose to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#425 of 1,801 in Paris
675 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#67 of 1,801 in Paris
656 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#278 of 1,801 in Paris
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#660 of 1,801 in Paris
492 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#664 of 1,801 in Paris
213 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel de la Place du Louvre - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing