We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Floor Plans for Guest Reference”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #154 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Floor Plans for Guest Reference”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have stayed twice at H-B, and I enjoyed it immensely. The first time was in Room 62, top floor facing back rooftops; the second in an incredible streetside Room 52 with double walkout balcony. Please note that on the streetside, the windows are generally full-height french doors, opening to an iron railing. 3 rooms have a french door with a 3' deep walkout balcony, and 3 rooms have 2 sets of french doors with 3' deep walkout balcony. See photos for floor plans, and make reservations well in advance if you want the special balcony rooms. The floor plan diagrams are a bit out of date, as there are more balconies than those that show, but our Room 52 was just like Room 22. Perhaps the hotel can list in the comments section exactly which rooms have the walkout balconies, as they are a wonderful amenity. Hope this is helpful to future travelers.

Room Tip: It's all about the balconies !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HarryKnapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    452
    66
    24
    5
See reviews for
230
860
110
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic. it is a very nice hotel, comfortable and the staff was fantastic. The rooms are nice and well appointed. We had a classic and superior that were just fine although on the small side. HOWEVER, this was not a surprise given location and value relative to Paris as a whole so more of an upfront expectation than a complaint. The only negative to us was the noise since banging of doors was loud from any surrounding rooms; ear plugs were helpful.

I often hear complaints about things getting stolen and we had quite the opposite experience. After leaving, I got an email that my daughter had left a necklace in her room safe. It was waiting for me the next day when we returned to the hotel. Thank you.

Definitely a hotel to recommend if you want to be in the center of everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wwbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just arrived back for a nice break at the Hotel Britannique. Ideally located just around the corner from Chatelet Tube (Line 4) it is just a short stroll to places many of the main attractions. We booked a double superior which was a nice size. Although the bathroom was a bit on the small size it was well decorated and catered for out needs with a shower attachment above the bath. The room had amongst the facilities a mini bar, safe, good storage, bathrobes, air conditioning. tea making facilities and a very comfortable king size bed that provided a good nights sleep after a day's touring. The cleaners did a wonderful job each day. The breakfasts were very good with a nice selection of typical continental fare with everything fresh and there was also a nice lounge area to relax and read or catch up with mails. We found the wifi connections to be very good also. Finally the staff were extremely helpful and we always received a warm welcome. Overall we would have no doubts about recommending this hotel for your holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Britannique; our balcony room was delightful and we enjoyed being so close to the river and all the local sights. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel clean and comfortable, and altogether this hotel is excellent value.

Room Tip: choose a balcony room if one is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank west0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 day stay at Hotel Britannique recently. The room was certainly adequate in size and tastefully decorated. There is free internet in the rooms and that is always a plus. The friendly staff kept the room clean at all times. The king size bed was very comfortable. The hotel desk people were very warm and informative. They cheerfully advised us on sites to visit with careful directions and maps. Everyone spoke English and they all made us feel very comfortable. The hotel has a fabulous central location that is walking distance to all the major attractions, including the metro, the Louvre, the Museum D'Orsay, and the Champs Élysées. It is also just a few blocks from the Pont Neuf River Seine boat ride, which is a great way to get a lovely over view of Paris.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor. We had good a/c and plenty of hot water for the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tema H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed in May as part of a 2 week journey in Europe to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel was nice and clean but the room was a bit small compared to other hotels we had stayed at before. The breakfast and service were good and the staff quite friendly. Also the location was satisfactory and we could walk to some of the attractions we visited. Sometimes the internet line was a bit slow. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here earlier this month. It is better than a 4 star but not quite 5 star. Its advantages include: its location within walking distance to many Paris sights, friendly staff, clean, nicely decorated, near the train station coming from CDG airport. The breakfast is extra but worth it. You get cereal, eggs, sausage, yogurt, breads, jam, fruit, coffee/tea. The only trouble we had is the mixup on our room request. We asked for a room toward the back to avoid possible music noise from the bar across the street. First we were given a room on the street side but later changed to the back. All in all we recommend it. It has too many things going for it.

Room Tip: There is a bar across the street in case music noise is a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiree67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#452 of 1,801 in Paris
675 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#64 of 1,801 in Paris
656 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#286 of 1,801 in Paris
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#660 of 1,801 in Paris
492 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#668 of 1,801 in Paris
213 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,101 of 1,801 in Paris
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing