We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2013 Stay At Hotel Britannique”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #154 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“September 2013 Stay At Hotel Britannique”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I can not say enough good things about this hotel. We stayed there for 5 days and the service was excellent. The Hotel was most helpful in the planning and in celebrating our engagement while we were there.
The engagement ring was late being delivered to us in the United States before we left on our trip and the Hotel gladly received it, safely kept it for us until our arrival and it was needed for the surprise. They provided the videographer, decorated the room and provided all the romantic extras that made our stay there so special.
While out sightseeing, we hurriedly left our taxi (that dropped us off at the museum) and accidentally left our IPad on the back seat, the Hotel tracked down the taxi for us, made sure our IPad was safe and had it delivered to us at the Hotel.
If you are looking for a Boutique Hotel close to everything with charm and fantastic customer service, then this is the Hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrose2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    450
    66
    24
    5
See reviews for
229
857
110
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The location is wonderful - a short walk to Ile de la Cite and the Latin Quarter. Many good restaurants are nearby, and the Chatelet metro is very close. The room was charming and spotless. People who complain about room size have spent very little time in Paris, I think.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Apollonia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Gérant at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for such kind words. It is a joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Hotel Britannique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Spent five nights in Paris with my 3-year old and had an excellent experience in the Hotel Britannique. Very central yet quiet location near Châtelet metro station, great breakfast buffet, friendly and helpful staff who would look up sightseeing information for us during the day and present us with a great fruit plate on a rainy day. Room was small, but in very good condition, beds comfortable. Elevator rather old and slow, but we mostly took the stairs anyway. Got a very decent price and would go there again on my next trip.
Note: The hotel only serves breakfast, but does not have a restaurant itself. There are plenty of places just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I was sorely disappointed with our stay at this hotel. This hotel is in a great location, but that is it's only redeeming quality.

The small rooms in this hotel need some major upgrading (we even booked a so-called larger room). For instance, the furniture was old and dated, the gross carpeting needed an overhaul, paint was peeling off the bathroom walls and there was visible mold in the bathroom. And we had to leave our keys at the front desk each time we left the hotel- really annoying.

I was quite surprised about the state of affairs given that this hotel was so highly ranked on tripadvisor. Thankfully, this wasn't my first time in Paris otherwise I would have been thoroughly discouraged by my stay there!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank kwallace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Gérant at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
WARNING from the Management :

This comment is simply ridiculous. The person who posted it seems to be ill-intentioned. This is evident by comparing it with the other comments.


HOTEL BRITANNIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Pros:
1. Perfect location in the First, just steps away from the Chatelet Metro station which contains many Metro lines and 3 of 4 RER lines. Easy walk to the Cite, Left Bank, and the Louvre.
2. The staff are pleasant and very helpful.
3. Nice breakfast room. Although breakfast is 14 Euro per person, it is very nice and saves time which can be better spent in Paris.
4. There is a boulangerie right around the corner. The only downside is that it is closed all weekend.
Cons:
1. Rooms are a bit small even by Parisian standards.
2. Although the location is perfect for getting around, it is a bit noisy. Lots of sirens. There is a bar across the street on the Avenue Victoria so there is the stray, noisy drunk at night.
3. Some, not all, of the staff hands out a one page sheet of the hotel's recommended places to eat. Although these places are not the worst, they are far from the best. If you want better places to eat, you should be prepared to use social media such as Trip Advisor & Yelp, and then cross check them with Michelin to get the best places to eat. We were very successful with that method. Just don't rely on the staff to recommend fantastic places which is probably unfair to ask that of them in the first place given individual food preferences.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Avenue Victoria for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Gérant at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guests,

We appreciate your comment and and we are thankful for your constructive criticism which we will of course take on board. Once again thank you for your comment, all our best wishes and we hope to see you again in the future.

Hotel Britannique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We keep coming back to the Brittanique. It's dependable, the right size, with great service, at a reasonable price, and in an ideal location. Not big, not fancy, not glitzy, not expensive....it's simply just good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Gérant at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your charming comment and for having taken the time to write about the hotel. It is a great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we will only be too pleased to see you back at the hotel. We wish you all the very best

Hotel Britannique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in January. Room was nice and clean and was serviced everyday. It was a smaller room, but so are many in Paris. The size wasn't a problem. Excellent location for all tourist attractions. Friendly staff. Cosy seating area by reception with many tourist books and internet to aid if required. Overall i would definately return and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beenthere74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#371 of 1,802 in Paris
665 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#227 of 1,802 in Paris
170 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#74 of 1,802 in Paris
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#734 of 1,802 in Paris
206 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#667 of 1,802 in Paris
487 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,114 of 1,802 in Paris
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing