We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #165 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in October 2013 for a long weekend. The hotel is in a great location, and very close to the Metro and most of the major attractions - simply you can't fault the location.

The hotel itself is on a lovely quiet street, with plenty of cafes nearby and within walking distance to great nightspots off Rue de Rivoli and also in the Marais.

The hotel is very clean and charming. The rooms aren't the most spacious, but they are very clean and comfortable and we were quite happy with what we received.

All in all, you can't really fault this place! If you are looking for a great hotel that is in the centre of Paris, I would definitely say check out this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    444
    65
    24
    5
See reviews for
221
847
106
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel Britannique is exactly what you imagine and hope for when you dream of visiting Paris. The building is beautful. The staff were welcoming, efficient and knowledgeable. Our room was elegantly and comfortably furnished, and decorated in rich warm colours. The bed was luxurious. Breakfast was included and was extensive and delicious. We walked everywhere - to museums, galleries, cafes, restaurants, churches, the Seine, Champs Elysees, Musee D'Orsay - so close and convenient to everything. This was my 3rd visit to Paris and my 1st stay at Hotel Britannique. I will never stay anywhere else if I am lucky enough to return. A flawless Paris experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Arrived in Paris after a 7hr flight delay, at midnight, only to find the room we had booked, well, lets just say I should have checked TripAdvisor first. So we had no room, and couldn't speak french much. We walked and walked, all hotels were full, and finally came to Hotel Britannique. The very friendly and understanding desk clerk said they had a small room, for 1 night, another room for the next and nothing from there on. We grabbed the room - beautiful, spotless, small room, with a very comfy bed, a bthrm, tv.and quiet. There was a large room downstairs from the lobby, with a fireplace, big leather couches & chairs, and where you could meet others, and could have coffee, tea, sit and read, - very comfortable room that made up for your small room. Loved this hotel for ambiance, service, friendliness. Turned a bad beginning into a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Any room, the boutique hotel is on a small side street so very little traffic. Also, close to restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We just got back from a visit to Paris as part of an anniversay to Europe and the Mediterranean, and had stayed at Hotel Britannique, based on reviews we read here, and the neighborhood it is in. We wanted to be close enough to most major museums, with good walks through other neighborhoods. What a great find! Upon our arrival at CDG Airport, we found our garment bag, which held our best clothes, had not made the trip with us. We filed a claim at the airport, and hoped it would be found. When we arrived at the hotel, they were ready for us, with a beautiful room. We explained our predicament regarding our luggage to them, and they said they would be on the lookout for it, should the airline (Air France) contact us. We tried very hard to enjoy this beautiful city. The staff provided us with museum passes so we wouldn't have waits in lines, and helped us selecting great neighborhood restaurants. We enjoyed the patisserie around the corner every morning, with really good cafe au'lait and croissants. Over the first 48 hours, we walked everywhere, the Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, Notre Dame, the neighborhoods of St. Germain and Marais. Everything was so accessible to this lovely neighborhood. The Seine is a half block away! However, we had not heard from the airline, and checking in on the website became a frustrating experience. The staff at the front desk began calling the airline for us, daily. They worked very hard, including faxing our inventory of the contents of the bag, to try to secure it, but after five days there, it was not recovered (we still don't have it). We have nothing but wonderful things to say about this hotel. Our room was lovely, the hotel is quaint and warm, and the staff was professional, efficient, and friendly. We promise to be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Best
*The most comfortable bed, of our 18 days in France and Italy, bar none ! (Stayed in 6 other very lovely locations)
The Good ... as many other reviews have stated,
* Ideal Paris location .... literally steps to Chatelet Metro station ... this means easy and very economical transportation from the CDG Airport, as well as carte blanche transfers to all of Paris, in minutes! Also a mere block to the Siene, walking distance to St. Germain, Louvre, San Chapelle, Notre Dame. * On Beautiful, quiet street.* A luggage room, to drop the bags upon arrival, and hit the ground running!* Good strong and hot shower. * Friendly, helpful staff
Not As Good...... *Small room, small elevator

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinybabynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here in early October, 2013 for the first time and could not have been more pleased with the quality of the facility and the courtesy of the staff. The rooms are typically moderate in size but clean and very comfortable - and quiet considering the location in the heart of Paris. On the Right Bank just one block form the Seine, this place is perfect for walking tours of the city. Also, less than 100 yards from the Metro make it's location ideal for going farther out. The price was quite reasonable and the breakfasts (which were extra on our plan) were fairly priced at E14 and full and complete. No hesitation to recommend this place to our friends.

Room Tip: I would expect that rooms in the back (where we were) are more likely to be quiet than those out fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Manager at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for such kind words, which all our staff greatly appreciate. Thank you also for your generous recommendations , it is a joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
HOTEL BRITANNIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Strongly recommend this hotel. The location has no comparison. Quiet, beautiful end of a street, with lovely cafes and stores, one block away from Place de Chatelet (a key metro location) and Rue de Rivoli, a few blocks away from the Louvre, Pompidou, and Notre Dame. Friendly service and honest. My wife and I thought the other had closed the security safe and when we returned the contents were exactly as we left them. We had two stays in the hotel at the beginning and end of our trip. We learned the rooms are clean but the Standard Room means what you should expect in Paris. We recommend the Classic or a Suite.

Room Tip: Choose Classic or Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honest_1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Gérant at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

We have enjoyed reading your kind words, and it was with a great deal of pleasure that we welcomed you at the beginning and end of your trip. It is also nice to hear that you have enjoyed the local attractions and restaurants, of which we are particularly proud. We wish you all the very best, and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
HOTEL BRITANNIQUE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#331 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#82 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#142 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#662 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
#712 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#11 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing