We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Comparison”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #150 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Strongly recommend this hotel. The location has no comparison. Quiet, beautiful end of a street, with lovely cafes and stores, one block away from Place de Chatelet (a key metro location) and Rue de Rivoli, a few blocks away from the Louvre, Pompidou, and Notre Dame. Friendly service and honest. My wife and I thought the other had closed the security safe and when we returned the contents were exactly as we left them. We had two stays in the hotel at the beginning and end of our trip. We learned the rooms are clean but the Standard Room means what you should expect in Paris. We recommend the Classic or a Suite.

Room Tip: Choose Classic or Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honest_1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Gérant at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

We have enjoyed reading your kind words, and it was with a great deal of pleasure that we welcomed you at the beginning and end of your trip. It is also nice to hear that you have enjoyed the local attractions and restaurants, of which we are particularly proud. We wish you all the very best, and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
HOTEL BRITANNIQUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

First trip to Paris and was so nervous that I would choose the wrong hotel in a horrible location not knowing much. Finally decided on Hotel Britannique and was I ever so happy I did. It was everything I wanted and more...location was perfect. Metro was right down the block. The street is nice and quiet. Staff were friendly, rooms were clean and charming yes they are small but not as small as I pictured. Only suggestion is ask for room on higher floor. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nygirl532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Gérant at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comment. We are pleased that you appreciated those qualities that separate us from other hotels. Indeed we are not a large, impersonal hotel, and we take great pride in our service which we offer sincerely. It is very kind of you to notice this and to have taken the time to comment upon it. We wish you all the best, and hope to welcome you again in the future

Best regards,
HOTEL BRITANNIQUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a top-class hotel that can’t be beaten for its location in the 1st arrondissement, although you pay for that. Still, the Hotel Britannique is convenient to everything.

It’s only one stop on one line to Pyramides to the Paris Tourist Office (to pick up museum passes). Or it’s a couple of stops on another line to the Louvre and five more stations to Georges V on the Champs-Elysees.

Restaurants and cafes abound, as mentioned by other reviewers. We ate twice at Zimmer Café and were impressed, especially by the set menu. We found Restaurant Benjamin over-priced for what it offered. Ditto the boulangerie round the corner, where the female patron offered adequate but perfunctory service. Indeed, after a 25-year hiatus we found more Parisians are (1) able (more willing?) to speak English, (2) not trying to rip you off as much and (3) generally much more friendly to non-residents. Has this been the ever-growing influence of the EU?

Sorry, I digressed from reviewing the Hotel Britannique. Our room was on the 4th floor for the first night, after which we were moved to the 2nd for two nights. Yes, the lift is very small and two people with two suitcases and two carry-on bags will never fit unless they pretend they are auditioning for a circus act with a trapeze.

Aside from this impediment, the room itself was more than adequate space-wise, had a more than adequate bathroom with a great shower and you could open the windows to revel in the Paris atmosphere. Sure, there are horns honking, presumably intoxicated people yelling and garbage trucks emptying, but … that’s what you expect in a major metropolis. You can always close the windows and blank out the noise.

We had breakfast on the Sunday morning and it was excellent. There was a wide choice of food, including scrambled eggs etc. The hotel seems to be predominantly inhabited by Americans. This, of course, should not be a problem, but we were a bit perturbed one man was wearing a hat, scarf and overcoat - in a sub-basement room that was already heated in mid-September.

If that wasn’t enough, in a loud voice he regaled his female American audience of two with every last detail of the surgery he had recently undergone. Does anyone need that at breakfast? I needed some fresh air and quickly left. I absolutely understand the hotel is in no way responsible for this guest so my plea is that people should keep personal details to themselves - or at least sotto voce - and let others enjoy their holiday more.

Overall, the Britannique is top-class and readily recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happyladdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel never disappoints. I love the location and the ambience but especially the service provided by the excellent staff. The buffet breakfast in excellent as well. The rooms are very small but one shouldn't be in Paris to lounge in a room and the beds are super comfortable. Bathrooms are spacious and well appointed. Excellent restaurants are nearby as well as the easy access to the Metro, walking to Notre Dame and walking along the Seine and browsing the book stalls.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Gérant at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Desr Guests,

Thank you for taiking the time to comment on your stay. It is a great pleasure for us to read your kind words. It is always a delight to hear that our clients have enjoyed their stay with us, and if we have the oportunity to welcome you again it will be with the greatest pleasure. We wish you the very best.

HOTEL BRITANNIQUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I almost hate to write a review lest the HB become too popular, but my husband and I have stayed here 5 times. Our annual trips always include a week here. The access via the RER and Metro make zipping all around very easy. The nearby patisserie (Madam Yuehl) and restaurants cannot be beat (itinerarie is not close but it is amazing). The rooms are cozy (book street side), the bathrooms are very clean, and here is a secret: the front desk will assist with an impromptu happy hour in their cozy common space. We love this hotel and happily forfeit some of the amenities of larger hotels for the location, friendliness and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marscup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Gérant at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

The staff have enjoyed reading your kind words, and it was with a great deal of pleasure that we welcomed you back a fifth time. It is a joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
HOTEL BRITANNIQUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our first stay but certainly not our last at this clean, comfortable and convenient establishment. We were delighted by our two night stay as we passed through Paris. We lwill stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rjmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Ideally located for walking to many of Paris' attractions. It is also near the Châtelet metro station, which has many lines for travel in/around Paris, as well as the RER to/from the CDG airport. The rooms are small, but very well appointed and clean. The breakfast is good (14 euro). Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#657 of 1,804 in Paris
529 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,106 of 1,804 in Paris
369 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#781 of 1,804 in Paris
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#508 of 1,804 in Paris
700 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,100 of 1,804 in Paris
268 reviews
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#479 of 1,804 in Paris
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $175 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing