We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot -location and rooms excellent”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #151 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was the first night of our honeymoon trip and we selected Hotel Britannique mainly because we liked the look of their rooms and the location seemed good. The hotel is a lovely boutique style and the rooms were perfect and luxurious. They were nicely decorated and this lots of colour and our room had a lovely little balcony with lots of greenery in our view. They knew it was our honeymoon and there was a card, a box of chocolates and a bouquet of flowers waiting for us in our room when we arrived. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful except one who was not happy to speak English. The lounge was a little over the top with colour and décor but fun (see pictures) They have an elevator and a storage room for luggage if you arrive early on a flight from North America. We chose not to have breakfast there but instead went to a nice outdoor café at the end of the street. It serves a good breakfast (incl bacon and eggs and of course lovely fresh baguettes) and we even had dinner there. The location of this hotel is absolutely PERFECT! It was a short walk to the Louvre and the Metro station was also just at the end of the street. You could see the Eiffel Tower easily from the corner and it was in walking distance if you were up for a good walk but most attractions were very close. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - ours had two French doors opening up to a small balcony and it was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PammyG35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

So first, as stated many, many times before, the hotel's location is superb for the leisure traveler to Paris. So much within good walking distance and superior access to the Metro & RER systems.
Now the hotel is charming, excellently maintained, staffed with very pleasant and helpful people. But by North American standards the rooms are small, very small. We would never have stayed here had we not been able to reserve their 1 junior suite. That room was just about ideal for a cozy week's stay in Paris and we were both pleased. Now room space may not be a big deal for other folks and that's just fine. But if it is you best think hard before you book here. Now once you're here everything else is just fine. The breakfast room is, again, cozy and inviting and the offerings (though not a huge range) are fresh and inviting. You will have to decide if it is worth the 14 euro per person cost; it can go either way.
We would not hesitate to stay here again provided the junior suite is available,

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are subject to getting activity noise from the bars across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

...and friendly staff. We usually stay in less central parts of the city, but I must admit being on this surprisingly quiet street just a few minutes from the Louvre was a wonderful change. We still took the Metro (and bus) as needed but the travel time was greatly reduced. There are so many good reviews of this hotel I won't repeat what others have said. (Actually, when we first entered the room, I said to my wife I was going to have to complain on TripAdvisor about the lack of electrical outlets until she pointed out the power strip on floor.)

So keeping with the location title, the Café Zimmer on the corner is a good place for people watching, but the BAM restaurant around the corner the other direction proved to be a great spot for a casual dinner. Of course, there are dozens of other places to try within a few minutes walk.

FYI, the Chatelet Metro station is huge. We found that it sometimes was faster to walk above ground to the entrance nearest the line we wanted rather than enter the station through the entrance closest to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NileCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed the last week end in the HB. The location is perfect, only a couple of streets away from the Louvres. Nice and clean rooms; excellent breakfast buffet (with Nespresso machine) and very friendly service overall. I highly recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, steps away from the huge Chatelet metro station, in a busy section of the city and yet, incredibly quiet! I travel with earplugs everywhere and didn't need them at all. The rooms were large (by Paris standards), breakfast was filling and the front desk staff were all very helpful and friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to re-book this hotel if I ever get lucky enough to return to Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel is conveniently located giving you a chance to take strolls and see many tourist attractions on foot. Very lovely team of staff. Lovely restaurant for breakfast across the road, lovely rooms, big bathroom and hire bikes available outside the hotel. A few minutes walk to the metro and the river.The Louvre is a stone throw away. The room was comfortable and adequately equipped. Lets not forget the sunset over the seine! Amazing views

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PL130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was smallish but everything else about this hotel is absolutely great. The location was perfect for a long weekend of sightseeing. The staff was helpful and responsive. I'd recommend Hotel Britannique in a heartbeat.



  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#677 of 1,804 in Paris
526 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,114 of 1,804 in Paris
368 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#799 of 1,804 in Paris
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#524 of 1,804 in Paris
700 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,104 of 1,804 in Paris
268 reviews
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#481 of 1,804 in Paris
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $175 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing