We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #163 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. 1/2 block from the Metro, 1/2 block from a pastry shop, 1 block from the Seine, 3 blocks from Notre Dame and a short walk to the Louvre. Incredible!

Only two problems (but not enough to knock it down a star): We booked a year in advance and wanted two rooms with balconies. Apparently they only have five rooms with balconies and they put one couple on the 2nd floor and the other on the 5th (even though we booked early enough that they could have put us on the same floor). One couple got a much better view even though the rate was the same. It did cause a little friction.

Also, they quoted us a price for Museum passes and it was the same as the retail price (i.e., no service charge). However, when we got our bill, they charged us 12 euros more for each pass. Resolution: both couples decided not to contest because the same guy who quoted the wrong price saved us a ton of money by telling us to buy individual metro passes rather than the Visite Pass. It was more than a wash.

Neither of these issues are as much a complaint as a short memo to management to consider these issues in the future.

We stayed 3 weeks in France and Italy and every hotel we chose (a total of 13) had a high recommendation on Trip Advisor. We batted 1.000 (well, except for the farm house with bed bugs in the other couple's room. Ha!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    441
    65
    24
    5
See reviews for
221
841
105
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night after discovering the apartment we rented had fleas. We were very stressed and found on trip advisor. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great 1 ar. location. Geoff very helpful to us. Breakfast with eggs, and sausage as well as traditional continental.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AudraRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We choose HB mainly because its location & reasonable room rates. The hotel is situated in the Right Bank district of Paris, with short walking distances to the Louvre & Notre Dame. It has a metro stop close bye but more importantly it has great café's & restaurants across the street. I can highly recommend Zimer, La Robe et le Pala & the boulangerie nearby.

The only downside of the hotel was the size of the rooms. Just enough space for the double bed & a table, but you’d expect that for the middle of Paris in an old building. The room size didn't really bother me, in fact it made me feel cosier. The street is very quiet and we had a good night sleep. The area around the hotel is also very safe.

The hotel looks like it has had a makeover. Our bathroom looked new & was well fitted out. Our bedroom had a bar fridge, safe & flat screen TV. More importantly, the bed was firm & comfortable & the room had A/C. The staff are friendly & helpful. The value of the breakfast was well worth it, & you can hang out in the sitting room downstairs to have a glass of wine or two to soak in the Parisian way of life for a lazy afternoon.

I highly recommend this hotel if you want a good base to visit the main tourist spots in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guests,

We very much appreciated reading your considerate and precise comment, accompanied by such wonderful photos. It is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Paris, and especially with us at the hotel. We hope sincerely to have the oportunity to welcome you again in the future. Best wishes from all us at the Hotel Britannique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel's location is outstanding... one block from the Seine. You are in walking distance of many of the major attractions as well as the Metro. Numerous cafes and bistros are in the neighborhood. Staff is courteous and very helpful. Rooms are small, but well appointed.
Rates are extremely reasonable for Paris.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for such kind words, which all our staff greatly appreciate. It is a joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I cannot imagine a better hotel in Paris that allows a guest to feel so centrally located to the wonderful sights and sounds of the "City of Light". Located on a quiet one-way street, the Hotel Brittanique is small and unpretentious, but utterly charming and very private. The staff was always attentive and polite and no language barriers were encountered. The morning breakfast was quite complete with a counter featuring scrambled eggs, sausages (bangers?), ham, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, juices, cereals, American style coffee, and a self-serve espresso machine that actually worked, and, of course, baskets full of croissants, pastries and baguettes.

Many of the landmark sites of Paris are just a few minutes walk from the hotel: Notre Dame Cathedral, the Pont Neuf, the Louvre, the Pompidou Center, the Sorbonne neighborhoods, and so on.

The rooms are immaculately kept. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable encountered on our two week French holiday.

I highly recommend the Hotel Brittanique.

Room Tip: Try to arrange for a balcony room. They overlook the treelined street and the activity below. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serviticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had an exceptional time in Paris and it was in part due to Hotel Britannique. Their location couldn't be better. Walking distance to the Notre Dame and Louvre and the Metro and the train to the airport. We requested a balcony room and I'm glad we did. Paris is a wonderful place to have your morning coffee on the balcony.

However their extra efforts were most appreciated after our stay. We purchased a half-case of champagne while in Reims and the chateau said “we cannot ship it, but just take it to a post office.” So we brought it with us to Paris. We enjoyed ourselves so much we saved our ‘postcards and mailings’ until the last day. Unfortunately the post office was closed for a holiday this day and we were stuck without options.

This where they seized the opportunity to give exceptional service. Their staff offered to take it to the post office the following day in our absence, which we abashedly accepted. However, upon arriving home we learned that it is not possible to ship the bottles to the USA (nor to another location in the EU). Their staff provided several alternatives and we explored many options, all of which were not possible. Finally I was able to have a friend of a friend come and pick the bottles from the hotel and resolve the issue.

Their staff never complained and was never rude during this lengthy process. They showed the utmost class in handling the situation, which was caused in no part by them. I appreciate their efforts immensely. I thank them so much for all they did and we will surely stay with Hotel Britannique on our next visit (and we’ll ask much less of them this time).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a perfect hotel for our mother & daughter trip to Paris. It was comfy, cozy and charming. The staff was helpful and the hotel was in a great central location. The room was a bit small but who cares? The justifiably famous Berthillion ice cream is served at "Zimmerman" cafe across the street. Do not miss out on this treat. Order the salted caramel and you will have the standard-bearer for ice cream for the rest of your life. Fresh croissants and other delicious little bites at a bakery around the corner and down the block from the hotel. Loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rinablan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#67 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#342 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#134 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#635 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
#696 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#10 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing