We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely romantic hotel near Seine and Notre Dame!”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #153 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very lovely romantic hotel near Seine and Notre Dame!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had done a lot of research on different hotels in Paris, liking particularly romantic cozy hotels. This hotel had everything I wanted - a really fantastic location, a very good price considering, a warm decor, and great reviews. We were not disappointed! I ordered the romantic package and they did a lovely job with the room - the chocolates were perhaps a bit ordinary for Paris but otherwise it was great! We had a room with a tiny balcony on the highest floor and loved it as we were able to bring our breakfast (extra cost) up to the room. One tiny suggestion that I would have is to install shower curtains in the bathroom though, which we conspicuously absent. However, those are really minor details and were trumped by the location, coziness, nice service, and pleasant energy of this place. I would stay there again immediately!

Room Tip: I think having a room towards the side where the Seine is would be great. Also, the highest floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very pleased to know that after much research, you chose to stay at our hotel and we are happy that you enjoyed our Romantic Package. We are very surprised that you did not appreciate the chocolates, as they are Fauchon chocolates, one the best and most reknowned companies of chocolate in Paris.
We have noted your remarks for the shower curtain, but are happy to know that you appreciated the cozy ambience of the hotel.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    450
    66
    24
    5
See reviews for
229
857
110
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked two rooms for our family at this hotel. The rooms were clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The staff were friendly and helped with many recommendations. We decided to eat breakfast there daily because it was convenient. It was OK; offering the standard continental breakfast fare also with eggs and sausages. The attendant will boil eggs too, if requested. I'm a sound sleeper, so the noise from the street at night didn't bother me - if you're a light sleeper, you may want to request one of the interior rooms. The absolute best part of this hotel is the location. It is close to Notre Dame and walking distance to Louvre.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter than street view rooms. Elevator is small and slow, stairs are easiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waejae_jae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you appreciated the hotel and its location, which is one of its great assets.
We have noted your comment for the breakfast, and are always ready to improve it to better serve our clients.
Best whishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

First off, the location can't be beat. Situated between the Louvre and the Pompidou Center and only a few blocks walk to either of them. Sainte Chapelle is just down the street and Notre Dame is practically a stone's throw away. There are several nice restaurants nearby. The Chatelet Metro station is right outside the front door. The neighborhood is great. etc

I did a lot of research before choosing a hotel in Paris and it paid off. Brittanique is clean and quiet and has a charming decor. The salon is particularly comfortable and a great place to relax with a drink after a long day of being on your feet. The staff are friendly and helpful and everyone I came into contact with spoke English.

My room was on the 4th floor overlooking the street in front. It was on the small side, but not atypically so. Being that it was January the smaller size meant that it warmed up faster. The high ceilings helped it seem bigger than it was. The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean and had nice tilework. Water pressure was fine, even in the morning when many other guests are using water at the same time. The room had a safe in the closet, a flat screen TV, and a mini-bar (which I didn't use). Even though my room overlooked the street it was quiet at night. This is partly because the location of the hotel is not on a street that has a lot of flowing traffic. Rather it's on a lesser used side street. Also, the neighborhood is good and they don't have many loud pub crawlers around there.

My only complaint would be that the walls are a bit of the thin side. It was pretty easy to hear the people talking in the room next door at night. But this is a typical problem that most hotels in this budget range seem to have in Paris. A set of earplugs solves the problem.

All in all a great experience! When I return to Paris (hopefully soon) I will definitely stay here again. I've found my favorite hotel in Paris!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mookun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind comments. It is always good to know that our clients consider the location of our hotel as ideal to explore Paris and its monuments and attractions.
We are looking forward to seeing you again for your next visit to Paris.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Britannique is a small boutique hotel located in the 1er arrondissement just a few minutes from Notre Dame and the Louvre. The staff is friendly and English-speaking, and the hotel is clean and charming. The Chatalet Metro station is only 1 block away, and it is very close to many restaurant options. We stayed for 8 nights and would return.

Room Tip: Choose away from the street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our hotel and that you enjoyed the ambience.
We would be pleased to welcome you again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here for 7 nights over the Christmas break. Having stayed in Europe three times before in other cities I was concerned about the mechanical performance and plumbing of hotel rooms in older cities. Our room had been renovated. It was in great condition and the plumbing worked very well. After one night of being too warm we found the control knob for the vertical wall radiator. The room and common areas were clean. Staff was very friendly and understood English well. A good breakfast is $14 euro additional per person, children may be discounted or eat free - I do not know. A better breakfast outside the hotel is hard to find for less euro. One thing I think could be improved is to have complimentary coffee or similar. There are many good eateries nearby and a food market around the corner down an alley where we bought food and bottled water. The metro is very close. We will be back in a few years. Thanks. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank INLOGIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is great to know that you had an enjoyable stay a tour hotel, and that you were able to enjoy our Classic hotel with all the modern amenities.
We are happy that you liked the breakfast. Please also note that complimentary coffee and tea is offered in each room, and is renewed each day when the room is cleaned. We hope that you were able to enjoy the coffee in your room.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband, daughter and I spent New Year's in Paris. We booked 2 rooms which was a very good thing, as the rooms were quite SMALL, even by Paris standards. But that said, the rooms had every convenience, were clean, quiet and managed to turn small into cozy and comfortable. The breakfast was fresh, full of choices and had something for everyone, with a very helpful staff asking if anyone wanted a cooked breakfast of eggs. The front desk staff was helpful, accommodating and terrific in helping us put together a great tour of Paris. Excellent location and proximity to main Paris attractions and destinations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Charming hotel experience 7 janv 2013 – séjour de dec 2012 en famille
Thank you for the compliments. We are pleased that you spent the New Year in our hotel and that our reception desk was able to help you make a good plan to explore Paris.
Our rooms are sized by typical Parisian standards. It is good to know that you appreciated their charm and coziness.
Wishing you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Britannique on the basis of its Tripadvisor reviews, and we were glad that we had. The staff were friendly and the hotel is charming. The room was a bit small, but still well-appointed, very clean and decorated with flair. The location of the Hotel Britannique is great, being extremely close to the Louvre, Rue Rivoli, Notre Dame, etc. What we most appreciated was how close the hotel is to the Chatelet Les Halles station (specifically the Rue du Pont Neuf entrance) - it was less than a 5-minute walk to the hotel from the RER airport train.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skeezixtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you appreciated the charm and style of our hotel and that you found the staff friendly.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#374 of 1,802 in Paris
665 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#229 of 1,802 in Paris
170 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#73 of 1,802 in Paris
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#726 of 1,802 in Paris
207 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#683 of 1,802 in Paris
487 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,114 of 1,802 in Paris
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing