We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As perfect as a moderately priced Paris hotel can be.”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #146 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

First off, the location can't be beat. Situated between the Louvre and the Pompidou Center and only a few blocks walk to either of them. Sainte Chapelle is just down the street and Notre Dame is practically a stone's throw away. There are several nice restaurants nearby. The Chatelet Metro station is right outside the front door. The neighborhood is great. etc

I did a lot of research before choosing a hotel in Paris and it paid off. Brittanique is clean and quiet and has a charming decor. The salon is particularly comfortable and a great place to relax with a drink after a long day of being on your feet. The staff are friendly and helpful and everyone I came into contact with spoke English.

My room was on the 4th floor overlooking the street in front. It was on the small side, but not atypically so. Being that it was January the smaller size meant that it warmed up faster. The high ceilings helped it seem bigger than it was. The bed was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean and had nice tilework. Water pressure was fine, even in the morning when many other guests are using water at the same time. The room had a safe in the closet, a flat screen TV, and a mini-bar (which I didn't use). Even though my room overlooked the street it was quiet at night. This is partly because the location of the hotel is not on a street that has a lot of flowing traffic. Rather it's on a lesser used side street. Also, the neighborhood is good and they don't have many loud pub crawlers around there.

My only complaint would be that the walls are a bit of the thin side. It was pretty easy to hear the people talking in the room next door at night. But this is a typical problem that most hotels in this budget range seem to have in Paris. A set of earplugs solves the problem.

All in all a great experience! When I return to Paris (hopefully soon) I will definitely stay here again. I've found my favorite hotel in Paris!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mookun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind comments. It is always good to know that our clients consider the location of our hotel as ideal to explore Paris and its monuments and attractions.
We are looking forward to seeing you again for your next visit to Paris.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Britannique is a small boutique hotel located in the 1er arrondissement just a few minutes from Notre Dame and the Louvre. The staff is friendly and English-speaking, and the hotel is clean and charming. The Chatalet Metro station is only 1 block away, and it is very close to many restaurant options. We stayed for 8 nights and would return.

Room Tip: Choose away from the street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our hotel and that you enjoyed the ambience.
We would be pleased to welcome you again. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here for 7 nights over the Christmas break. Having stayed in Europe three times before in other cities I was concerned about the mechanical performance and plumbing of hotel rooms in older cities. Our room had been renovated. It was in great condition and the plumbing worked very well. After one night of being too warm we found the control knob for the vertical wall radiator. The room and common areas were clean. Staff was very friendly and understood English well. A good breakfast is $14 euro additional per person, children may be discounted or eat free - I do not know. A better breakfast outside the hotel is hard to find for less euro. One thing I think could be improved is to have complimentary coffee or similar. There are many good eateries nearby and a food market around the corner down an alley where we bought food and bottled water. The metro is very close. We will be back in a few years. Thanks. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank INLOGIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

It is great to know that you had an enjoyable stay a tour hotel, and that you were able to enjoy our Classic hotel with all the modern amenities.
We are happy that you liked the breakfast. Please also note that complimentary coffee and tea is offered in each room, and is renewed each day when the room is cleaned. We hope that you were able to enjoy the coffee in your room.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband, daughter and I spent New Year's in Paris. We booked 2 rooms which was a very good thing, as the rooms were quite SMALL, even by Paris standards. But that said, the rooms had every convenience, were clean, quiet and managed to turn small into cozy and comfortable. The breakfast was fresh, full of choices and had something for everyone, with a very helpful staff asking if anyone wanted a cooked breakfast of eggs. The front desk staff was helpful, accommodating and terrific in helping us put together a great tour of Paris. Excellent location and proximity to main Paris attractions and destinations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guests,
Charming hotel experience 7 janv 2013 – séjour de dec 2012 en famille
Thank you for the compliments. We are pleased that you spent the New Year in our hotel and that our reception desk was able to help you make a good plan to explore Paris.
Our rooms are sized by typical Parisian standards. It is good to know that you appreciated their charm and coziness.
Wishing you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Britannique on the basis of its Tripadvisor reviews, and we were glad that we had. The staff were friendly and the hotel is charming. The room was a bit small, but still well-appointed, very clean and decorated with flair. The location of the Hotel Britannique is great, being extremely close to the Louvre, Rue Rivoli, Notre Dame, etc. What we most appreciated was how close the hotel is to the Chatelet Les Halles station (specifically the Rue du Pont Neuf entrance) - it was less than a 5-minute walk to the hotel from the RER airport train.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skeezixtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you appreciated the charm and style of our hotel and that you found the staff friendly.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012, and chose HB purely based on the tripadvisor rating and reviews. This was my third time in Paris. The location is perfect, within walking distance to notre dame, the seine, the louvre, shops, the metro and much more! I find that French breakfasts aren't what us Australians are used to, so I found the breakfast to be a little overpriced for what is on offer. But nonetheless it is still a nice breakfast. The room size was quite small but that's to be expected in Paris. There was still enough room for the 2 of us and our 4 bags. The reception staff were all very lovely and helpful. There is a charming sitting area just near reception which is very cosy. Highly recommend staying here, I would again if I were to visit Paris again!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kaylee726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you found our hotel cosy and inviting.
We have noted your comment for the breakfast and are always ready make improvements to satisfy our clients.
We hope that you do choose to come bak to the hotel on you next visit to Paris.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in May, and we absolutely loved it. The hotel is wonderfully situated, so that we could explore easily by foot or jump on the train very easily. Surrounded by lots of lovely restaurants and cafes, so we could find somewhere new to dine within walking distance if we preferred. We chose to go out for breakfast both mornings, and it was easy to find somewhere cheap and cheerful for coffee and croissants. Close to the river and safe for an evening walk after dinner. The room was small but beautifully presented with everything we needed, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were delightful, friendly and helpful at all times, and it is a gorgeous hotel for a short stay in romantic Paris.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henritan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guests,
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our hotel and we thank you for your comments.
It is true that the central location of the hotel makes it ideal for sightseeing, and we are very pleased that you were able to benefit from that.
We wish you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#658 of 1,802 in Paris
522 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,112 of 1,802 in Paris
366 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#781 of 1,802 in Paris
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#524 of 1,802 in Paris
696 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,116 of 1,802 in Paris
266 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#49 of 1,802 in Paris
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $159 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing