We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet hotel at a great location”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #160 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet hotel at a great location”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Britannique is a small boutique hotel located in the 1er arrondissement just a few minutes from Notre Dame and the Louvre. The staff is friendly and English-speaking, and the hotel is clean and charming. The Chatalet Metro station is only 1 block away, and it is very close to many restaurant options. We stayed for 8 nights and would return.

Room Tip: Choose away from the street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with our hotel and that you enjoyed the ambience.
We would be pleased to welcome you again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    447
    65
    24
    5
See reviews for
225
850
109
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here for 7 nights over the Christmas break. Having stayed in Europe three times before in other cities I was concerned about the mechanical performance and plumbing of hotel rooms in older cities. Our room had been renovated. It was in great condition and the plumbing worked very well. After one night of being too warm we found the control knob for the vertical wall radiator. The room and common areas were clean. Staff was very friendly and understood English well. A good breakfast is $14 euro additional per person, children may be discounted or eat free - I do not know. A better breakfast outside the hotel is hard to find for less euro. One thing I think could be improved is to have complimentary coffee or similar. There are many good eateries nearby and a food market around the corner down an alley where we bought food and bottled water. The metro is very close. We will be back in a few years. Thanks. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank INLOGIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is great to know that you had an enjoyable stay a tour hotel, and that you were able to enjoy our Classic hotel with all the modern amenities.
We are happy that you liked the breakfast. Please also note that complimentary coffee and tea is offered in each room, and is renewed each day when the room is cleaned. We hope that you were able to enjoy the coffee in your room.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband, daughter and I spent New Year's in Paris. We booked 2 rooms which was a very good thing, as the rooms were quite SMALL, even by Paris standards. But that said, the rooms had every convenience, were clean, quiet and managed to turn small into cozy and comfortable. The breakfast was fresh, full of choices and had something for everyone, with a very helpful staff asking if anyone wanted a cooked breakfast of eggs. The front desk staff was helpful, accommodating and terrific in helping us put together a great tour of Paris. Excellent location and proximity to main Paris attractions and destinations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Charming hotel experience 7 janv 2013 – séjour de dec 2012 en famille
Thank you for the compliments. We are pleased that you spent the New Year in our hotel and that our reception desk was able to help you make a good plan to explore Paris.
Our rooms are sized by typical Parisian standards. It is good to know that you appreciated their charm and coziness.
Wishing you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Britannique on the basis of its Tripadvisor reviews, and we were glad that we had. The staff were friendly and the hotel is charming. The room was a bit small, but still well-appointed, very clean and decorated with flair. The location of the Hotel Britannique is great, being extremely close to the Louvre, Rue Rivoli, Notre Dame, etc. What we most appreciated was how close the hotel is to the Chatelet Les Halles station (specifically the Rue du Pont Neuf entrance) - it was less than a 5-minute walk to the hotel from the RER airport train.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skeezixtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you appreciated the charm and style of our hotel and that you found the staff friendly.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012, and chose HB purely based on the tripadvisor rating and reviews. This was my third time in Paris. The location is perfect, within walking distance to notre dame, the seine, the louvre, shops, the metro and much more! I find that French breakfasts aren't what us Australians are used to, so I found the breakfast to be a little overpriced for what is on offer. But nonetheless it is still a nice breakfast. The room size was quite small but that's to be expected in Paris. There was still enough room for the 2 of us and our 4 bags. The reception staff were all very lovely and helpful. There is a charming sitting area just near reception which is very cosy. Highly recommend staying here, I would again if I were to visit Paris again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaylee726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you found our hotel cosy and inviting.
We have noted your comment for the breakfast and are always ready make improvements to satisfy our clients.
We hope that you do choose to come bak to the hotel on you next visit to Paris.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in May, and we absolutely loved it. The hotel is wonderfully situated, so that we could explore easily by foot or jump on the train very easily. Surrounded by lots of lovely restaurants and cafes, so we could find somewhere new to dine within walking distance if we preferred. We chose to go out for breakfast both mornings, and it was easy to find somewhere cheap and cheerful for coffee and croissants. Close to the river and safe for an evening walk after dinner. The room was small but beautifully presented with everything we needed, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were delightful, friendly and helpful at all times, and it is a gorgeous hotel for a short stay in romantic Paris.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henritan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
We are delighted that you had a good stay at our hotel and we thank you for your comments.
It is true that the central location of the hotel makes it ideal for sightseeing, and we are very pleased that you were able to benefit from that.
We wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I spent the Christmas Holidays at the H.B and had a wonderful time, thanks in part to the great staff, the convenient location and charming comforts of the Hotel. Although the rooms are smallish for a couple moving around the confines of a room built to fit around a king bed, the room was clean, the linens were fresh, comfortable and great for warmth in December and the bathroom comfortable enough (great linens again). Staff were truly wonderful at all times and extremely helpful in calling, reserving and generally translating all requests for us. Highly recommended as a charming hotel in great area (Châtelet) near the Louvre, the Seine and Notra Dame, and easy walking to left or right bank areas around the Île de la Cité.

Room Tip: May need more than one room if traveling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtalmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDANJOU, Propriétaire at Hotel Britannique, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to know that you found our staff helpful in making your reservations and answering your questions.
The sizes of our rooms are according to Parisian standards. It’s great to know that you stayed warm in the room during the winter.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#312 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#80 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#150 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#676 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#687 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#13 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing