We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, helpful, and excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #173 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, helpful, and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed in Paris for one night this September. This hotel was very convenient because it was right across from the metro station. There is a direct RER to the Charles De Gaulle airport, although it can be a long walk from the platform to the exit. So if you have a lot of baggage and you are by yourself, I wouldn't recommend taking the train. The hotel provides shuttle service to the airport at 30 euros, which is very convenient. The room was small but very clean. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to some of the main attractions (Notre Dame, Latin Quarter). The staff spoke good English and was most helpful. The breakfast is at about 14 euros, but you can get a cheaper fare from a boulangerie right around the corner. There were some renovations going on at the time so they gave me a 10% discount.

Room Tip: Be prepared that the hotel is small, which would be typical in Europe, especially Paris. But, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musafir09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    434
    65
    24
    5
See reviews for
218
831
100
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is just beautiful. The decoration gives it a very welcoming atmosphere and there is great attention to detail. The bedrooms are incredibly small and even though I thought I was already prepared for how small, I wasn't. If you're planning a long stay I'd suggest paying a little more and opt for a bigger room. It felt a bit claustrophobic.

However, I must say that despite the size of the room the bed was the comfiest bed I ever slept in. The room and bathroom were spotless, with bathrobes and towels available. The kettle in the bedroom was almost impossible to use - there was only one plug in the bedroom underneath the desk, where an extension with several pins was plugged.

The location is excellent. It's within walking distance to the main attractions (i.e. Louvre, Notre Dame, Seine River, etc(. The metro is just across the street. The staff is polite and professional.

We got a special price due to renovations being done to the façade of the hotel.

I'd stay there again...only in a bigger room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenlady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I found this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend and I was so happy they shared this little gem with me.

The Chatelet neighborhood (where the hotel is located) is the place to be. You can easily walk to the Louvre, Notre Dame, and many other attractions. There is unlimited shopping, restaurants and bars in the area and the Chatelet metro stop, which is a block away, includes almost every line you need to get around the city.

The hotel itself is very pretty and well appointed. And the staff are all fluent in English and extremely helpful and friendly. Yes, the rooms are small, but it's Paris so it comes with the territory. And you should be out and about in the city anyway and not in your room! Although I will say the A/C was great, which this American really appreciated.

I only knocked them a star because the WiFi wasn't working in the rooms, which was one of the reasons we booked this hotel, but it was still a very nice stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCanitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for a two night break on the 21st September for our honeymoon. The location of this hotel is excellent if you want to do the touristy thing like the Louvre and Notre Dame. Breakfast was nice and staff were all friendly and polite. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dxs1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in room #55, which proved to be spacious (as Paris goes) and quiet, away from the street with not much of a view, but what the heck, it's all Paris. As others report, staff are English fluent and very responsive, AC is effective. One is an easy walk from different neighborhoods and attractions, just off bustling Rue Rivoli but no significant street noise. The enormous Chatelet Metro stop is a mixed bag - very close to the door, but once you go down, you can walk for ages to find the right line.
One caution - the current renovation did not bother us, as we were there on a weekend, but as we were leaving on Monday, we were aware of hammering that might have been annoying if we stayed. We were not offered a discount.

Room Tip: At least during the renovation, ask for specifics about room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob/Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was dead set on staying at the Keppler - but it was nearly twice the price - a year later, so I had to search - and found this gem. After pouring over multiple reviews, I can say that this does actually live up to the hype. For starters, I am big one for sleep on vacation. You can't get up the next day if you can even move after sleeping on some rock. This place has great bedding and beds. Everything was very comfortable bedding. Next, walking distance - hey, we could actually walk places without all the cab rides at the Keppler. Saved some $$ there! Last, the staff was just as nice as the Keppler. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arcadia_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in September, 2012. Great location. Great hotel. Undergoing some rennovation right now...and rooms were discounted. Friendly, Quality Staff. Rooms of reasonable size. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yugeoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#399 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#70 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
Hotel Louvre Rivoli
#801 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#613 of 1,816 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#228 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais des Halles
Le Relais des Halles
#11 of 1,816 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Property: Hotel Britannique
Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing