We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very enjoyable stay”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #165 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I know Paris well. Many of the boutique hotels are super modern and not to my taste. It is therefore a pleasure to come across a good hotel, well located and with a certain old fashioned comfort.

The rooms are not large but they are of a good standard. Bathrooms either have bath/shower or shower and seem to have been renovated quite recently. Service is friendly and generally well informed and the location of the hotel ideal for reaching many of the tourist hot spots (Notre Dame, The Louvre, Les Halles and the Latin Quarter). Overall a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guests,

It was with extreme pleasure that we welcomed you and your family at the hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and we would be so happy to see you again. We wish you all the best, and hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future

HOTEL BRITANNIQUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

Room 51 was one of the king bedrooms. Surprisingly it was located across from the lift and cleaners cupboard and next to the stairwell. Initially we were concerned it would be noisy but the hotel staff assured us they had never had any issues with noise for this room. And they were right.
The room is very small, probably the smallest we have ever stayed in. It made for a slightly cramped five night stay especially once we added our luggage into the room. However the furnishings were comfortable with an excellent king bed and a pleasant balcony with table and chairs. The view looks towards Hotel De Ville and we were a little surprised that it did not have views of the Eiffel Tower that some rooms do.
The bathroom is extremely small and has a bath with a somewhat awkward shower head above it. There is a lift but it is rather slow and incredibly small. It felt a little like a coffin and has an ambitious capacity of 3 people. The stairs were often quicker but a little more energy was required.
The hotel offered a number of nice touches including a welcome bowl of fruit and in room coffee. There is a laptop and an extensive library available for use in the lounge just off reception. The breakfast is a quality but petite affair, although the coffee was a highlight. Hotel staff were friendly and very accommodating. Location is excellent being a 100 metre walk to the Chatelet metro station and within 10 minutes walk to major sights including Notre Dame, Pont Neuf and the Louvre.

Room Tip: We were told the room next door (52) has experienced noise problems with the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind words and such generous recommendations , accompanied by such wonderful photos. Admittedly our lift is a little on the small side, one downfall of traditional Parisian buildings dated from this period! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we wish you all the best .

HOTEL BRITANNIQUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Reviews here generally spot on. We stayed for a full week in May. This location cannot be beat. center of city, halfway between the Louvre and Notre Dame (15min walk to either); ideal for first-time tourist visitors to make quick rounds in the city (Chatelet-LesHalles metro stop is accesses more lines than any other in the city, there's an entrance 200ft from the hotel). Lots of great (and relatively reasonably-priced) restaurants within walking distance. Area is lively with great shopping. Can't go wrong with Chatelet-Les Halles area!!! We also stayed for 4 nights in Champs-Elysees area near the Arc and, while it was nice, the hotels there cost %40 more, but without the bustle/accessibility of Chatelet-area. Funny thing though, the hotel is on the very quiet portion of Ave. Victoria...so it's all the benefit of the area but little/no street noise. Fantastic. Staff was great, very friendly! We were very surprised to find a partial Eiffel Tower view from our 5th floor balcony -- amazing!! Of course the rooms are small...it's Europe...and it's PARIS...duh. If you want a larger room in France, stay out in the country (if you're like us, you'll only sleep in the room anyway -- unless you're on the balcony drinking wine watching the tower sparkle).

Great experience -- we are frequent travelers and this runs with the best for the value.

Room Tip: 5th floor with balcony, facing Ave Victoria have Eiffel Tower View (partial tip)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taylor_Vaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guests,

We thank you for such a considerate and precise comment. We feel that you have portrayed perfectly the hotel and it’s situation and we thank you for kindly taking the time to write these words. It is always a delight to hear that our clients have enjoyed their stay with us, and if we have the oportunity to welcome you again it will be with the greatest pleasure. We wish you the very best

HOTEL BRITANNIQUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Great location, a metro station right out side of the hotel, with a RER to CDG airport. Our room was small, but adorable, and clean. Can't say enough good about Hotel Britannique!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cstarrrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The Hotel Britannique was simply great! The location can't be beat and the price was right @ 214 Euros/night for a double. Immaculate room and bath. The staff was friendly, excellent English and so helpful with travel connenections, restaurants and general info. We would be back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gator3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Britannique for five nights on our first trip to Paris. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way! The location is perfect - near the metro, major sites and lots of local cafes/restaurants for dinner/lunch. The room was spotlessly clean and very charming. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great.
The hotel staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our visit. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Paris - it was perfect in every way! I can't wait to start planning another trip back to the Hotel Britannique!

Room Tip: At booking I asked for a room with a balcony and they delivered! It was great to be able to sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becca536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

First time to Paris and we were so delighted with our stay at Hotel Britannique. The hotel room was very comfortable, the staff was extremely helpful and all spoke English , and the location was perfect. It was cozy and charming. I hope to go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#645 of 1,805 in Paris
536 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#815 of 1,805 in Paris
221 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,144 of 1,805 in Paris
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,094 of 1,805 in Paris
271 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#520 of 1,805 in Paris
707 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Premier Ducs de Bourgogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $188 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing