We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite hotels”
Review of Hotel Britannique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Britannique
Ranked #150 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

A small, elegant hotel centrally situated in a quiet street close to the River Seine, Notre Dame and Chatelet. Metro is close by, easy access from airports too. Good local restaurants. One of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had a fantastic stay from the 9th March to the 12th March 2012. We couldn’t fault the facilities or the staff and the location of the hotel is excellent. I would certainly recommend this hotel or stay here again. We stayed in a second floor room at the front of the hotel which even had a small balcony (from memory there were only two rooms at the front that had a balcony). If I had to make one small negative comment it was that the room was on the small side but you don’t go to Paris for a long weekend and stay in your room. Having said that my wife loved the decor in the room and thought it was very romantic. So apart from this everything was very good, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and functional. One of the real plus points for this hotel is the location which is ideal for all the city centre attractions and travel links.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

For this trip we were not looking for a Marriott style. This is a very nice small hotel. I think you could say this about many areas of Paris, but this is an ideal location. Very short distance to streets St Honore, Rivoli, St Germain. Nitre Dame is very close, as is Louvre. Rooms are VERY small, so downplay your expectations. Clean. Bathrooms are nice enough. Staff is helpful. I'm sure there are many great places I could say this about, but I would return... Unless on future trips I wanted to be spoiled. Then I would go to Manderin Oriental and spend 5 times the price.

Room Tip: If available get the junior suite. DON'T eat at Zimmerman, to many other great places near.. Li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButchChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel was a great find. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean with real attention to detail. The hotel has a relaxed, comfortable, welcoming atmopshere and very quiet for such a central location. It was easy to get to all the attractions and so easy to get to on the Metro from Gare du Nord. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Although the breakfast may seem initially expensive, compared to everything else in Paris it was worth doing for a couple of mornings. Good selection of food. There is also a great bakery just around the corner. We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this lovely hotel and enjoyed the excellent service at the frontdesk, in the Breakfastroom, cleanliness of the room and the breakfast
with top quality items. Rooms are small but nicely decorated and the bed is very comfortable;

Finally a hotel where you don't feel to be "ripped off", Breakfast at € 14.00, free Wifi and a fruit basket and 2 bottles of water at your arrival.

Well' come back.

Room Tip: classic room with king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 3nights. The location is central and at a walking distance to many sights, restaurants and shops. It is located in a quiet street. The staff were extremely helpful to us and had perfect English. They were aware it was our honeymoon trip and on entering a very comfortable (although small) room with large balcony, we were surprised to discover vases of roses, a bowl of fruits, sented candles, rose petals over the bedspread and a welcoming card in our names. Such attention to detail showed great customer care. Breakfast was a feast with a buffet catering for all tastes and large appetites. The lounge downstairs was a treat to the lovers of Agatha Christie's novels and the times of luxury travels. A bonus was the free access to the Internet and daily free newspapers in French and English. We will not forget our trip to Paris especially because of such a wonderful stay at Hotel Britannique.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nopy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear Guests,

We are honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon at the hotel and that you appreciated the Romantic Package we prepared for you both. Thank you very much for your lovely review of the hotel. We would love to welcome you both back in the future, perhaps on your anniversary. Wishing you all the best.
HOTEL BRITANNIQUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I could not have asked for a better hotel than Hotel Britannique! The location was perfectly situated near the metro, many major attractions and lots of fun food and shopping options. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in providing restaurant reservations and travel directions. The hotel is clean and lovely, providing a sense of comfort after a long day of sight-seeing. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danjou, Owner at Hotel Britannique, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your very kind words, which was a pleasure for the whole team to read. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes.
HOTEL BRITANNIQUE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Elixir
Hotel Elixir
#657 of 1,804 in Paris
529 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,106 of 1,804 in Paris
369 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#781 of 1,804 in Paris
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#508 of 1,804 in Paris
700 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#1,100 of 1,804 in Paris
268 reviews
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#479 of 1,804 in Paris
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britannique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britannique

Address: 20 avenue Victoria, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $175 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannique 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Britannique in its present location, dates from 1860, in an impressive building built in the time of Napoleon III. The cosy and lush decoration of the hotel recalls the 19th century English and French styles. Being recently renovated, the hotel offers an old world style with all the comforts of modern times. All 39 of the hotel's rooms have a private ensuite bathroom, international television, high-speed wi-fi access, a courtesy tray, a minibar, a bathrobe, luxury welcome products....The reception is also there to generously welcome you 24/7 and to make sure that your Parisian stay is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Britannique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing