We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but too hot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Anjou Lafayette Opera
Ranked #588 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Manchester
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice but too hot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed at the Anjou Lafayette for one night during July. The weater in Paris that day had been comfortably warm but the hotel room was un-comfortably HoT. The room did cool down quite quickly, once i'd opened the window and turned on the air-con but, as i couldn't use these overnight, it soon heated up again; so much so that i had a fairly restless nights sleep.
But that was the only down-side of the Anjou. The location is excellent - very near to a metro station and about 5 minutes walk to Gare du Nord. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole place was clean, tidy and nicely decorated.
Overall, i would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twistedwheelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    142
    42
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
107
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, FL USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Renovated within the last year or two. Both the small lobby area and the room were modern and very clean. This was truly an excellent value for this location in Paris at $150/night through hotels.com. The room was small by American but not European standards, but large enough for a queen bed, two bedside tables, chest, arm chair, desk and chair, and wardrobe. A little tight walking around the bed, but no problem. The bathroom was small but quite functional with a vanity and a tub and shower. Everything was absolutely clean and modern. Complementary wireless Internet. I had Internet problems which turned out to be with my computer settings and not their system, but the evening desk attendant (Friday, June 11, in the event management reads this) went out of his way and spent a great deal of time trying to help me resolve the problem. All of the staff were very cordial and helpful.

The hotel is on a very quiet short street (almost an alley) just off Rue Lafayette, a major thoroughfare. It is about 1.5 miles from Ile de la Cite, but busses stop almost at the hotel and the metro is less than 2 blocks in either direction. Using public transit, you can get anywhere in Paris conveniently. We even walked one night from Sainte Chapelle back to the hotel. The neighborhood is very good with an abundance of reasonably priced eating choices from Macdonalds to pizza to a nice restaurant just across the street. I cannot comment on the hotel breakfast as we did not try it.

I have only one complaint: The bathroom towels were extremely stiff, not soft, and some were a bit ragged.

Would I stay here again. Absolutely. If I could get a similar rate on a future visit, I wouldn't even look anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmccaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Very nice hotel for spending some days in Paris. Location is very good in a pretty quiet street. Nice room even if small (but for the price, it is in Paris standard).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyberasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collaroy Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of a month in Europe before heading to the UK on the Eurostar. We have been to Paris twice before and try to stay in a different location each time. This would be our second choice as even though it is near the Nord station it is still quite a long walk to most of the attractions and sights. We were happy to do this most days and did not use the nearby Metro. We enjoyed our stay and found the staff very good, the room small but good for the price and the breakfast quite nice although limited. Overall it was not bad value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brownsineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
BEST WESTERN Hotel Opera Drouot
Opera / Bourse
Golden Hotel Paris
Golden Hotel Paris
#771 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Opera / Bourse
BEST WESTERN Premier Opera Faubourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Faubourg 88
Opera / Bourse
BEST WESTERN Ronceray Opera
BEST WESTERN Ronceray Opera
#865 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Anjou Lafayette Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Anjou Lafayette Opera

Property: BEST WESTERN Anjou Lafayette Opera
Address: 4 rue Riboutte | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #588 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Anjou Lafayette Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovation of the lobby and lounge bar in 2009 in a contemporary and refine decoration, where we also exhibit artists works like Fasnibay's.2011 : superior rooms completely renovated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Anjou Lafayette Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anjou Lafayette Opera Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing