We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poor rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Ranked #1,214 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I are just back from a mini honeymoon in Paris. The hotel was a little over our budget but we chose it for its location which turned out to be excellent. Only two minutes walk to the metre and a 15 minute stroll to Notre Dame and the lively Latin quarter. I wouldn't say the hotel reflected the price though, even with its good location. The shower was practically on top of the toilet and went cold if either rooms next door flushed theirs. There were tiny little insects all over the bathroom tiles and even though the bed was dressed daily tea and coffee facilities were not replaced. I must say the staff were nice, especially the night porter. We're generally not fussy and have often stayed in hostels around Europe but I don't think I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the street which was quite noisy with traffic.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaineol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 483 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've stayed 5 days in Paris, in this Hotel, it was not cheap, but not expensive either, the breakfast was amazing, you have everything you want, the bread is worm and there are also chocolate breads and croissants, that was the best. The room was big, with a small carafe for heating water, coffee and tea. The location is closed to Notre Dam Church and really easy to get everywhere with the subways.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgusGastaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The staff is very nice and helpful. All of them speaks English and one lady even speaks portuguese.Very clea and there lots of restaurants around. The beds are very confortable an d you can let your bags in a proper room after check out. The only problem is the elevator...too small!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I ordered a single and got a nice spacious double bed for €110 per night. Pleasant staff. Small Restaurant that doubles as bar and general seating area. Bathrooms are well equipped - area for toilet was small, bath with shower nozzle and nice and bright. Tiny slow lift (Has 5 floors). Hotel is surrounded by excellent restaurants and bars. Location very close to Metro and very central. I would valued this hotel at €80 max per night.

Room Tip: I had a pleasant view from the 5th floor overlooking the street and some gardens
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendanKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights during February 2014 and didn't really enjoy our stay. The location was not bad, it was close to the metro station so transport around the city was easy. However, there are not many shops or restaurants in front of the hotel so you'd have to walk a bit further when exploring the area. Rue Monge and Rue Moffetard was about a 10-15 minutes walk away. These are two large streets with many shops, cafes and restaurants which is a plus. Our room was on first floor of the hotel. The lift is tiny and could barely fit two people inside. We literally had to squash up against the walls of the lifts when trying to take our luggage up to the room. It was like playing tetris. The room was on the smaller side but it was adequate compared to other european rooms. The bath room was also small. Both the room and bathroom seemed old and in need a renovations. The room wasn't the cleanest. There were stains on the walls and ceilings. Upon arrival into the room, we noticed tiny insects like ants crawling in the bathroom sink and on the walls in the room. The water pressure in the shower was not great. Also it seemed very hard to adjust the water temperature to just right. Most of the time, we were left with extremely hot or ice cold cater. The bed was a queen size which was adequate and comfortable to sleep in. However, it seemed like the walls are very thin as we could constantly hear our neighbours in the other rooms speak. They provided complimentary water, tea and coffee in the room which was good. Our room was cleaned everyday and they will provide new sheets and towels if needed. There was free wifi in the room but it was downright absurd as the connection was slow and unstable. It was almost impossible to connect, and when you do manage to connect online, your net would get disconnected after 10 minutes or so. It was very annoying trying to connect to the wifi everyday. We didn't choose the breakfast option so cannot comment on the quality. The service at reception was okay. Overall, we think this hotel has poor value for money. You will be better off paying a little extra for a nicer hotel room and a better experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wanderlust_9x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed for a week at this hotel, as it was conveniently placed for the Museum of Natural History and Botanic Garden, where I had work to do. It was also close to a Metro station and within walking distance of central Paris. The room was basic but clean and the breakfast was adequate. The lift was extremely small and cramped, but possible to use the fire exit, although one light was not working there. The carpet outside our room was due for replacement as there were multiple stains from cigarette butts on it, making for a depressing scene before entering our room. Probably better value elsewhere in Paris - the same money in Berlin paid for almost luxury accommodation by comparison.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bksimon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

nice place with small rooms as you would expect for this price but you cant beat the location. across the street is Jardin des Plantes and the metro is just down the street with access to all of Paris. Also some nice restaurants close by. We would love to stay here again the next time we're in Paris!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frogbong12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Quartier Latin
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,205 of 1,803 in Paris
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#625 of 1,803 in Paris
553 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Arenes
Hotel des Arenes
#958 of 1,803 in Paris
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timhotel Jardin des Plantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Jardin des Plantes

Address: 5 rue Linne, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,214 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $101 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Timhotel Jardin des Plantes 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 5 story hotel located opposite the Botanical Gardens in the Latin Quarter - 1/2 kilometer to Austerlitz train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Timhotel Jardin des Plantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timhotel Jardin Des Plantes Hotel Paris
Timhotel Jardin Des Plantes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing