We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for its value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Ranked #260 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too expensive for its value”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Quiet street, great St Germain (Maubert/Mutualite) area.
Small room, even Superior category, too expensive for its value. Staff is friendly (for being in Paris).
Could hear the neighbors.
The shower is too small and high, difficult for a tall person to get in and dangerous to get out.
Shower takes longer as water pressure is very, very low.
No fitness center available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarineGillot, Responsable réception at Best Western Jardin De Cluny, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Madam, Monsieur,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to express your feeling regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
Of course, our rooms are quite small, as you can read in almost each feedback on TripAdvisor, Booking.com etc… We work every day, trying to compensate this fact with constant improvements and high carefulness to the comfort of our guests.
We are sorry that you didn’t get an acceptable water pressure during your stay. I’ll appreciate if you can come back to us for more information regarding your room number: we would like to fix this point as quick as possible, for the next guest.

We are pleased to inform you that major room and bathroom renovations are planned; of course, we will use your feedback to implement improvements about shower design and internal soundproof.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Again, thank you for your helpful comments, and feel free to contact me directly for any additional remarks or questions you may have.

I remain your faithfully,

Karine GILLOT
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN LE JARDIN DE CLUNY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    352
    73
    12
    3
See reviews for
125
455
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was a very good hotel, in a great location for a reasonable (for Paris) price. Our room was small but not cramped with an en suite loo and separate en suite bathroom. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. It is situated only one road back from the busy Boulevard St Germain but we didn't hear any traffic noise. There is building work going on opposite at the moment and they start work at 7.30 so that was a bit noisy but we did sleep with the window open. We didn't use the breakfast facilities because there is a super boulangerie a minute's walk away (turn right out of the hotel, first right, up the steps at the end and it's on the right) which does lovely pastries for a good price .Notre Dame is five minute's walk away. We even walked to the Eiffel Tower but that took over an hour, nice walk along the Seine. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suseehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here in Oct 2013.
Great hotel, great service, Breakfast good, clean, Great location, Comfortable, decorated well. Everthing we wanted from a hotel in Paris.
Would i go back......YES and i would defo recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoredspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The location of the hotel was excellent. The road was quiet. Easy uphill walking distance to the Pantheon (definitely worth a look inside) and Notre Dame across the river.
Metro was just down and round the corner.

The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff on the front desk were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English.
We had a superior queen room on the fifth floor and although it was a small room, as expected for Paris, it had everything we needed....even a bath and a little balcony!
The ensuite bathroom had a frosted glass door which was amusing but not a problem for us.
The bed was very comfortable and outside noise was minimal during the night and did not disturb us.
The room had a safe and a mini bar.
.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we found a nice little cafe on the corner (Metro Bar) where we sat outside and watched the world go by as we ate.

After reading loads of shocking reviews of hotels in Paris I went not expecting too much and was actually pleasantly surprised.
I would stay in this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norfolkgal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in the Latin Quarter for 10 days in October and it was excellent. The location is perfect and within easy walking distance of many tourist attractions. The Metro station and RER station are also nearby. The customer service, from the front desk staff to the breakfast room staff to housekeeping staff, were all outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spulgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I am writing this on our last night. We visited the hotel for our anniversary and could not have been more pleased. It was the first time I had been back in Paris since I was a student. We had planned to spend some time in Normandy but decided to stay in Paris for the entire trip. The staff was most accommodating on short notice. We had three excellent and the hotel kindly relocated our luggage each time which made the transition much easier. The breakfast was included and was excellent. The coffee was particularly good. The front desk staff (Karine, Andre, Jamal, Linh, I know I am forgetting someone) and the housekeeping staff were excellent and very helpful. The restaurant recommendations were spot on, especially the Petite Perigourdine and the Petite Pontoise. The location is excellent and the street is normally very quiet. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will come again.

Room Tip: The junior suet and the deluxe rooms are both very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sauertea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I know the prior reviews referenced how small the rooms were at this hotel, however, I was still surprised at how small the room was. I have stayed in Paris before so didn't expect it to be quite so small but it was just slightly bigger than my queen-sized bed. That being said, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and in a great location. The air conditioning worked really well (which was important as there were record high temps in July) I also thought the breakfast (included if you book on the hotel website) was a great start to each of my days in Paris. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with outstanding service, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank China101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#183 of 1,801 in Paris
1,003 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#112 of 1,801 in Paris
1,627 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#285 of 1,801 in Paris
1,307 reviews
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#370 of 1,801 in Paris
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Jardin De Cluny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Jardin De Cluny

Property: Best Western Jardin De Cluny
Address: 9 Rue Du Sommerard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Paris
#178 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#244 Family Hotel in Paris
#304 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#498 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Jardin De Cluny 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet street in the heart of the Latin Quarter, the BEST WESTERN LE JARDIN DE CLUNY is the perfect location to discover Paris. Saint Germain-des-Près, the Louvre and the Cluny Museums, Notre-Dame de Paris are very close.In a warm and contemporary ambiance, we look forward to assisting you, and to making your stay in Paris as pleasant and memorable as possible.For your comfort, the hotel is 100% non-smoking and eco-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Jardin De Cluny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Jardin De Cluny Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing