We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Ranked #602 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Needs some refreshing”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Chose this hotel because our usual Paris hotel was unavailable. The location smack in the heart of the Latin Quarter can't be beat if you don't mind a bit of a student vibe and some youthful exuberance at night. But the hotel was expensive for what it was and certainly down at the heels in terms of general ambiance. Our room was small, even by Paris standards, with old furnishings, an old small tube type TV set, a tiny bathroom and hardly any storage. The wifi was intermittent, the breakfast merely adequate. If you are sensitive to these things you should also note that the cleaning products used leave an overwhelming sweet citrus smell that I found quite unpleasant

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a message concerning your last stay.

I'm really sorry you did enjoy hotel services and amenities, it is true our rooms are cosy , as you said the Latin Quarter cannot be beat and this is the historical area, we also have more spacious room (superior or deluxe room) , do not hesitate to ask for an upgrade on your next stay with us ,
For information, it is with pleasure i inform you we have renovated entirely our bathrooms, this winter, and they are now finished,

Hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you again !

Best Regards
Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    263
    94
    32
    27
See reviews for
92
297
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Had a terrific time in Paris staying at Hotel Belloy. Excellent location and easy to find. Walked to most places or cheap cabs everywhere else. Breakfast and Dinner were much better than expected. Rooms were clean and well presented but small (not in Paris to sit in a room the whole time). Only feedback is the lift is slow so be patient or take the stairs.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your last experience at Belloy, it is true you can walk around and visit most of the main turistic attractions, it is very convenient.
Your appreciation concerning our buffet breakfast and tea time is very welcome , our efforts to give even better quality products to our guests is here rewarded .

Come back anytime to visit and stay with us.

Best Regards
Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Belloy the week after Christmas. The service was great, the staff at the front desk was always helpful and friendly. The breakfast included with the room as good and there were plenty of selections to choose from. We had the standard room with twin beds, and although small, just like all of Paris hotels, it was spotless, and nicely done. I loved the neighborhood, and this hotel is convenient to many great restaurants and within walking distance to many attractions as well as the Metro. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay higher up to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

Such a wonderful message for the new year is a gift , in the name of all the staff and I , thank you is the least we can say to you.

We will keep in mind that the best service to our guests is our job now and ever.

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2014 !

And hope we'll see you again .

Best Regards,
Cathy Maarouf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent 5 nights there over Xmas 2013 - fantastic location which is why we booked the hotel. Rooms are a bit small but clean and do the job. Reporting no heating in bathroom on day 1, 2 and 3 and on check out on day 6 still no heating. The best thing about the entire stay at the hotel is Miriam on reception - such a lovely, helpful friendly person - an absolute asset to the hotel and someone who should be recognised by management for the length she goes to for guests. Shame that the "Gentleman" (and I use this term sarcastically) who worked Xmas afternoon/evening - rude, unprofessional, abrupt, unpleasant and not good for the hotel. Perhaps he should be in the kitchen washing dishes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback concerning your last stay with us.

We do appreciate your nice comment about our hotel, and i am proud to inform you that our staff won the 1st price in december 2013 for "guests services and caring" .

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Cathy Maarouf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a 3 night break and absolutely loved it. It's in a perfect location in the Latin Quarter which was great for sitting outside a restaurant or coffee shop and watching the world go by and not too far on the buses/metro to all the tourist attractions.
We spoke to a couple in reception who said that their room was tiny but our experience with the room was that it was very spacious, if you can get a room at the end of the hotel with windows on each side (hard to explain - Its in my pictures) then its definitely worth it and you'll feel right in the heart of it with juliette balconies out onto the streets of Paris :-)
The breakfast in the hotel was complimentary and although nothing amazing it was fine and there was plenty of it. There was also free wifi in reception which was brilliant for planning our next trip out.
I booked the hotel with our Eurostar tickets and thought the value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki1williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear guest,

In the name of all the staff , we do thank you for your wonderful feedback.


We are really glad that we could contribute to a memorable stay here in Paris and hope to see you again soon at the Belloy St. Germain.

We hope to welcome you again at the belloy St Germain!

Best regards,

Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The room was not very big, but the décor and the pastel color of the walls and the curtains did add to the ambience and made it feel cosy. Very clean.
We enjoyed the breakfast, there was lots of food to go around, different kinds of bread, fruits and juice. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The Notre Dame cathedral was close by , which also happened to be one of the stops for the 'hop-on hop off " buses. Very close to the hotel , there is also a train station RER, from where you can get trains to Charles de Gaulle airport.
Good location and a lovely hotel. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superduper123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are really delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your nice message , especially for the cleanliness of the hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you again.

Best Regards,
Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to its location, and were not disappointed - it's in a fantastic spot, very central with metro stations, great restaurants and the Louvre and Notre Dame within a few minutes walk. The reception staff were very helpful with booking restaurants and taxis.

The room was clean and had clearly recently been renovated - Yes it was small, but not particularly for a city centre location.

The main issue we had was with the temperature - the 3 large floor to ceiling windows were lovely, but as the only heating source was a weak air conditioning unit (old radiator had clearly been disconnected) we were absolutely frozen. Not a problem during the day, after all it was a base for exploring the city, but no extra blankets were to be found in the room, and when we asked for an extra, all that was available was an extra bed sheet - I slept the first night in my coat! The ice-box effect was particularly bad in the toilet which also had floor to ceiling windows.

The included continental breakfast was good, the usual fayre and quite tasty, but on a Saturday morning you will need to be early - we arrived at 9.30am (breakfast finishes at 10.30am) and found all tables full, including the overspill in the lobby. There were no plates, no knives, no cups and very little food left - 20 minutes later none had been replenished, and on asking we were given just a knife between us.

Overall, this is a lovely little hotel, only let down by some poor organisation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lilyrose30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIT168Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we do thank you for leaving us a message. We do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay, it is true the general heater was not working in this room , just the heater of the aircon.It has been fixed since then and once again we are sorry for this incident during your stay.
We have blankets at your disposal , just ask reception desk .
In the name of all the staff and I thank you , and hope to see you at Belloy in your next trip to Paris.

Cathy Maarouf
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Le Petit Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Trianon Rive Gauche
Hotel Trianon Rive Gauche
#777 of 1,802 in Paris
732 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
Hotel Royal Saint Michel
#639 of 1,802 in Paris
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris Notre Dame Saint Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Mercure Paris La Sorbonne Saint Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture
Address: 2 rue Racine | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#340 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#495 Business Hotel in Paris
#561 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain is a charming hotel located in Saint-Germain-des-Prés, in Paris City Centre, near the Seine, the Luxembourg Garden and Notre Dame de Paris.Previously called "Hotel des Étrangers", the hotel has welcomed guests since de 19th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Belloy Saint-Germain by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing