We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quaint hotel, great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain
Ranked #740 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband I stayed here for 4 nights in July 2014. Our room was small and clean and the bed was comfy. The windows opened to the street corner but it was never too noisy. The hotel is within walking distance to the seine and right by the metro. The neighborhood is calm and safe. There are wonderful bakeries and a market on the street. The front desk staff (Rose and Malika(sp?)) were fantastic and made us feel at home! My only minor concerns were that I would have liked the AC to be colder and the wifi faster. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. A bientot!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlanta09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    152
    61
    16
    20
See reviews for
60
118
36
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a great time in the hotel. Crew was excellent and kind, but mostly it's the location which make this hotel perfect. the area is full with activities like musems, shopping and parks, and the environment is very chic.

Room Tip: ask for room with lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Kiki L.
I was planning to take my daughter to Paris (Highschool grad present) and was a little nervous to find just the right place for us in the heart of this wonderful city. Being from Europe myself, but never having stayed in this area of Paris, I was really happy that we found this little gem.
This Hotel is convenienty located to reach major sites fairly quickly. Our very tidy room on the 5th floor had a balcony, two very comfortable queen size beds, a coffee/teamaker, and robes, and the bath was very clean. The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful, and made our stay very enjoyable. The hotel has an elevator (which is tiny, but two people and luggage fit). The lounge area always had munchies to snack on during the day. We wanted to explore as much as we could and found that most of the major sites were close, like the Museum D'Orsay, L'Ouvre, Dome des Invalides, etc. Of course, going to Paris, you KNOW that you will walk A LOT, but that is just how it is, so bring your sneakers for the day, instead of heels - your feet will thank you for it!! :) A couple of streets down from the hotel is a cafe were we would have our petit dejeuner (breakfast) and grab a sandwich for later-beats the heck out of purchasing lunch in a restaurant later, which can be quite expensive. Located pretty much next to it is a grocery store, where we would stack up on water for the day. Quite convenient for us! The metro station is close to the hotel, as well. And just around the corner of the hotel are cafes and restaurants.
I noticed that some comments were made about the internet connection - we did not have problems with it. And then again, we came here for exploring the city and not to be working on the internet much.
We came to Paris (from already vacationing in Germany) and were not disappointed. If we are to come back again, we will definetely stay at the Hotel Vaneau! Thanks to the staff for making this a great stay for us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Well thanks to my wife's dillegance and searching the internet, we found this little haven in saint Germain. A lovely little boutique hotel set in the centre of Saint Germain about 6 minutes by taxi from the Notre dame and the Saine and about the same distance from the Louvre . Very nice location . A very helpful receptionist , good size bedrooms for Paris and a very reasonable price for a three star hotel. All the rooms have bath robes and tea and coffee making facilities ,air con and en suite. Very clean and tidy and a real find in a city where it is easy to get ripped off! And if you have gone there by car an under ground car park by the Bon March store 24 hour parking, 48 hours cost us 51euro .

Room Tip: Most of the rooms over look the street which is one way going and impossible to park in and unload y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you want reliable internet connection do not book into Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain in Paris. we were told when we booked that this hotel had fast relabel access to the Net. We know that access to the net in Paris is fast and generally reliable, but that is not the case at this hotel.

We have been here over a week, made many many requests to have the problems fixed, moved rooms, had reception 'cal the technician' numerous times, wasted time, energy & been enormously frustrated.... the issue has not been fixed. We are not alone: other guests make the same complaint.
It is really frustrating -so if you need reliable access to the net then go elsewhere.

Room Tip: the lift has been broken for 2 days not so if you don't like walking up lots of stairs ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was close to the metro, which was so simple and easy to use! (Buy a visite pass!) The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were above my expectations. The bathroom was large for what I expected in Europe. The grocery was right across the street, and there was a bread shop and cafe right downstairs. And by taking the metro we were no more than 10 minuted from anything in Paris! I would return in a heartbeat. WiFi worked daily but was a tad spotty, and that's the most minor thing really but in the spirit of being totally honest....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe Chic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great location to stay, very clean and nice, even though it is a pretty small hotel. We had a triple bed room book and it was ready for us when we arrived (Stayed June 10-12, 2014). The major problem the first night was that our air conditioning in the room was not working and it was a super super hot! As a result, we had an uncomfortable sleep. We complained and the guy at the front desk told us we couldn't have another room and the technician would be there in the morning to fix the problem. The second night they moved us to another room which was perfect. Forgot the name of the wonderful reception lady, she was super helpful, unlike the guy who was on night duty. I would definitely stay here again, however make sure I get a room with AC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Amrita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Mayet
Hotel Mayet
#711 of 1,793 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Sevres
Hotel de Sevres
#586 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
BEST WESTERN Aramis Saint Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#188 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
#758 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
#381 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain
Address: 86 rue Vaneau, 75007 Paris, France (Formerly Libertel Sèvres-Vaneau Paris Tradition)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #740 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s atmosphere is quintessentially “Rive Gauche”, decorated with character, elegant lines and a subtly refined elegance throughout ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaneau Saint Germain Hotel
Vaneau Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing