We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased with this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain
Ranked #599 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Pleased with this Hotel”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It was a pleasure to stay here. The rooms were basic but comfortable and a nice selection of complimentary toiletries. Flat screen TV with several English news/business channels and comfortable beds. Some road noise, but can easily be zoned out.

Metro across the road, very convenient and affordable way to get around the city, the information staff there were very accommodating in helping us find our way.

If you're looking for the luxury Paris hotel experience, this isn't it, but for a comfortable room at a very reasonable rate within easy access to the main tourist attractions - highly recommend.

Tip: Don't pay the 15 euros for a breakfast here!! There are several more affordable cafes directly next to the hotel AND dozens of DELICIOUS bakeries a one minute walk away, where you can get a continental breakfast for around 4 euros a person!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    165
    64
    17
    20
See reviews for
69
130
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came here for a Hen weekend in February. The hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was of a good size especially as three of us were sharing with comfortable beds and it was quiet. The shower needed to be a little bigger!

We chose not to have breakfast but it looked nice. There were plenty of cafes around for meals and the metro stop was a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nic2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Wifi is essential if you are travelling for business. This hotel offers a crappy connection, sooo slow that you abandon the session for frustration.
Rooms are spacious, yes, but also very noisy. Keep it in mind if you are dreaming to rest and do not forget the earplugs

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepe_moeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Paris is a noisy city and the real 3 star hotels have very soundproofed windows, but not this hotel. 5:30 AM the garbage guys start, then the traffic. The hotel itself is ok, but I wouldn't again, and cheap it isn't.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four nights in early September. I've been to Paris many times and always stay in three-star hotels, but in my view this one just doesn't deserve its three stars. For starters, my room was on the fifth floor, but the elevator only goes as high as the fourth floor. I had to lug my heavy bags up a tight, circular staircase to the fifth. I asked for help but was told that there was no-one around who could help me (!) (When I was checking out, one of the maids offered to carry my heaviest bags down that one flight, and I was most grateful for that.) The room was okay size-wise -- not particularly small for a Paris hotel room (they're all smallish). However, it reeked of both disinfectant and stale cigarette smoke. It wasn't all that hot when I was there, so I didn't miss the lack of air conditioning, but I still would've liked to open the window for fresh air. This, however, was impossible due to the noise from the huge construction site immediately across the street. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but the shower, as other reviewers have noted, was microscopic. The bathroom fixtures (toilet and sink) were chipped and worn and the bathroom was not as clean as I would've expected for a Paris three-star hotel. Finally, it is worth noting that, despite its (misleading) name, this hotel is not actually in Saint Germain. It's out in the 7th arrondissement, just off Rue de Sevres, which is fine -- it's an interesting neighbourhood in its own right -- but if you think you're going to be in (or even near) Saint Germain, you will be disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel reviews


My boyfriend and I had an amazing stay for about 4 nights, I really enjoyed this hotel and was surprised at how much of a good stay it was actually despite the mixed reviews here on trip advisor and that it is considered a 3 star hotel.

The staff were incredibly kind and helpful, the hotel itself is small but very cute, seems like an little French style hotel which was very charming. The neighborhood the hotel is in is absolutely perfect in my opinion, yes there is construction but overall it is a nice area full of locals which really gave us the real idea of what Paris looks like.

The rooms were good but the only thing was that they were a bit on the small size for two people (then again it's Europe/France, rooms and homes are on the small side so can't complain here). Everything was clean, washrooms were of good size and all. Like I said I was really happy with the entire stay and hotel overall!

I think what I liked most was that it was 5 min walk to the center of St. Germain which I found was fashion paradise. I thought that I would have liked the champs élysées but everyone on here was right it was more touristy and tacky, nice and all but for shopping you might as well go to st germain, which is fashion heaven!

Just another thing to note after the 4th floor there is no lift, we stayed on the 5th floor and didn't mind walking two extra flights of stairs, But perhaps for someone elderly in your party, just make sure you get a lower level room, which I am sure the hotel staff will accommodate with.

Overall extremely impressed and happy with this stay, loved every part of this hotel and the city itself of course, would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talullyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A basic 2.5 star hotel. I was a single traveler staying in a single room. Very comfortable bed, clean, reasonably sized room (for Paris), well appointed but somewhat run-down. Cable-based internet worked great. Polite 24hr front staff, all of whom spoke English. There is a bike share station in front of hotel, which is also is directly over a metro stop (Vaneau) in a somewhat residential neighborhood that is not bustling with tourists and yet a reasonable walking distance from the river and other interesting sites in the area. For my taste the immediate area was a bit dead but with good access to the city in general. My main complaint was with the apparent lack of air conditioning. I stayed for 1 week in early August when the temperatures were 28-30°C, and my room (not on the upper floors) was very warm. While opening the window helped, the hotel is on a busy street. As a result, quality sleep was impossible. Overall I felt the hotel was overpriced, especially for one lacking WLAN and air in summer that I would not recommend to friends. Luggage storage was not secure. Note: As of August 2012, there was a major construction project (renovation/construction of a hospital? complex) on the entire adjacent block which contributed significantly to the noise in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: From what I understand, upper floors are not serviced by the elevator, and Rue de Sevres is busy (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dresdoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
Hotel de Suede St. Germain
#712 of 1,800 in Paris
381 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Mayet
Hotel Mayet
#692 of 1,800 in Paris
47 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Petit Chomel
Le Petit Chomel
#149 of 1,800 in Paris
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#143 of 1,800 in Paris
510 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#164 of 1,800 in Paris
1,397 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de l'Empereur
Hotel de l'Empereur
#285 of 1,800 in Paris
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain
Address: 86 rue Vaneau, 75007 Paris, France (Formerly Libertel Sèvres-Vaneau Paris Tradition)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #599 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel’s atmosphere is quintessentially “Rive Gauche”, decorated with character, elegant lines and a subtly refined elegance throughout ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaneau Saint Germain Hotel
Vaneau Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing