We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not an enjoyable stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Derby Eiffel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Ranked #831 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
NC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“not an enjoyable stay”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for three nights after a London/Paris tour. We selected it because it was near the Eiffel Tower and the rate was reasonable (not cheap) and included breakfast.
We had a small room on the second floor that faced the street. No view except a big building across the street. The bed was comfortable and both the bedding and drapes looked new, and we were expecting a smaller room. However the bathroom was very unpleasant. All of the fixtures, the tub, the sink and the toilet, and the tile was clipped and broken. Usable but not nice. The door to the bathroom had a hole in it like someone punched the door. The most unpleasant part for me was the mildew and stains in the shower (ick).
We arrived late at night, exhausted and sick with bad colds. If I had been feeling well at all I would have asked for another room as soon as we saw it. Surely not all the bathrooms are in this bad condition.
Breakfast was another mixed bag. There was bread, cheese, pastries, yogurt, and juice on the buffet. One morning everything was replenished but the next morning most items were almost or completely gone. Hot drinks were also rare because they were not self-serve. The attendant had to go into the back room to prepare each cup. First morning I got one small cup of coffee but none the next morning because I could not catch up with the attendant. We skipped the breakfast there entirely the third morning.
I wanted to rate this hotel terrible because my experience was terrible - but I think "poor" is a more accurate rating. I would not recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolinaChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    237
    146
    41
    22
See reviews for
86
293
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for three days in September and found the hotel to be perfectly located just a couple of minutes from the Metro, a few minutes from the Eiffel Tower and surrounded by a number of charming cafes and restaurants. OK so as with the many of the hotels in Paris the rooms are of modest size but they are clean and of decent condition if not particularly luxurious. We found the staff to be very pleasant. Breakfast was nice though basic continental. I would certainly have no problem staying at the hotel again and would recommend it to anyone seeking a well priced and well located hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justis j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Although the front desk employees are the stereotypical Parisians, and the rooms are tiny, this quaint hotel is a prime spot if you're just here a few days. The front desk guys warm up to you if you joke with them, and they will book taxis, recommend dining etc, and the building is fun to explore-very old, check out the caverns below! But definitely book online far in advance, our rate was half the walk in rate!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyJehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in july while visiting Paris for the first time. The hotel is clean, in a perfect location & we could see the Eiffel Tower from our room. The breakfast that was included was great and the staff were always friendly and happy to help. There are some great restaurants close by & the room is a reasonable size for Europe rooms. The room was in good condition & we would happily come back. Highly recommend!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Briony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located, half a block to metro, supermarket and the Indian restaurant. Eiffel was ten min walking. Charms esseley and Arc d Triumph was very near. The staff was cooperative. The rooms were not so neat. The shower of one of our rooms didn't work well. Our request of interconnected rooms was met. All together a good stay but rooms can we made much better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjalisameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

stayed here for three nights in my Europe travels, before going to Barcelona. It was in a good location not far from many of the attractions. The rooms were very small and the elevator is for only one person at a time. I also had their complimentary breakfast here it was good (only cold food). The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Derby Eiffel Hotel is a half block from the Ecole Militaire Metro station and a ten minute walk to the base of the Eiffel Tower. This quiet small hotel was perfect for our short stay in Paris. The staff was excellent and the rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The complimentary breakfast was very good and in a cozy downstairs area from the front desk. We will stay there again when we return to beautiful Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KailuaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#783 of 1,798 in Paris
289 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eber
Hotel Eber
#660 of 1,798 in Paris
268 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#53 of 1,798 in Paris
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,163 of 1,798 in Paris
488 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#746 of 1,798 in Paris
319 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Comtesse
Hotel La Comtesse
#313 of 1,798 in Paris
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Eiffel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Eiffel Hotel

Property: Derby Eiffel Hotel
Address: 5, avenue Duquesne | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #831 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Derby Eiffel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Hotel occupying a small, traditional building dating from the turn of the century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derby Eiffel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Eiffel Paris
Best Western Derby Eiffel
Best Western Paris
Hotel Derby Eiffel
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing