We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Derby Eiffel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Ranked #831 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is right at the heart of Paris. With a view of Eiffel from the balcony and it being a 10 min walk from this hotel, Derby Eiffel is the best place for tourists who are keen to explore the city through long walks to get a feel of the local culture. The room we stayed in was cosy, clean and comfortable. In concurrence with all other reviews, the lifts are small and can accommodate two persons and two bags at most with great difficulty but hey, you got to give it for the location! Staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hvr_0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    237
    146
    41
    22
See reviews for
86
293
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed three nights at the Derby Eiffel. Room was quite spacious, clean and comfortable. Location was excellent, near Eiffel Tower; good restaurants nearby. Staff was very helpful. Will definitely stay here on my next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaycee7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent location to discover Paris on foot. Close to metro station (gare de militaire) Very good breakfast. Friendly staff at desk and breakfast. Old building and rooms, nothing fancy, but neat and clean. Nice view from room, could see eiffeltower close by if looking out the window to the right.. Overal: good choice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We chose the Derby Eiffel Hotel based on location and the reviews on Tripadvisor, and I'm very happy that we did! The hotel was quite charming, and our room was more than perfect. We made the reservation several months prior and requested a room with a view - and what a view it is! We were given a double on the 6th floor that had a small ledge that you could step onto to get the perfect view of the Eiffel Tower. Considering that this was our first visit to Paris, we were thrilled. The location is fantastic as well with a Metro station just steps away, and multiple cafes nearby. I have recommened the property to several people already and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrkstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
325 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Old and worn, but clean and quiet. I reserved 60 days in advance. Upon arrival I was shown to a small, dark, depressing room in the rear overlooking the roof below. I asked for a nicer room, was told "nothing was available". I asked to have another hotel contacted for a better room. Miraculously, a room became available. I was shown to a queen size bed, in the rear, off a small courtyard, with a private entrance. Viola! I could get to the bathroom without climbing over the bed. No frills here. Just a desk/table and a desk chair. Mini bar. No heat, except a portable radiator and no a/c except a portable one. The shower head was hand held and leaked. The location is 5 mins to Eiffel Park, 10 mins to the tower. A block from Metro, bus, and taxi. Several cafes a block away. Napolean's tomb, around the corner. Very clean room and the courtyard was tiny, but very quiet. Just the bare essentials for 170 euro a night. Skip the breakfast, unless bread and ham and cheese will satisfy you. Go to Le Terressee for omoulette or eggs with bacon. Eat there for American food and good service.

Room Tip: Make your reservations for rooms 1,2, or 3 off the courtyard. If you need A/C in summer, be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank commentmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. The breakfast included flaky croissants, jams, pastries, cheeses, sliced meats, eggs, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee and hot tea. Although the room and bathroom were small, it was still comfortable with adequate room for the weary traveler. Internet access is not included, but could be purchased at the front desk. One computer is available in the lobby for guests. Their luggage room is small, but they accommodated ours until we left for the train station later that afternoon. There's a laundry mat and grocery store a block away for a few of those necessities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed about a week in this hotel. It has had some renovations, but the room I stayed in needed some updating starting with a decent coat of paint and some finishing touches.
The desk was always helpful;. The hotel was close enough to Metro and was in walking distance of many central attractions.
Bringing in luggage is not convenient, and there was no offer to help other than to point out their postage stamp elevator. If you have two bags, there is hardly enough room for you to be in the elevator too, and the heavy doors are another frustration in getting luggage to your room.
Their breakfast is pricey at 12 Euros, though in a pinch (or a hurry), it's a generous one.
On the other hand, this was a reasonably priced hotel, so the value for money must be put in the balance. I would go there again because of the good price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watercolourkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#783 of 1,798 in Paris
289 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eber
Hotel Eber
#660 of 1,798 in Paris
268 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
Hotel Eiffel Turenne
#53 of 1,798 in Paris
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,163 of 1,798 in Paris
488 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#746 of 1,798 in Paris
319 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Comtesse
Hotel La Comtesse
#313 of 1,798 in Paris
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Eiffel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Eiffel Hotel

Property: Derby Eiffel Hotel
Address: 5, avenue Duquesne | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #831 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Derby Eiffel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Hotel occupying a small, traditional building dating from the turn of the century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derby Eiffel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Eiffel Paris
Best Western Derby Eiffel
Best Western Paris
Hotel Derby Eiffel
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing