We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay! Great value and perfect location.”
Review of Derby Eiffel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Derby Eiffel Hotel
Ranked #793 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you don't want to get ripped off for an expensive chain hotel in Paris this place is perfect. Paris is beyond expensive and this place if affordable and in a perfect location to see all of the sights. The hotel staff speaks great English and was always very friendly. The elevator is one of a kind, beyond small. Enough room for 2 adults and 4 bags...just laugh about it if your not a snob. The rooms are small but clean. Bathroom is perfect, hair dryer included. There is a fridge in the room to keep drinks only. TV is all French of course but they do have the BBC World News Channel that is in English. My wife and I were barely in the room. They sell drinks out of it for about 3 Euro a drink. Invalides is a block away to visit the tomb of Napoleon. Supermarket is a 1 minute walk, along with the metro that is very easy to understand and navigate. We took a cab from the airport, the cost was 55 Euro. It sucks but after an 11 hour flight and with the Metro being a bit of a pain from the airport with all of your luggage its worth it to budget for the taxi. If your traveling light with only 1 bag than the metro will be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a hotel early in your booking to be street side if you want a view from the Eiffel Tower fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lumerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 594 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our stay was great! No problems at all. Room was small but they mostly all are in Europe. Great price. Location was excellent! Wifi worked. Tv worked. Breakfast was expensive at the hotel highly suggest a cafe :) also the Paris Passes are a MUST! Passed all the lines and didn't have to worry about paying for entrance.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kdann31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located near the Eiffel tower and the military school metro stop and many cafes. We enjoyed walking to rue cler in less than five minutes. Our flight arrived overnight from Toronto at 9 am and they let us check in at 1130 which was great. We found it awkward when the staff began telling us we should all know french if we live in Canada. I guess he doesn't know much about Newfoundland. We laughed as if he was joking but he showed no signs of sarcasm making it awkward. Other than the awkward Canadian comments it was a great hotel for the price!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Darren_K_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

the hotel is situated a short distance from the eiffel tower making it a perfect start to a tourist holiday. Its surrounded by a mixture of cafe's, bar's, delicatessants, and a short distance to metro. The room it'self is pretty standard , we had a twin bedroom with a fantastic view of the eiffel tower, it was ideal for two people, we stayed in room 54. the facilities are up to scratch, and daily cleaned. the staff were incredibly helpful with finding locations and booking taxis, and also reserving tickets for the moulin rouge for ourselves. i would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you are on a budget break . . . perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 85rhi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for a quick visit to Paris and loved this location. It is peaceful but there are nearby restaurants that are very good (ckeck in rick Steve's Paris book.) After our all night transatlantic crossing we were thrilled that our room was ready in the morning. It was clean and had the largest bathroom we have ever had in Europe. The staff was very helpful, making us dinner reservations and setting up transportation to the airport. It was also nice that they have a bar in the lobby for a night cap or a wine while readying for dinner. Breakfast was nice and included everything you find at euro hotels plus friendly service. Please repaint and recarpet the hallways and stairs!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Staying here made our trip both affordable and efficient. Great French restaurants, pastry shops, metro, Eiffel Tower all within walking distance. Alternately you can spend double or triple for a room but why bother. Paris is all about walking around town and taking in the city. Spend your money on food, pastry and wine. Not necessarily in that order.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed in room 64 and it was very dark, cramped and dingy. There wasn't even enough room to place my suitcase on its back on the floor around the bed! Despite the obvious lack of space they crammed in a desk, a chair and a stool. I had to place the stool on top of the desk so that I could open the bedroom door properly.

Many things are badly in need to repair. The outlet from the air conditioning unit was connected to a hole in the window. At least it was meant to be but the one in my room was broken off. I therefore arrived to find the door/windows to the small balcony wide open with the so the tubing could hang out! An electricity socket was hanging off the bedroom wall.The room safe didn't work either.

The bathroom was pretty small too and in need of a very good clean. Ingeniously, there was a bottle opener screwed to the wall just above the toilet cistern. Didn't make enough use of that to be honest.

staff were ok. some friendlier than others.

On a positive note, the location was good and they have a decent bar area, perhaps because you can see it from outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#166 of 1,803 in Paris
1,410 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
Hotel de France Invalides
#538 of 1,803 in Paris
350 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
#349 of 1,803 in Paris
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#870 of 1,803 in Paris
390 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,291 of 1,803 in Paris
527 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Eber
Hotel Eber
#734 of 1,803 in Paris
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Eiffel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Eiffel Hotel

Address: 5 avenue Duquesne | 7th Arr., 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #793 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $115 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Derby Eiffel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Hotel occupying a small, traditional building dating from the turn of the century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Derby Eiffel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Eiffel Paris
Best Western Derby Eiffel
Best Western Paris
Hotel Derby Eiffel
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing