We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera
Nearby Hotels
$262
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fred Hotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
$135
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$396
$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Le Six(Paris)
$456
$303
Le Six
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$241
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$269
$236
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$269
$188
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$1,519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
397
337
44
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
337
44
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmadeleine metrogreat locationplace de la concordecroissantsquiet streetchamps elyseesbig roomcdg airportboiled eggswalking distancemini barstayed here for nightsstandard roomside streetlots of restaurantshotel is perfectcentral paris
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 800 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the Folkestone Opera. We selected the hotel initially due to a recommendation from our travel agent in Switzerland, and for the second trip due to the location as we were going to the opera house.

Pros: Great location regarding sights, metro, restaurants, and the opera/ballet. Good breakfast buffet with enough quality and variety to keep up the interest. Good clean, quiet, comfortable rooms with free wifi. Friendly staff that speaks english. Prices were very reasonable for what you got.

Cons: The heating/cooling system in the room didn't work well (or we couldn't get it to work). It was a bit noisy on the 4th floor. Small rooms, but not unexpected in Paris. Minibars were minimally stocked, but we primarily needed water.

We would recommend you get a room with a terrace on the upper floors. The terraces are delightful and charming.

Room Tip: upper floors; ask for a terrace room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcco97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

We appreciate that you take time to comment our Hotel. All the staff is happy that you enjoy the location and the hotel in general! Concerning the air conditioning, we are at your disposal during your stay, next time, don’t hesitate to ask us to give you a helping hand. We hope to see you soon!
Reception, Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It is our second trip to Paris and it was easy decision to stay at this fabulous little hotel again. We stumbled on it by accident 2.5 years ago, and we consider it a lucky find.

It is perfectly located near all the best shops and public transport, the rooms are warm and cozy (in fact they have been refurbished since our first visit and are even nicer than we remembered!)

On the same street are some great restaurants including a super italian eaterie (get in early for a table) and delish Korean. The hotel itself has a buffet style breakfast that is lovely too.

The staff are as equally warm as the hotel surroundings and helped us out with all our public transport enquiries etc (a thank you to Virginia for her tips on getting to La Village).

The lounge is also really nice and there is free wifi in the lounge and hotel rooms.

In a nutshell this is a great hotel that represents remarkable value for its location and yes, we would happily come back for a third time. If it ain't broke why fixit?

Highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_fashion_assassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

First the whole team and I would like to wish you a very good year 2013, with lots of travels !
Most of all we thank you for your confidence and kind comment. It is always a pleasure to participate at your good memories.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Kind regards.
Laurence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for one week in early november. It was an easy check in. If you dont pack light you might need to make a few trips with your bags, small elevator. The hotel is a short walk to public transportation, metro and buses. The staff was very helpful, they helped us make reservations at a restaraunt, and then change them. There was a breakfast area downstairs. Nothing to exciting, basic stuff, but tasted good. It was very nice for those days you just want to grab something and go so you can start your day. The hotel room itself was clean. nothing over the top, small. but large enough for two people who came to paris to see the sites not spend time in their room. the bathroom was just what i would expect. the shower was small, would fit one person with not a lot of wiggle room. able to access internet from my room, but when i needed a bigger screen i was able to use a computer which is available in the lobby with a printer. i would stay there again should i go back to paris.

Room Tip: we had read that if you are on the ground floor it can get really noisy. we asked not to be one the first floor and were given a room on the third floor facing the alley. not a great view, cant speak for other rooms on that floor. however it only got noisy when the trash got collected in the morning.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlcAlrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

The whole staff and I would like to thank you for your nice report regarding your stay with us in November. The rooms, as most rooms in Paris, are not so big, but as you wrote it, there is so much to sightsee in Paris, so easy from our central location...
We wish you an Happy New Year.
Kind regards.
Laurence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on 6th floor. Typically small room for Paris but very cosy, nicely finished and a sizeable terrace. Great bedding and bed. Outside space - ideal if you are a smoker.

Bathroom was tiny, but good water pressure and lots of hot water. Good towels and toiletries too.

Breakfast was good quality and served in a nice cellar room.

Honestly, the best 3 star I've stayed in in Paris. Would definitely return.
Good value when booked as part of Eurostar from UK. Book it!

Room Tip: Seek 6th fllor with terrace if a smoker. Terrace would be great in Spring, Summer & Autumn.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XaghraDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

So pleased to read such comments about our hotel, thank you for your time with us, and we'll be here in 2013 to welcome you again ! Happy New Year.
Laurence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in the attic room on 6 th floor which was very cosy , breakfast was included and was lovely which included fresh croissants and boiled eggs and a variety of different things , staff were also very helpful if we needed to book a taxi or make a reservation in a resturant.
Only 3 minutes walk from the Madeleine and tube station so very handy to go shopping or sight seeing, walking distance to all the designer shops and champs Élysées area, but very pricey!!
There are lots of restaurants on the same street as this hotel all different price ranges and a very good English bar around the corner call the cricketer .
Would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 306Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMGerbault, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice comment concerning your last stay with us. We have this chance to be vey well located in the centre and we always fell happy to know our guests spent an enjoyable time in our hotel.
We wis you an Happy New Year and hope to welcome you in 2013 !
King regards.
Laurence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews