We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera
Ranked #367 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Having stayed in this Hotel 2 years ago we were very happy to return again. The location suited us perfectly, close to the Grand Magazins & bus to get to Roland Garros-the main reason for our visit to Paris. I would highly recommend it We did not have the breakfast as felt it was a bit pricey & preferred to buy coffee & croissants from the little Pattiserie across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greti17, Responsable commercial at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Linda,
thank you for your message. It was nice to see you again at the Folkestone Opera. Hopefully we see you soon for a third time !
Have a nice summer ! Kind regards, Greti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 746 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

Finally arrived after refusing to walk into the wrong hotel where our driver took our main luggage and demanded we go there. Eventually got through to him that he was wrong. Initially, staff appeared friendly enough, and we got to our room on the top floor in stages, as the lift was too small to take my wife, myself and our luggage. On entering the room, we thought we had walked into the local storeroom, as it was so small. A 10' x 10' room, with a 6' x 6' bathroom annexe. The ceilings were sloped and I could only stand in one corner of the bathroom. The wardrobe was at least a 100 year old single panel wooden structure which was sloping to one side. The bed was a double and felt like a Doona covered block of concrete. For a person such as myself, who is 6 feet tall, this is a problem. A safe was located in the wardrobe, which was bolted to the base, and could have easily been lifted off. It required a key, which needed a 50€ deposit, which i did not trust, as any number of keys could be out there. The walls were thin enough to hear everything in the adjacent rooms. The windows had remote control shutters, however, we had to keep them closed, as well as the windows, as the floor below us had a balcony where a group of old men sat each day smoking cigars, which stunk, and the people in the building across the road could see everything we did. The ladies in the kitchen were lovely. The food, however, was pretty basic, and not to a standard of which would be expected, considering the cost of the room per night. In two days we asked the same receptionist, a total of 3 questions. By the time the 3rd question was delivered, the answer came with a slam of a book she was reading, and a very abrupt, " no, it is up to you to do that" and went back to reading her book. The question asked was simply to help with our boarding pass as everything on the hotel computer was in French. The first question was simply asking for help using the phone. "well, of course not, it's turned off here!". A short time later, I went downstairs to ask her to call the company transferring us to the airport, as they either could not or would not speak English, and she said, "no, you just have to try. It is your responsibility!". Rude, arrogant, somewhat and unhelpful staff. Although we hung our 'Do not disturb' sign out each morning, upon our return, it had been removed, placed back in the room, our beds made, and our belongings moved about. The same towels remained with us for the 3 days, even though placing them on the floor is the norm to have them replaced. Overpriced, non-existent service, and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Spend the extra and get something worth the money. Better still, don't go to Paris unless you have a friend fluent in French.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room first, and DO NOT accept the offer of a top floor room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greti17, Responsable commercial at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

dear sir,
thank you for your comment that we read with attention. We are sorry that you had a so bad stay in Paris and we apologize for what happened in our hotel. We regret that you did not let us know about this mesaventures at the hotel directly. We always do our best to change our clients to other rooms if they dont like it. This is really not a problem. And if your first impression is bad, all the rest follows.
We just want to confirm 2 points for your and other guests information :
- We ask our chambermaid to go to each room at least once a day - this is also for security reasons. And "Do not disturb" does not mean "Dont clean my room ".
- Our reception staff and a lot of people you may meet in Paris speak english and you really may come to France if you dont speak french.
We would really be very happy to welcome you again to change your mind about Paris and the Folkestone Opera.
Greti Saillard and all the staff of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Spent a lovely 4 days here, very close to all the shops and attractions. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The ladies who worked in the breakfast area were delightful. Room would have been better if the fridge worked. Had trouble with the fridge the whole time even when they replaced it. Selection of breakfast food was more than enough. Would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: One facing the main street
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footy22255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greti17, Responsable commercial at Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Hello from Paris,
Thank you for giving your opinion and your recommendation!
We are glad that our staff could make your stay with us rather pleasant.
Sorry for the fridge, we have to resolve this small problem with the minibar.
We hope to welcom you again! Have a nice summer time, kind regards, Greti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I arrived on the Eurostar and took a taxi to the hotel, which is located down a side street just north of La Madeleine. The lobby is modern and while small it was sparkling clean. Hotel staff was very nice and filling out the form was simple.

The room was on the 4th floor. I can't speak for the other floors, but this one smelled and appeared to have just been renovated. Most of the reviews I read mentioned that rooms in Paris are small. This was no exception, but it looked brand new. The room was still in the process of being renovated where the bookcases style shelf units on either side of the bed still had the doors missing. Two days later while I was out they had finished putting the doors on. All of the furniture was new. On either side of the double bed were reading lights and controls for lights for the entire room. The window looked out onto a courtyard, but this is Paris and who is going to stay in their room while visiting this city. The window had an electric shade that came down for privacy as well as cutting out the light if you want to sleep late. The room does have a small refrigerator.

The hotel is very modern and eco friendly. In the morning the hall lights are out until you step out of your room. The room does have a safe and to get a key you do have to put down a 50 Euro cash deposit. I didn't try the breakfast buffet as I am a coffee and muffin person for breakfast. There is a Starbucks just minutes away.

Being down a small side street it was always very quiet. Lots of restaurants near-bye and the general location is great. Fanastic room for the rate.

Getting a taxi to CDG was easy as the friendly staff set it up. On a Saturday morning the trip was less than 30 minutes and about 50 Euro's. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I'm back in Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We chose the hotel as the base for our mini honeymoon to Paris and it was lovely! We arrived to find some chocolates in our room, possibly because they knew it was our honeymoon? The room itself was compact (but aren't most city centre hotels? And you're in Paris, why are you spending time in your room?!) but cosy and with charming beams on the ceiling. There was no street noise which is great in any city hotel and breakfast was delicious (you pay extra - 13euros each per day but in all honesty you won't get much for less in a city and it kept us going all day!)

Every member of staff we spoke to - in reception, at breakfast, from housekeeping - were friendly and accommodating with our attempts at French (they speak perfect English but were patient with our efforts!) They kindly organised taxis for us to the Moulin Rouge and the airport, both of which were efficient and not over-priced.

The location is fantastic - walking distance of Place de Concorde, the Louvre, the Eiffel Tower, the Champs Élysées and many, many other sights and attractions...and round the corner from a Metro station if the walking gets tiring. Would definitely recommend this hotel and of course Paris itself, charming, romantic and wonderful!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank TravelGirl1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked through internet and had a last minute special rate: 99 euros per room. When we arrived they had upgraded us because they still had availbailities and we slept in a 239 euros room which was really comfortable and nicely decorated. Smiley service on top of that!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with bookinnfrance.com
Thank Muriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Value-for-money because of its great location (near Madeline Station and shopping area)
Room is clean and proper.

Went for their morning breakfast, EUR 13, I would say it was slightly expensive for me, but with the overall selection, it is still by far the most wholesome hotel breakfast i have ever eaten. (cereals, different ham selection, bread, milk, eggs, etc)

There are lots of small restaurants/shophouses near the hotel. The French restaurant just beside the hotel is really good, with friendly staff which speaks perfect english, and the other restaurant at the far left corner of the hotel is always crowded during lunch time, so I reckoned their food and services should be good too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
Hotel du Triangle d'Or
#305 of 1,803 in Paris
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#446 of 1,803 in Paris
215 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Best Western Paris Louvre Opera
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera

Address: 9 rue de Castellane, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Paris
#172 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#177 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $175 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing