We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and not helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Queen Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Queen Mary
Ranked #669 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I'm actually writing this review whilst sitting in the hotel. The rooms are very small and very old fashioned. But that didn't really put me off until the building works next door. I asked to be moved and the receptionist was so unhelpful. 'Just saying what can I do about building works that someone else is doing'. I asked does she know how long it will be going on for to which she shrugged her shoulders. Not what you want to here. I asked has she got any tourist information and she said only a map and I should go to tourist board. Surely they should give you a little of information.... not too much to ask for. I wouldn't stay here again. It seems to be in a good location but I don't rate it as a good hotel. They have spent loads on decorating their reception area but maybe they should invest some money in their rooms and better staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank alabama_bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 242 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

I booked for another hotel but they were over-booked so i was sent to "Queen Mary". In the beginning everything was ok, not bad. The room was old-fashioned but normal and for that price in Paris you can't ask for more. The problem came when i was sleeping: I was bitten for several ticks (they were 4 near my back and neck)!!! I went to the front-desk agent and after complain he just told me "I can't do nothing...We are fully occupied so i can't give you another room and the responsible just come at 8 AM" I was shocked... I was there with my cousin so we spent the time trying to sleep in the chair and sofa. At the end after complain again in the morning they gave me my money back. So, please don't try this hotel NEVER!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AMFarinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian F, Directeur général at Hotel Queen Mary, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013
Google Translation

nous sommes désolés de ce qui est arrivé mais malheureusement de nombreux hôtels parisiens son confrontés au problème des punaises.Nous avons un contrat de prévention avec un organisme qui assure un passage par mois. Mais si la valise d'un client en contient , cela suffit à infester une chambre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was in this hotel for one night for a conference in Paris

The room is clean and calm

No view at all, the window is on a patio

The staff are friendly and the breakfast is croissant and juice

The internet is good in the room

There is tea and coffee in the room

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sHajjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

very good experience..great value for money..friendly staff..clean..adequate room spave..excellent location for shopping and sightseeing..highly recommended..will stay there again on my next visit to paris.

Room Tip: for a few additional euros select a superior room..allows for much more room space than the compfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Overall a great value for money. Will stay there again for sure. Friendly team, fluent English. Neet, clean and good sized rooms. Excellent location near shopping and sightseeing with easy access to metro and train station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sherif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Paris for 5 days in late June and it was wonderful.
The hotel was small and tucked away down a side road right near the opera and the Galleries Lafayette. It was lovely and clean with friendly staff, i can speak basic french, but the ladies on reception speak fluent english which definitely helped.
We arrived earlier than the check in and were able to store our luggage in the hotel while we explored Paris.
The location of the hotel was absolutely amazing, it was within walking distance of so many places, including the Champs Elysees, the Louvre, the Opera, the Eiffel Tower and the Arc de Triomphe. But if you don't want the 5-25 minute walks, the metro is about 5 minutes away.
The breakfast was very average, they could do with doing the breakfast room up, thinking back it wasn't worth buying, there are some lovely bakeries and restaurants close by which are better.
The rooms were small, but that's expected in a Paris hotel in such a perfect location, especially for the price.
All in all a wonderful hotel, it's top feature is definitely the location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

As my first time to Paris I wanted to treat myself to something special so upgraded to the deluxe room (without the breakfast) the hotel was nice, more modern than some of the photos I've seen. The location was great for me to walk to museums even walked back from Eiffel Tower to the hotel which was a lovely afternoon (aside from PSG soccer riots). The hotel staff made me feel very comfortable as a lone traveller who doesn't speak French - would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Cordelia
#695 of 1,804 in Paris
336 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera d'Antin
Hotel Opera d'Antin
#570 of 1,804 in Paris
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Queen Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Queen Mary

Address: 9 rue Greffulhe, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #669 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $129 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Queen Mary 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming 3 star hotel is idealy situated between the Opera Garnier and the Madeleine Church, a stone's throw from the famous department stores, Galeries Lafayette and Printemps. In the heart of one of the most appreciated districts in the French capital, the hotel Queen Mary Opera features 35 comfortable and well appointed rooms with air conditioning. Due to its location and closeness of public transport, you can easily reach many of the famous attractions and sites Paris has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Queen Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Hotel
Queen Mary Paris
Hotel Mary Queen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing