We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”
Review of De Vigny Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De Vigny Hotel
Ranked #1,070 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was cheaper to book on line than on the phone; its always surprising that the best deals are often not known to those manning the phone reception- particularly as I booked the day I went. It is a luxurious hotel, that is very central, yet very quiet. The staff are helpful; it seems that virtually all good restaurants are closed in August, yet the concierge diligently found us some quality eateries, and took pleasure in doing so. The breakfast service in August is a bit of a shambles, as the hotel restaurant/ breakfast area is closed, but easy to forgive.

Room Tip: book on line for special offers
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welsh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for De Vigny Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and i are just back from a short stay in Paris France, having stayed at the De Vigny Hotel. The hotel itself is a Boutique hotel literally just off the Champs Elysee by no more than 300 metres and is in a wonderful position to explore Paris its'self. Our trip was booked through a UK company called Railbookers and they put together the entire package of Hotel and Eurostar. We would recommend this as the rack rate for the Hotel is far more than through the travel company.
The staff at the hotel are very helpful and extremely polite, on arrival we were booked in and also shown where the Breakfasts are served (complimentary if booked with Railbookers) and asked if they could help in any way as to booking or recommending restaurants, trips etc. Having been given our room key we were told we had been upgraded to a suite, and what a lovely set of rooms, very nice. The rooms themselves are a good size for Paris and nicely decored, our bathroom had a fantastic jaccuzzi which was ideal after all the walking round. The beds are a little stiff for my taste but my wife loved it so guess its personal choice.
Breakfast at the hotel is continental as standard and with a good choice, staff in the restaurant again were helpful and attentive and should you require (full english) will take your order at extra cost. All in all a very nice stay at the De Vigny and my thanks to all the staff there for making our break even more memorable. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldenofnottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We loved the hotel with its charming lobby and helpful staff. The rooms were delightful and the staff helped us confirm reservations and locate our rental car office. The only drawback to the hotel is the waiter who serves in resturant in the late afternoon and evening. We had reservations for dinner at the hotel. We had drinks before dinner in the restaurant. The waiter never came to our table to check on us and we had to go up to him to request a second round. When it came time for dinner, we could not get his attention, much less a menu, so we left the hotel and went to a nearby restaurant. After that, we went to a local cafe and had a splendid time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bink_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Arrived at hotel late at night where we were promptly double upgraded as it was our anniversary. Stunning room with a fruit tray on arrival. Very clean and very well appointed. It was quiet and we slept well. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was OK, nothing spectaular. The bar was closed for refurbishment when we were there. Staff were helpful and polite and all wished us a happy anniversary. Mini bar and snack are the most expensive I have ever seen. 8 euros for a bag of 8 sweets! 27 euros fo half a bottle of standard red wine. Needless to say we left it all! Super location. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We spent one night at the De Vigny on route to Amsterdam. My husband had stayed at this hotel on 2 previous occasions and was very happy with the hotel and location. The rooms are comfortable, decorated in typical Parisian character and bathrooms are nice although fittings are old and could do with updating. On arrival (after 2pm) our rooms weren't ready so we were happy to leave our luggage and go for lunch and returned later. The staff at this point were pleasant and helpful and although tired from travelling we accepted that we would have to wait for our rooms.
We had requested a twin and double room plus roll out bed for our young son(who is 12). We were given a double and deluxe double (which was more pricy but believed it included the extra bed). When we noticed there was no 3rd bed we asked for the extra bed. Initially we were told it would be put in the room. This did not happen so we asked again and we were then told that as our son is 12 it would be an additional 80 Euro. If our son was 11 it would be free!This was not quoted in the original email (via our travel agent) which did specify other costs such as breakfast, parking etc.
We explained how we felt this was rather steep as our original booking was for 5 people and at no time had we been told this would cost more. We assumed that the more expensive room (EURO 40 more)was for the extra person. We were told that the more expensive room was a bigger room (although we had not requested a 'bigger room' merely a 'triple room'). The staff were extremely rude and non negotiable and made our evening most unpleasant.
I have since noticed on the booking.com website that the quoted rate for a rollaway bed is 60 Euros so not sure why we were told 80!
Internet access is also expensive.
It was a real pity as it really spoilt our day in Paris. I have read other reviews on the hotel and notice that the service is not consistent. It really seems to depend on who you get.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed in Hotel de Vigny when our good friend booked us there for our 10 day stay in paris. It's a bit tired and may need some renovation. The rooms are still very well furnished, done in a classical way, although i would say that there are good rooms and not so good rooms in this hotel. Overall I would say that this hotel is still one of the better ones in Paris. The staff is a bit erratic in terms of service, a particular shift will be very helpful, another shift I found to be quite brusque to the point of being rude. I do have mixed feelings about this hotel.
If I were to return to Paris, I will surely stay in one of the more quaint and quiet locations like St Germain, or in Ile St. Louis..

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We have just returned from a weekend in Paris and stayed at the Hotel De Vigny
The hotel on the whole was fine a little tired but in a very good location for the Arc De Triomph and the upmarket shops on the Champs de Elysée ,it has a beuitful art Deco bar, But you defiantly will not do Paris on a budget from this location. Our room was at the front of the building and my wife struggled to sleep with all the noise outside. our room was OK nothing special the bathroom could do with some updating the cold tap on the bath did not work so we used the cold tap on the shower. The room service was a bit hit and miss we requested a news paper and continental breakfast in our room, No paper and the breakfast on the first morning was stretching continental breakfast to the extreme, it consisted of a pot of tea no milk, some orange juice. and 6 pieces of toast butter and jams.
IT was better the following morning with some croissants & Pastries and we made sure we ordered the milk specially this time. I wouldn't bother with the payable internet 17 Euro for the basic which is very slow or you can pay over 30 Euro for the high speed version. The staff on reception were very helpful with recommending restaurants & places to visit.
If i could ever afford to return to Paris again I think I would stay in a different more vibrant part like the St Germain or latin Quarter . On another not we took a brilliant free walking tour with a company called Sandersons who meet at 11am & 1PM every day in front of St Michael's fountain in the Latin quarter well worth a look.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bostongardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Balzac
Hotel Balzac
#656 of 1,803 in Paris
450 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#828 of 1,803 in Paris
375 reviews
Champs-Elysees
InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#129 of 1,803 in Paris
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vigny Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vigny Hotel

Address: 9 rue Balzac, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#466 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $243 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De Vigny Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vigny is a luxury boutique hotel located in the middle of Paris' fashionable 8th arrondissement. Situated on a quiet street just off the bustling Champs-Elysees, this charming hotel is a short walk away from Faubourg Saint-Honore, Arc de Triomphe, Avenue Montaigne and Avenue George V; as well as some of the finest art galleries and museums Paris has to offer. The hotel offers a selection of 26 luxury guestrooms and 11 suites.All of the suites offer separate bedrooms, drawing rooms and come complete with a luxury marble bathroom. The hotel is renowned for its discrete style, fantastic location; and can be reached in just 40 min. from Charles de Gaulle International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vigny Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vigny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing