We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall a perfect Paris holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel
Ranked #309 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 29, 2013

From the time we entered the Hotel to the end of our stay five days later, we were very happy with the attentiveness and concern of the staff. Our room, on the top floor, faced a courtyard and was very quiet. The buffet breakfast offered many choices, including salmon and champagne. The location was perfect for us to explore different areas of Paris each day. We walked everywhere and never took the Metro. We found some restaurants on the side streets away from the Champs-Elysees ( i.e. Chez Andre) which were reasonably priced and very good. In all, our best time in Paris.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms at high level are quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripcontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
There are newer reviews for Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel overall. The location was right in middle of tourist area and it is a 5 star hotel so that is why we picked. But given the rating and the price the service was terrible. First, the Champs-Elysees is beautiful but filled with American stores and so really not that awesome to stay in this area. We had an overnight flight with 3 kids from Chicago followed by a cab ride that should have been 20 minutes but was 1.5 hours. Our rooms were not ready (not a huge surprise as still a bit early) so given option to freshen up in gym area. Womens locker room had a sauna not working properly because entire room sauna temp so had to change in the mens room while my husband watched door. Rooms were fine but service was not, with the exception of 1 friendly doorman (wish I could remember his name). Rooms were not connecting as was confirmed in reservation so were offered an "upgrade" to take care of this and provide connecting rooms (a must with 3 children) then at checkout we were charged for the "upgrade". We were in a hurry to checkout so honestly ready to pay for just to move on but the girl (who offered the "upgrade" to fix the error at checkin) who was checking us out was so incredibly rude, my husband followed that by 30 minutes of "discussions" with another French manager, finally was resolved by a non-French manager. I really did not want to think that the stereotypes of not feeling welcome as Americans by Parisians were not true but unfortunately we could not have felt less welcome. We were polite, paid a lot of money, even forced the family to learn a little French to show we were trying to respect that we were in another country but apparently our thousand of tourist dollars were not appreciated. No offers to help get cabs (really tough to get for 5 people in this city), no welcome upon arrival, and the worst was the concierge who I almost begged to help me find food for some picky eaters (these are kids) after being awake for 36 hours and wanting to just go to bed only to be faced with an attitude that was terrible and not helpful to say the least, it's like I was keeping him from his job. Excuse me but isn't helping the guests in your hotel your job? I mean when we were at the Hyatt in London the next week the man just at the front desk (not even the concierge) offered to have a driver go to pick up some cheeseburgers for my picky eater with sensory issues. We are seriously not difficult travelers but we do work hard and expect good service in return when that is what we are paying for. Don't bother to pay for the expensive hotel as the experience does not meet expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmg94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Responsable relations clients at Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear "kmg94",

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at the Marriott Champs Elysées.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated the location of our hotel and our rooms.

We sincerely regret that you were disappointed by our staff at front desk and our concierge desk.

Please accept also our apologies for the inconveniences. I have shared this information with our General Manager and we will make sure it does not happen again and that all our staff are dedicated to offer the best service for a unique experience in our hotel.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.


With our very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is breathtaking on the inside. The location is great. We walked to the metro and visited many areas in Paris very easily. Sort walk to the Eiffel Tower. We stayed three nights for our honeymoon and would recommend to anyone visiting Paris.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Champs-Elysees is often compared to 5th ave in NY, as a New Yorker, i disagree. I think the location is across between 5th ave and Times Square. It literally is in the noisest, most frenetic part of the city, close to landmark sites such as the Arc de Triomph and within three blocks of the metro. If you enjoy fast pace and the hub-bub of a crowded city this is definitely the right location. This is my fourth visit to Paris- my last visit was 10 years ago, and i must say- i was somewhat disappointed with the shops and boutiques- that are no longer posh and authentic parisian shops but are commercial retail stores that you find in any city such as Sephora and Banana Republic. However, what is authentic, are the parisian cafes and restaurants that line the streets, and are welcome opportunities to grab a bite and people watch! Now on the hotel experience itself. Possibly due to the fact that my husband and i used Marriott points, or that we visited in busy July- our room was very, very small, without much of a view- we had a city view facing toward the Basilica. But the room was clean, and housekeeping promptly attended to our needs when we had an issue with the shower. My husband and i both spent a fair amount of time in the bar lounge/lobby area of the hotel. That is where we could use the internet for free, and imbibe on tasty, though expensive drinks and snacks. The hotel restaurant was quite good- and we highly recommend the breakfast. We thought it was of high quality at a reasonable cost (comparatively speaking to other hotel breakfasts). Now onto our biggest complaint- By my standards- the Concierge was average- and seemed to be steering folks to the same set of restaurants, without much creativity. I asked for a recommendation on a jazz club- and we we were told to go to what turned out to be a jazz lounge act in another hotel!!!! Not authentic at all, with second rate entertainment. We were highly upset and insulted! As that was our last night, we did not have the chance to complain personally- but i plan on following up. As a note: on my last visit we stayed at the Renaissance- also now affiliated with the Marriott- is a five blocks away from the Champs-Elysees. It is a smaller, boutique style hotel- off the main drag, but close enough- where we received much more personal attention. If you considering where to stay- please compare the two hotels. On my last trip i gave the Renaissance- five stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fitfunfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear “fitfunfab”,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at the Marriott Champs Elysées.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated the housekeeping service, the location of the hotel, the restaurant and the breakfast.

We sincerely regret that you were disappointed by our concierge desk.

Please accept also our apologies for the inconveniences. I have shared this information with our General Manager and we will make sure it does not happen again and that all our staff are dedicated to offer the best service for a unique experience in our hotel.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.


With our very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Location/Busyness: You should know what you are getting into if you want to stay in this part of the city on such a well populated block (especially during high-travel seasons). Champs-Elysees gets about as crowded and noisy as any part of Paris (or maybe any city in the world). At the peak of the day, you can barely walk down the block. The Marriott is right in the center of this human mosh pit. So if you want a quieter, more peaceful location, you should look elsewhere. Note that this can be viewed as a plus if you want to be in a popular area with tons of shopping and cafes. The stores, however, are by no means authentic Paris boutiques, but are rather mainstream shops (e.g., H&M, Sefora, and Zara). The location is also excellent to walk into town or to pick up the metro and easily get to all the main sites in Paris.

Other Pros: The service is very, very good. The receptionists and concierge are very attentive to your needs and great resources for touring the city. In our case, we had a particularly bad first night because the hotel put us in a room with a broken air-conditioner that leaked from the ceiling, was within earshot to a noisy street area (thus, we did not sleep), and had a bug visitor in the bathroom. We spoke with the manager who quickly addressed this in a professional manner by upgrading our room for the rest of our stay and providing champagne and treats. This was a very fair and nice way to resolve the unfortunate first night. The bar area in the lounge/lobby is cozy for a nice midday drink (although very expensive like everything in Paris). Coffee from a high-tech machine is offered every morning. There is a business center where you can coordinate work or travel arrangements.

Other Cons: The gym is pretty disappointing. There is only a handful of dumbbells and two or three cardio machines. If you are hoping to get in decent work-outs during your mornings or down-time, you should consider this issue. As with most things in Paris, the mornings are pretty dead in the area, especially on the weekends in the summer. If you are an early riser like me, you should see if you can find a hotel that offers early continental breakfast, has a better gym, or is near places that are open early in the morning. Otherwise, like me, you'll find yourself doing three sets of bicep curls and eating ham and cheese sandwiches from Pomme de Pain every morning. I'm told that's how it's done in France.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm with the receptionist that the room is not too close to a noisy street and tha...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Younggeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The location was perfect for our purposes- close to all major museums and we got in our walking. The room was large and the Bath almost larger.

Of course since you are on the CE there is a mass of humanity outside the front door,but to associate with a less frenetic crowd you can always walk the short distance to Hermes et al.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue Williams W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We started our 2 week European vacation in Paris at the Paris Marriott Hotel Champs-Elysees. This was our first trip to Paris and we only had 3 days there. We knew that we wouldn't be spending much time in the hotel so a clean room in a great location was all we needed, plus we used our points to stay for free! It was absolutely perfect for us. The staff was friendly and spoke english when we needed them to! Our room was comfortable and clean! The location was perfect! The Arc de Triomphe is just a short walk up the Champs-Elysees. We were also able to walk to the Louvre, Pont des Arts, and the Eiffel Tower! It also happens to be right across the street from the famous Laduree (yes, the macaroons are as amazing as they say!) The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is because there wasn't anything particularly special about it but it was absolutely the perfect choice for us and we would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Renaissance Paris Arc de Triomphe Hotel
Opera / Bourse
Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Fraser Suites Le Claridge Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#128 of 1,804 in Paris
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel

Address: 70 Avenue des Champs-Elysees, 75008 Paris, France (Formerly Paris Marriott Hotel Champs-Elysees)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Paris
#166 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#204 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#283 Business Hotel in Paris
#335 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $422 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paris Marriott Hotel Champs Elysees, is located on the Avenue des Champs-Elysees, this downtown Paris hotel is steps away from major city attractions such as the Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower, Louvre and Orsay museums. It is very close to luxury Paris department stores like the Galeries Lafayette and Printemps. This luxury Paris hotel offers upscale hotel rooms with flat screen televisions, wireless internet access and exquisite Marriott bedding. The hotel restaurant serves refined French cuisine seasoned with international exotic flavors. Guests can enjoy a relaxing atmosphere in the hotel's atrium lobby for a break from a busy day of Champs Elysees shopping. Featuring business and catering facilities, business center, free fitness gym and sauna, the Paris Marriott Hotel Champs Elysees provides personalized service for magnificent Paris vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paris Marriott Champs Elysees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Marriott Hotel Champs Elysees
Marriott Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing