We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel we have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Davout Nation
Ranked #1,252 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worst hotel we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Room was very small and noisy and need a lot of work with the old, ugly and torn down decoration. We barely slept during our stay because of the noise we heard all night coming from other rooms and the elevator. The restaurant is very small and narrow and little variety of food.
The only positive thing from the hotel was the access to the internet and next door there is a supermarket.
We do not recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    74
    70
    38
    37
See reviews for
35
86
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2011

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Dirty, shabby, poor area (drinkers sat out side the front - broken glass on the path in front the next morning), very old decoration, fittings and bathroom, filthy carpets - a hotel that is desperately in need of refurbishment. It is on a noisy street, so there were several disturbances throughout the night and even if you just want a bed to sleep in at a low price, the sleep is not guaranteed. I would recommend it only as a last resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AReviewer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

When we first got to our room, the smell of cigarette was over-powering! It was 38 degrees outside, and the window was left open to air it out. The heat was off. I complained to the front desk that I requested a non-smoking to no avail. The front desk staff has to be the most indifferent employees I have ever seen - worst than the DMV in the U.S.
The room was very small - pictures don't do it justice. My brother had a single room and it was even smaller. Think one-car garage size (200 sq. ft). It is an old hotel, and hasn't been updated. The bath and carpet was worn.
Breakfast was hard (or stale) bread and coffee and juice. But there is a McDonald's next to the Metro and a Patterise down the street that has fresh breads.
It's far from Paris, and even though the Metro is close (5 minute walk), it's still two or three changes to get anywhere in Paris.
I will not step foot in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SodaMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I'm trying not to let bad first impressions ruin my trip to a beautiful city but this crosses the line! We booked a vacation package with go-today so we had to settle for this "motel" in the middle of distant Paris. A month prior to our trip, we brought our Paris passes at La Concierge (it's trustworthy) and the passes were to be delivered to our hotel a day before our arrival. When we got there at 9:30am, we asked the front desk, Bernard, if our package was there. He snootily said no and turned us away. Holding the confirmation paper in our hands and re-reading if the passes were from a legit source, we ran outside in the rain to find a payphone. Of course, nothing worked! We then went back inside Comfort Inn and ask to borrow their phone to make a TOLL-FREE call (listed on the Paris Pass confirmation). Bernard claims that toll-free #'s do not exist in France. What?!! Also, he'll charge us 5 euro to use their phone. Being desparate, we succumbbed to his deal. After 2 tries and 2 messages to La Concierge, no result. Bernard "apologizes" and says the call would be free for us. We urged him again to check for our package sitting 18 inches behind him on a table. "Nope! Nothing, there was NO package!" he says. I walked a little past the counter to find our package clearly labeled sitting on top of other mail. After pointing this out to Bernard, he hands us the package and tells him to give the 5 euros. Of course, tired after a long flight to come to a country not fond of Americans and almost getting ripped off, I retaliated back saying we're not paying him. He then argues back that he let us use their phone. I retorted that he said the phone call was free for us and if he would had turned around to check the very first time we asked him when we walked in, this whole mess wouldn't had happened. Wasted an hour over this! He insisted we pay him 5 euros. As I get more angry, he backs down, laughs and dares to say (not verbatim), "it's just a joke, American like jokes no? I ask you to pay 5 euro, let you make the call. I give you call for free, you get your package-everybody happy?"

I'm sorry for the long read but please, do yourself the favor and spend that extra bit of money to stay somewhere else. Plenty of better hotels with similar pricings. This Comfort Inn is quite out the way from picturesque Paris. You'll be spending the money anyway...why not just prevent a horrible experience like this from happening to you? Very old, run-down decor, room was barely moveable, top bedsheet was questionable, thin walls...after a shower, you still get that hives-feeling.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meme8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

in the 20th Arond. Near a metro going directly to Tracadero. Clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely not luxury, but adequate. Breakfast was fine - enough to get a good start in the a.m. Nearby, Tunesian and Turkish food - all very good. Try the roasted chickens for 5 Euro. No AC , but in Sept was pleasant. Yes, street noise, but we were so tired we didn't hear it. Ethnic, working class neighborhood, but had no trouble on the street. Avoid the brasserie La Davout - terrible food and over priced. Owner was a little sleazy, too. I believe he was French, as opposed to the other ethnicities in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvEur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glsgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

My husband and i just stayed there and got it for £240 for 6 nights, we were looking for cheap accomodation, with breakfast, and that is what we got ! It was outside the center of paris but the metro was only a couple of minutes away. The breakfast was the usual continental breakfast and the staff i found were very helpful, across the road there was a patiserie open 24 hours and a supermartket next door, the first night we arrived we got there at 11.00pm and got lost didnt like the look of people hanging outside
mc donalds. Our room was small but was very clean and the bathroom was spotless it had a hair dryer soap and shower gel. i would stay there again !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paris3624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Not convenient to get to/from on the Paris to/from attractions like l'Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower.
Not in a nice area of Paris.
Walls are paper thin, can hear conversations of people outside ALL night.
The price seems good, but don't be fooled. Prison would have more comfortable beds.
Reception staff were friendly, but had a creepy air about them i can't really describe.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jagr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,213 of 1,798 in Paris
155 reviews
Tamaris Hotel
#1,495 of 1,798 in Paris
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de L'Union
#663 of 1,798 in Paris
143 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Abrial Hotel
Abrial Hotel
#1,209 of 1,798 in Paris
358 reviews
Faubourg 216 - 224
#1,348 of 1,798 in Paris
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Davout Nation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Davout Nation

Property: Comfort Hotel Davout Nation
Address: 110 rue des Orteaux | 20th Arr., 75020 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,252 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Davout Nation 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Davout Nation is located in the 20th arrondissement of Paris, 200 meters from the Porte de Montreuil metro station, not far from Père Lachaise and Place de la Nation. This 3 star hotel ideally placed and served invites you to discover the capital whilst taking advantage of the calm of its neighborhood and its shaded terrace welcome after a day of Parisian walk. Just renovated and arranged according to the theme of the journey, each room of the Comfort Hotel Davout Nation assumes the atmosphere of the big cities of the world. From Amsterdam to Hong Kong and from Barcelona to New York, the ambiance is personalized with an elegant wall decor. A continental breakfast buffet is served each morning from 07:00 until 10:00. There are vending machines featuring drinks and snacks in the lobby and free newspapers. The reception is open 24 hours a day and has a ticket service. Luggage storage is also available. Public parking is available 300 meters from the hotel for an additional fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Davout Nation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Paris
Comfort Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing