We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse
Ranked #1,283 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Upon arrival at 1pm, the lady at the desk said our room would not be ready until 2pm. So we went across the street to eat and came back at 2pm. The lady was unfriendly checking us in, and 3 other couples came back to check in. The lobby is so narrow, she became easily frustrated that we all were trying to check in at the same designated time. Next, the wi-fi was not working, and she made it seem like a huge hassle getting her to "fix" that. The Wi-Fi only works for 15 - 20 minutes before it logs you out and then you have to log in again, and again...

Our room was nice and clean, but the service is awful! The include breakfast is very small in variety, not worth to pay extra for. The location is very good, near metro stops, but I would find a different hotel next time. I did not feel that that this hotel was a good value at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spunkidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Spunkidoo,
Many thanks for this review !
Please accept our apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
The check in time is for us a very important moment and we always try to welcom the guest carrefully.
If there is a lot of guest in the same time we try to make the procedure as quickly as possible as we don't want you waiting to much time.
Our lobby is not very large for 8 people (I agree) but enought large to bring you our full attention.
Best regards.
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    125
    72
    30
    21
See reviews for
42
135
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed two nights at this Best Western hotel. The experience was pretty disappointing; from dirty room to unhelpful staff.

To itemise:
1) our first point of contact with the staff was arriving around 10am after a full night of travel and asking if our room could be prioritised so that we could check in before 2pm. I've worked in a 4* hotel myself and the rule of thumb is to try and help a guest even if you have to move some pieces around to make it happen. No such luck here. Asking about it, we were told by young man at reception to come back at two and "maybe room is ready at two thirty". This was obviously unacceptable to us since the booking clearly states check in starts at two. Challenging the member of staff on this point, he finally conceded that we could maybe come back ten to two. Ok, so no help here.

2) having returned in the afternoon, we got into our room only to find it dirty and uninviting. I have attached photos to this review.
* the shower cubicle was filthy with horrible orange stains running along the sides of it and between the wall tiles.
* of the two drinking glasses left into our room one clearly had been used as it had a thick yellow residue at the bottom of it. It had just been turned around and left for us to reuse!
* on the wall, there was a large smudge of what I suspect at one point was some kind of bug.
* on the floor, there was an abundance of previous guest's nail
clippings!!
* even our toiletries looked grimy and smudged, inviting no willingness to use the soaps offered.
3) when we asked man at reception to get someone to hoover our room and give us clean glasses, he treated us as if we were asking for some massive additional favour. He did not apologise or say he was sorry the room was filthy. When we got back we found the nail clippings untouched, glasses untouched, but a couple of plastic mugs brought in.

All in all, I cannot recommend this hotel whatsoever - the location is convenient, but it's just not worth it. We slept two nights in a bed wondering if the sheets had been changed. Paris is lovely but you want to come back after a busy day and relax - not worry about dust and dirt causing your asthmatic friend to cough and sneeze.

Terrible, Best Western, absolutely terrible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rontti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Rontti,
I am very disapointing reading your review and very surprised. If you have a look into all our reviews, you can read that my staff is very helpful with all the guest.
I don't know exatly what's happened but Of course please accept my apologize.
Maybe you spoke at arrival with my collegue who is a new boy at the reception and also a trainee very nice but a little stress so... I am sure he did not want to be rude with you.
Regarding the room, it is unacceptable for a Best Western Hôtel and I will resolve this problem very quickly.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Regards.
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights with my partner. It is in the heart of everything..there are many restaurants on your doorstep (italian, french, seafood, Indian) as well as bars (happy hours from 5.30pm until 7.30pm). There is also lots of shops just up the street including a department store with all french brands and designer brands (Ralph Lauren..Burberry...). Metro also a couple of minutes walk from hotel.
The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but this is expected in Paris, each has a nespresso machine which is a nice touch. The breakfast was lovely, fresh coffee, breads, croissants, hams, cheeses, yoghurts, cereals etc..
I would defintely stay here again as it is in a great location to all major sites and good for having so many close restaurants for the evening if you didnt want to venture too far from hotel at night.

Room Tip: Possibly choose a room at the back of hotel as it can be noisy at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinkerbell24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. The location was really good, a few minutes walk from the airport bus to CDG and the metro, and also within walking distance of the nice bars and restaurants of St Germain. Within about half an hour walk of Musee d'Orsay, the Louvre, Notre Dame, Jardins de Luxembourg.

The hotel staff were very friendly. The room was small but was clean and had everything we needed, including free wi fi. Main issues were the noise, particularly the trains passing underneath the hotel which you can feel, and also street noise. Our air con stopped working, we were told this was because it wasn't warm enough outside, but it did mean the room was very stuffy, or noisy because we had to keep the window open.

Overall, it wasn't a bad price for a Paris hotel and perfectly acceptable but probably better for a short stay.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the back of the hotel it might be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently spent two nights at Best Western Montpasnasse and enjoyed it. Located in the heart of Montparnasse, close to the Gare de Montparnasse, Metro and Air France Coach service, this is at good choice for this part of Paris.
Rooms are well designed and elegant, bur rather small. Staff is friendly and helpful. Enjoyed it!

Room Tip: If you like, ask for a room at the back. Less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

6:42 p.m. on the evening of Thursday, March 21, 2013. I had reserved and paid a roomat the Best Western Montparnasse for that night. At my arrival at the reception, the gentleman attending told me without giving me any explanation that my room is in the hotel next door because they had no available rooms at the Best Western. Before doing anything else I went to the hotel I was told to check it out. It turned out it was a 2 star hotel and not a 3 star. I felt cheated, they had sent me to another hotel of inferior category, with no explanation, for a room I had paid.

I immediately went back in the Montparnasse hotel Best Western because the service I paid it was a night in a three star hotel, the Best Western Montparnasse and not a two-star hotel. Once back at the reception, the treatment received by the gentleman taking care of it was absolutely deplorable. He literally told me I was annoying and he did not like my attitude. I certainly had an attitude of discontent after not receiving the service I had paid for, but never rude, inappropriate or impolite. To be told in such a situation that I was an annoying client is absolutely disrespectful.

I told him I'd pay a three star Best Western service and if that service wasn’t available, I had the right to go to a hotel with at least the same category, three stars. Again, at that moment he told me that he was not responsible and did not like my attitude. It was at that time he called the management of the hotel, you. At the end of the phone call with with the manager, he told me there were no hotels available, and I either did go the hotel next door or I canceled the paid reservation with the Best Western and on my own find another hotel for that night. What's worse, I had to deal with the refund from the travel website where I purchased the service.

At that moment I left the hotel with not an extra word and went to the hotel next door, humiliated, helpless and totally mad.

1. I paid for a room in the Best Western that I was never given
2. I was sent to a lower class hotel without any explanation
3. I was told that I was an annoying customer and received an inconceivable treatment from the person who was in the reception at the Best Western
4. Nobody apologized, nor the gentleman at the reception, neither you when you had the chance to do it over the phone

Once I had checked in at the other hotel, the receptionist received a call from your employee at the Best Western in which he offered me one free night hotel at the Best Western during my next visit to Paris. At that point it was too late, besides I don't often travel to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aacastellarnau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Alex,
Au nom de toute l’équipe de l’hôtel et bien sûr personnellement, je vous prie de bien vouloir accepter toutes nos excuses.
Vous aviez réservé une chambre dans notre établissement et suite à un problème technique de dernière minute, nous avons été dans l’obligation de vous reloger dans un autre hôtel. Notre choix sur l’hôtel était justifier sur notre volonté de vous reloger dans la même quartier que notre hôtel (Gare Montparnasse) dans le cas ou la proximité de cette gare était absolument nécessaire pour vous.
C’est vrai que cet hôtel n’est pas du même standing que le nôtre et à ce titre j’avais laissé pour consigne à la réception que votre nuité vous serait offerte. Malheureusement, le réceptionniste qui vous a accueilli était nouveau et ainsi ne vous a pas communiqué toutes les informations.

A nouveau je vous prie de croire en notre profond chagrin de n’avoir pu vous satisfaire.
Je vous renouvelle mon offre de revenir dans notre établissement à titre gracieux, même si vous ne voyagez pas souvent à paris cette offre sera toujours valable.

Cordialement.

Caroline Jeanbaptiste.
Directrice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in Montparnasse for 4 nights In January. Best Western was situated in the heart of Montparnasse, with easy walk to many restuarants, public transport and within walking distance to the eiffel tower and other main attractions. We stepped off the metro and it was right there! The staff were were friendly and spoke good english which relly helped us. Rooms were smallish, but comfortable as we didnt spend a great deal of time in the rooms, and for the price they were great. One of the days we werent given any towels in our room by the staff, we received floor mats instead! We made do with them but would have been nice to have fresh towels after a long day of sightseeing!
We had breakfast in the hotel one morning, we were a little confused if we were having the express breakfast or the buffet breakfast, as it was not asked of us which one we wanted, we were just seated and served. Turns out it was buffet but didnt find out until later on, so it was more expensive. But a nice breakfast. The other mornings we ate out for breakfast. It was very cold the days we stayed in Paris, the hotel provided us with umbrellas which were very useful. We were a bit concerned about being a little bit away from everything, but if you are prepared to do some walking back and forth (30 min walk to Eiffel Tower), or pay for regular metro rides, its a great place to stay.
It is located right above the metro, so you could often hear the trains leaving the stations which was a little annoying, luckily it didnt go on into the night so didnt cause us to miss out on any sleep, but if you are looking for a quiet location, this may not be the one for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
BEST WESTERN Bretagne Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
BEST WESTERN Aurore
BEST WESTERN Aurore
#1,294 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Champs-Elysees
BEST WESTERN Plus Elysee Secret
BEST WESTERN Plus Elysee Secret
#1,150 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Opera / Bourse
BEST WESTERN Gaillon Opera
BEST WESTERN Gaillon Opera
#1,160 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse

Property: BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse
Address: 37 boulevard du Montparnasse | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,283 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Boulevard du Montparnasse, just a short walk from the Montparnasse TGV (high-speed train) station and the legendary Saint Germain des Pres, within a district bursting with history, discover the BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Montparnasse! At the Hotel, you can enjoy designer decoration and high-end services: individual air-conditioning, free Wifi throughout the hotel, soft quilts for a refreshing night's sleep. You will also find those "little extras": Espresso machine, I-podTM dock, 32" LED TV and safe. The bathrooms have relaxing "rain" showers, handy hairdryers and anti-steam mirrors to save time. The Hotel Le Montparnasse is a 5-minute walk from the Air France terminal, with direct links to the Roissy Charles de Gaulle and Orly airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Le Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Montparnasse Hotel Paris
Montparnasse Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Montparnasse
Comfort Inn Paris
Paris Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing