We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”
Review of Hotel Edouard 6

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Edouard 6
Ranked #567 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights for a long weekend away. The hotel is in a really good location right by Montparnasse station and is within walking distance of plenty of shops, restaurants and the main attractions.

Our room was a really good size overlooking the road. But despite some of the reviews on here we didn't have any problems with noise.

The staff are really helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place for a short stay in Paris!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_edouardvi, Responsable réception at Hotel Edouard 6, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Kathryn,

Comments like yours make us proud and motivated to keep welcoming guests in the most friendly, helpful and professional manner.

We loved having you as a guest, and we are looking forward to hosting you again, in your eventual future visit to Paris.

In the name of all Staff Members and The Management, we wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 303 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The location is near metro station, tour montparnasse and restaurants (McD also if you don't know what to eat)

The staff is very helpful, but the elevator only fits 2 person with 1 backpack and 1 luggage. The room is very tiny but that doesn't matter for me. Bathroom well furnished.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Innes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_edouardvi, Responsable réception at Hotel Edouard 6, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Innes,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy that you were pleased with our location, which we also reckon to be a plus for us. We hope that you were able to go to the top of our "neighbor" Tour Montparnasse, where glamorous Paris stands before you, including the Eiffel Tower.

In our Hotel we have different categories of rooms. The more spacious are the Superior ones and you booked a Standard one.

Furthermore, we are happy that you found our staff helpful, as the best customer service is the top priority for us.

Looking forward to seeing you again in your next visit to Paris!

In the name of all Staff Members and The Management, we wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after reviewing many options. It turned out to be what we wanted and more. We were there for a 1 week vacation may 12-19th. The location, surrounded by great cafe's and a bakery with great coffee around the corner was perfect. The staff was exceptional and very professional, always ready and willing to help with suggestions, directions etc. This home base for the week made my first experience in Paris a wonderful vacation. The metro is located very nearby and neighborhood seemed very safe. I would be tempted to stay in another neighborhood when I return but it will be very difficult not to return to this great little spot. Special thank you to Stevens and Wilson.

Room Tip: Rooms very nice but small, but I understand they mostly are in paris. The bonus was the French door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed in November 2013. I would argue that this hotel is best value for money. The room was small but cosy, very well designed and furnished. We stayed in bigger rooms and in hotels with more stars, but my wife called this hotel one of the most comfortable we have stayed in.
the room was warm, well lit, quiet (no noise from the street, corridor or neighbours. There was nice view from the window.
The hotel literally located on an underground station, 200 metres from train station, 300 metres from French Waitrose (Monoprix).
Very happy with the stay, will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZVAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was a great hotel for the price we paid. The location of the hotel was fantastic, especially with the metro station right outside the door (You can hear the Metro but I'm a heavy sleeper so it didn't matter at all to me). The room was small but most places are in Paris. The hotel and room were clean. We were on the fifth floor and had a balcony overlooking the large intersection which is nice for people watching. In general we were very happy with the Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_edouardvi, Responsable réception at Hotel Edouard 6, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel and for your nice comment.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you particularly appreciated the hotel location.

We hope to welcome you again in the future if you were to come back to Paris again,

Warm Regards,

The Front Desk / Hôtel Edouard VI***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is passable, receptionists are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are not small they are rather tiny staying in a twin room we did not have enough space for our luggage or to move both at once! the rooms are clean however the hotel is right next to the metro so you can't really sleep for the sound and the room starting shaking whenever the metro passes by which is every 5 mins
Location is good close to notre dame and ofcourse the metro station

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lb-Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_edouardvi, Responsable réception at Hotel Edouard 6, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Madam,

We thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated the hotel location and the helpfulness of the staff.

We are however sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience because of the outside noises and the lack of space in your room.

We encourage you to ask us for a room on the courtyard (that which will be quieter) or to book a Superior room (which is bigger than the one you had) next time you're coming to our hotel.

We thank you again for your stay with us and hope to welcome you another time in the future,

Best Regards,

The Front Desk / Hôtel Edouard VI***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

There are a lot of good things about this hotel and a few bad ones that are strong detractors. I wish I could give it a 3.5 stars. We stayed for 5 days over Christmas.
Good:
Centrally located and steps away from the metro (with several lines of service to major tourist attractions).
Good restaurants and decent shopping nearby.
Friendly staff with pretty good English.
Average - above average "newness."
Very clean.
Good price point when booked in advance.
Lots of storage area.
Bad:
Outside noise & other stimuli. Let me preface this by saying I've lived within a block of 1 hospital and within a half mile of another. Noise generally doesn't bother me. However, our room was on the 3rd floor and there was LOTS of noise. Additionally, there are big flashy signs on a lot of the nearby buildings. Use the blackout curtains.
There was little replacement/refreshment of toiletries. Also, we had a washcloth on arrival and had it in the pile to be replaced. We never got another washcloth the entire trip.
People from neighboring bars/restaurants tend to smoke in the little nook created by the hotel entrance. It's annoying and off-putting.
Things of note:
The lift is microscopic. Big enough for me and my bag. Or me and my husband. That's it. Stairs are spiral and they kind of make me dizzy. So just be aware.
Yes, you can hear the metro underneath. On the 3rd floor, it was more like distant thunder. Lower floors, I'm sure are worse.

Overall, it was satisfactory. I wouldn't say there was anything to make me say it was "very good," but I would say it was "above average."

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_edouardvi, Responsable réception at Hotel Edouard 6, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Madam,

We thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Paris and for taking the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you appreciated the hotel location, the staff friendliness and the cleaness of the rooms.

However we are sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoyed your stay with us,notably because of the outside noises.
If you wished to come back to our hotel, we have calm rooms on the courtyard that you can book instead of a room with a steet view so don't hesitate to directly email us or call us and we will make sure to give you a room which will be suited to your preferences this time round.

Moreover we would like to apologise if the toiletries weren't replaced as often as they should have been and wished you let the reception know as they would have adressed this issue to make your stay more pleasant.

We hope to welcome you again in the future and wish you a happy new year!

Best Regards,

The Front Desk / Hôtel Edouard VI***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
#554 of 1,804 in Paris
573 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Mayet
Hotel Mayet
#700 of 1,804 in Paris
53 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#175 of 1,804 in Paris
1,129 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Atelier Saint-Germain
Atelier Saint-Germain
#1,144 of 1,804 in Paris
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edouard 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edouard 6

Address: 61 boulevard du Montparnasse, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#624 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $116 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edouard 6 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME in EDOUARD VI Montparnasse HOTEL Enjoy your stay in an nice old artistic and intellectual district! Painters, writters , A CENTRAL AND ALIVE LOCATION ,AUTHENTIC PARISIAN LIFE FOR YOU ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edouard 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edouard Vi
Edouard Vi Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing