We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned out to be a perfect hotel”
Review of Hotel Edouard 6

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Edouard 6
Ranked #560 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after reviewing many options. It turned out to be what we wanted and more. We were there for a 1 week vacation may 12-19th. The location, surrounded by great cafe's and a bakery with great coffee around the corner was perfect. The staff was exceptional and very professional, always ready and willing to help with suggestions, directions etc. This home base for the week made my first experience in Paris a wonderful vacation. The metro is located very nearby and neighborhood seemed very safe. I would be tempted to stay in another neighborhood when I return but it will be very difficult not to return to this great little spot. Special thank you to Stevens and Wilson.

Room Tip: Rooms very nice but small, but I understand they mostly are in paris. The bonus was the French door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 311 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed in November 2013. I would argue that this hotel is best value for money. The room was small but cosy, very well designed and furnished. We stayed in bigger rooms and in hotels with more stars, but my wife called this hotel one of the most comfortable we have stayed in.
the room was warm, well lit, quiet (no noise from the street, corridor or neighbours. There was nice view from the window.
The hotel literally located on an underground station, 200 metres from train station, 300 metres from French Waitrose (Monoprix).
Very happy with the stay, will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZVAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was a great hotel for the price we paid. The location of the hotel was fantastic, especially with the metro station right outside the door (You can hear the Metro but I'm a heavy sleeper so it didn't matter at all to me). The room was small but most places are in Paris. The hotel and room were clean. We were on the fifth floor and had a balcony overlooking the large intersection which is nice for people watching. In general we were very happy with the Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_edouardvi, Responsable réception at Hotel Edouard 6, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel and for your nice comment.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you particularly appreciated the hotel location.

We hope to welcome you again in the future if you were to come back to Paris again,

Warm Regards,

The Front Desk / Hôtel Edouard VI***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is passable, receptionists are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are not small they are rather tiny staying in a twin room we did not have enough space for our luggage or to move both at once! the rooms are clean however the hotel is right next to the metro so you can't really sleep for the sound and the room starting shaking whenever the metro passes by which is every 5 mins
Location is good close to notre dame and ofcourse the metro station

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lb-Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_edouardvi, Responsable réception at Hotel Edouard 6, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Madam,

We thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated the hotel location and the helpfulness of the staff.

We are however sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience because of the outside noises and the lack of space in your room.

We encourage you to ask us for a room on the courtyard (that which will be quieter) or to book a Superior room (which is bigger than the one you had) next time you're coming to our hotel.

We thank you again for your stay with us and hope to welcome you another time in the future,

Best Regards,

The Front Desk / Hôtel Edouard VI***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

There are a lot of good things about this hotel and a few bad ones that are strong detractors. I wish I could give it a 3.5 stars. We stayed for 5 days over Christmas.
Good:
Centrally located and steps away from the metro (with several lines of service to major tourist attractions).
Good restaurants and decent shopping nearby.
Friendly staff with pretty good English.
Average - above average "newness."
Very clean.
Good price point when booked in advance.
Lots of storage area.
Bad:
Outside noise & other stimuli. Let me preface this by saying I've lived within a block of 1 hospital and within a half mile of another. Noise generally doesn't bother me. However, our room was on the 3rd floor and there was LOTS of noise. Additionally, there are big flashy signs on a lot of the nearby buildings. Use the blackout curtains.
There was little replacement/refreshment of toiletries. Also, we had a washcloth on arrival and had it in the pile to be replaced. We never got another washcloth the entire trip.
People from neighboring bars/restaurants tend to smoke in the little nook created by the hotel entrance. It's annoying and off-putting.
Things of note:
The lift is microscopic. Big enough for me and my bag. Or me and my husband. That's it. Stairs are spiral and they kind of make me dizzy. So just be aware.
Yes, you can hear the metro underneath. On the 3rd floor, it was more like distant thunder. Lower floors, I'm sure are worse.

Overall, it was satisfactory. I wouldn't say there was anything to make me say it was "very good," but I would say it was "above average."

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_edouardvi, Responsable réception at Hotel Edouard 6, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Madam,

We thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Paris and for taking the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to hear that you appreciated the hotel location, the staff friendliness and the cleaness of the rooms.

However we are sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoyed your stay with us,notably because of the outside noises.
If you wished to come back to our hotel, we have calm rooms on the courtyard that you can book instead of a room with a steet view so don't hesitate to directly email us or call us and we will make sure to give you a room which will be suited to your preferences this time round.

Moreover we would like to apologise if the toiletries weren't replaced as often as they should have been and wished you let the reception know as they would have adressed this issue to make your stay more pleasant.

We hope to welcome you again in the future and wish you a happy new year!

Best Regards,

The Front Desk / Hôtel Edouard VI***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

no one talk a really good english. not so helpful when you need information on airports and shuttles. cleaners knock on the door every early morning allthough we had told them we do not want any cleaning and any one to disturb us. we forgot 3 items in the hotel and when we went back to get one of them that we remembered about at the time, they did not tell us that they have also found other times in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi_sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_edouardvi, Directeur général at Hotel Edouard 6, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you again for staying in our hotel and for your comment.

We are sorry if you didn't appreciate the quality of our service as we always have our clients' best interest at heart.
We regret you didn't inform us how you felt during your stay with us.

(Moreover our team has been working in the hotel for a very long time and we have never received any complaints regarding missing items).

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I travel to Paris every March since 2011, and every time I choose this hotel. It is well located not far from the city center which is easily reachable by 10-15 minutes walking. Also the big Gallery Lafayet is located nearby. Metro station Montparnasse is also 3 minutes walking. Way to CDG airport takes around 1 hour. Rooms are small but enough for 1 person.. Breakfast could be better for such value.

Room Tip: Choose the room with windows to the inner yard since the rooms with windows to the street are quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_edouardvi, Responsable réception at Hotel Edouard 6, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Madam,

We would to thank you for choosing once again our hotel for your stay in Paris.

We are glad to hear about your comments and will keep them in mind, especially concerning the breakfast quality which we aim to improve.

We will be happy to welcoming you next time you come to Paris,

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Atelier Saint-Germain
Atelier Saint-Germain
#1,160 of 1,804 in Paris
274 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
#546 of 1,804 in Paris
582 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#411 of 1,804 in Paris
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Mayet
Hotel Mayet
#756 of 1,804 in Paris
60 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#175 of 1,804 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#189 of 1,804 in Paris
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edouard 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edouard 6

Address: 61 boulevard du Montparnasse, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#623 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $108 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edouard 6 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME in EDOUARD VI Montparnasse HOTEL Enjoy your stay in an nice old artistic and intellectual district! Painters, writters , A CENTRAL AND ALIVE LOCATION ,AUTHENTIC PARISIAN LIFE FOR YOU ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Edouard 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edouard Vi
Edouard Vi Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing