We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation in some rooms, noisy! Manager says he doesn't care...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Paris Centre Eiffel Tower Hotel
Ranked #558 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is ok and the location is by the Eiffel Tower. Subway and train stations are within a short walk. We had problems with the breakfast we paid in advance. Some days would be what we paid for (in the individual room), somedays in the collective room (a cheaper version) for groups of tourists travelling together. There's a renovation going on in some rooms in some floors. I'm travelling with my family (wife and baby) and today we're woken up at 10 AM with the noise of hammers and drills. Called the manager and he told me "There's nothing we can do". The hotel and its staff said or did nothing: no warning in advance, never said "we're sorry" and no new offerings. I made a video IN the room where you can hear the noise and the disrespectful attitude of the hotel's manager. Simple as that: on social media times, you make videos and post online! I'll leave the link online shortly. This hotel is a #FAIL.

Room Tip: Kind of funny when the manager refuses service to its clients... choose another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCtrTourEiffel, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Centre Eiffel Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your post. I can't even begin to describe how disappointing it is to learn about what happened. Although we did conduct exceptional construction works on one floor this week, the attitude you describe is unacceptable and I will be sharing your feedback with the rest of our management team. Please contact me directly at H2175-SE@accor.com with more details about this event and I will definitely get back to you shortly.
Looking forward to your email,
Laurent Mauguit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,200 - 2,206 of 4,785 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very close to Eiffel Tower and Seine River, rooms small but comfortable, but desk staff not too good. Were with tour group but couldn't get the rooms straight and kept many of us waiting way too long to check in. Without our French tour guide we would have been in trouble. Not in a hurry to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigAlsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A modern looking hotel very near the Eiffel Tower. The room was clean, but not to my taste. I thought the mural behind the bed was tacky. The location is good for sightseeing. My opinion is that it is an average hotel for the for the money and location.

The breakfast is good, but expensive. They do offer rates with breakfast included. If you are a hearty breakfast eater, this may be a good deal. There is no made to order items, but the buffet offers variety and good quality.

Room Tip: There are rooms with views of the Eiffel Tower, but I didn't have one. I also didn't ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revakb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just came back from a two night break in Paris.. This hotel is in a great location if you want to visit the Eiffel Tower.. 2 minute walk. Also near by is a local supermarket and lovely cafes no more than 5 minutes walk away. Room was small but no more than what we needed as we didnt spend but time in it. Huge hotel so I would suggest staying here for a longer break as you are getting your moneys worth. Didnt eat in the hotel as it was VERY expensive and over priced- 19.5 euro each just for a buffet breakfast- much cheaper buying a few croissants from the super market and juice etc. Service was good but fairly slow, I think they were under staffed. You can also leave your bags here before and after check out free of charge which was handy. Overall great stay but shop around for cheaper places to eat!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

30 paces from Eiffel Tower. Queued at opening time 9.30 and at the top by 10am. Long queues otherwise. Clean modern room. Bbc news 24 channel and one cartoon channel in English. Could only move around our room one at a time when sofa bed opened for our daughter so we moved to a junior suite which had a separate bedroom but cost an extra 100 euros per night. Mini bar, safe, hair dryer, no iron or board. Storage lacking. One space for a suitcase. No chest of drawer. Space limited room to hang 6 items on hangers so if you have coats to hang very annoying. Lived out of suitcase. Shower good, shaving socket, shampoo and soap provided. No extra towel for daughter. Separate wc very small. View of tower from rooms ending 31 to 39. Higher the floor the better the view. Unmanned gym on 12th floor, treadmill, bike, instructions in French, best view of tower from here. Kettle in room but only two tea bags and two coffee sachets (nescafe) provided per day would have bought my own. Breakfast expensive 19.50 euros each but lots of choice, self serve, tea,coffee, juice, cereal, Alpen, cornflakes and coco pops, long life milk, fruit fresh and dried,, croissants, pain au chocolate, toast, bread, jam, honey, Nutella, scramble egg, bacon, sausages, pancakes, maple syrup, yogurts. There is a very expensive bar. Water is 5 euros!! There is a shop on rue dr sufferen where we bought a bottle of wine for the price they charge for a glass! Porter helpful and kept our luggage on our last day. Check in 3pm, check out 12 noon. Short walk to metro bik herkim and boat trip batobus nearby. Batobus stops at 8 different sights and you can hop on and off for 1 day. Boats come every 20 minutes. Disney store found at champs élysées. Great view at top of arc de triumph lots of steps to climb. Louvre closed every Tuesday. Mona Lisa Denton wing, first floor, room 6! Venus de milo Scilly wing. Metro handy, machine available for tickets. A book of 10 tickets is available to save you queuing up. One ticket needed per trip however long or short. Notre dame free entry lovely rose window. Long queue outside but moves fast. Long queue at tower outside to climb up and see the gargoyles. Aquarium just across the river from the hotel and carousel horse rides too. Crossing the road is a nightmare even when you have a green man they would still drive over you! Most restaurants speak English, we ate onion soup, omelettes, pasta, pizza, steak, chicken, and crepes. Eurostar excellent. Not many seats when waiting at gard de nord. Lots of dodgy looking people loitering around the station, be streetwise. When we arrived we went to the official taxi rank outside of the exit to your right. There were lots of touts asking if we wanted a taxi. Enjoy you trip. Get a junior suite if there is more than two of you or if you are staying for a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kilskeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCtrTourEiffel, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Centre Eiffel Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Jessica 140502,
Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad to hear that you the hotel's location made your journey to Paris a memorable one! Thank you also for your design feedback of your guestroom suite, I am sorry that you lacked storage space despite the cupboard. We chose not to install ironing boards in the rooms but note that they are always available upon request.
I am very concerned that you felt mineral water was overpriced: we sell it 5 euros at the bar and restaurant, and 3 euros at the front desk (to take away). However it is complimentary in the Junior Suite along with Coke, Diet Coke and orange juice.
We are very happy that the cleanliness was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our brand new bedding! If you are planning to be back in Paris I sincerely hope you will give us a chance to show you what we have done in improvements!
Warm regards,
Laurent Mauguit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel and were not disappointed. The location is great for public transport and just a few minutes walk from the Eiffel Tower. There are plenty of eateries close by.
Hotel staff were helpful, polite and welcoming. Our room was small but very comfortable and clean.
No complaints.

Room Tip: Not sure but you could probably get a view of the tower if you enquired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murielle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCtrTourEiffel, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Centre Eiffel Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Murielle60,
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am pleased to hear that you were well taken care of by our team! Your comments are very much appreciated and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back upon your next visit to Paris.
Laurent Mauguit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Location is brilliant just 2 mins from the EIffel Tower. Hotel and rooms are clean and staff on the whole are polite and helpful, however we did encounter one very rude man on reception who was not interested in helping us at all. Plenty of places to eat/ drink around. Would stay here again if coming back to Paris and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCtrTourEiffel, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Centre Eiffel Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Caroline P,
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at Mercure Paris Centre Tour Eiffel!
Your message has been forwarded to the teams, it is a true pleasure for us to know that you felt welcomed in a warm, modern and clean hotel! I am sorry to hear that one of our staff members attitude was not appropriate. It is not usual as our guest services agents are here to welcome, assist and advise you throughout your stay.
Believe that we are constantly finding ways to improve our customer experience; we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best regards,
Laurent Mauguit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Pullman Paris Tour Eiffel
#386 of 1,804 in Paris
2,381 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#330 of 1,804 in Paris
2,232 reviews
Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
Novotel Paris Les Halles
#340 of 1,804 in Paris
3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel du Cadran Tour Eiffel
Hotel Ares Paris
#78 of 1,804 in Paris
2,503 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
Hotel de Londres Eiffel
#28 of 1,804 in Paris
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Centre Eiffel Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Centre Eiffel Tower Hotel

Address: 20 Rue Jean Rey, 75015 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in Paris
#320 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#452 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $159 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Centre Eiffel Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Eiffel Tower and the Trocadero, the Mercure Paris Centre Tour Eiffel is a 4 star hotel to discover, in the center of Paris. Completely renovated, the hotel offers contemporary and functional rooms with free WIFI. For a business trip, family or a romantic weekend in Paris, the hotel offers standard rooms, Privileges rooms and Junior Suites, some with views of the Eiffel Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Paris Centre Eiffel Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Suffren Tour Eiffel Hotel Paris
Mercure Tour Eiffel Suffren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing