We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris Base Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ranked #795 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paris Base Camp”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Location a few metres from Gare du Nord make this easy to get to and travel to other parts of the city; as most wouldn't want to hang around this area for too long. Rooms a bit variable - mine smallish, dark and in need of decoration with only a shower room. Next door room at same price was a lot larger, lighter, newly painted and had full bathroom. All clean. Breakfast was OK - self service. Terrific little Carrefour just across the road means you can pick up water and provisions for days out. Looked a lot better than some of the other hotels on offer in the locality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chez-manoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    347
    169
    51
    32
See reviews for
148
288
66
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay in Paris and were very pleased we chose to stay at the Hotel du Nord. The location was perfect for us; near to the metro, excellent bars, eateries, shops, including brilliant bakeries. The hotel was situated near to the Canal Saint-Martin which was very picturesque. The room was very clean and perfectly adequate, Breakfast, if required was a good selection of croissants, fresh bread rolls, jams, lots of coffee and juice. The staff were friendly and attentive and the dog, Pluto gave the reception a friendly ambience. I wil return to this hotel if ever I am in Paris again which I hope I will be.

Room Tip: I am a very light sleeper, and asked for a room at the rear of the hotel. It was quiet. In the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Chose this hotel again for its close proximity to the train Station (within 5 min) perfect location and some nice eateries around this area too which aren't as expensive due to the area, tried my snails in this area woohoo! Hotel is clean and tidy breakfast was fine and service delightful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberlyjane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

There is a reason HÔTEL DE LA GARE DU NORD is so cheap (82EUR) – it is more like a backpacker’s special than a special deal. If the youth hostel is full, this is the next step up (down?).
Small, even by European standards, the management does not take the time or have the pride in their property to keep the rooms in good repair. We had mould along the baseboards, the outdated wallpaper was torn in several areas, there were gouges in the walls and the shower sprayed 75% down and 25% in every other direction. Air conditioning worked as long as you wanted it no cooler than 19C. We had a street side room which proved to be very noisy since Paris does not shut down, even in the less than desirable parts of town where we were located.
The front desk staff spoke passable English, and my French is barely passable, but no other staff spoke anything other than French – even staff who interacted with world travellers. Fair enough were in Paris, where the general attitude of the populace was egocentric at best, condescending towards all other living creatures, including their fellow Parisian.
The ‘Breakfast Bar’ (9EUR extra) - open 7am (or whenever they decided to open thereafter) until the latest at 10am (or wherever they decided to close) had coffee; as long as you wanted cappuccino, espresso, or café latte. If you wanted black coffee – go somewhere else. Scrambled eggs (advertised as omelette) were almost raw, and you could boil your own egg to your own specifications. Yoghurt was available as was packaged apple sauce.
If you want a wake-up call – be sure to write it down and give it to them. My 7:15am turned into 7:50am.
Being close to the train station is a bonus because you can take the Metro to everywhere.
Never, REPEAT, NEVER take a taxi in Paris. A 10EUR fare one day will be 30EUR the next, to and from the same locations. The Metro is 1.70EUR in each direction.
My recommendation is to spend the additional EUR and stay someplace where you can sleep comfortably, and where the homeless do not sleep on the street next door to the hotel – unless of course if you are backpacking through Europe, then this just might be your cup of tea.

HÔTEL DE LA GARE DU NORD
31 et 33, rue de Saint-Quentin, Paris
Tél. +33 (0)1 48 78 02 92
Fax +33 (0)1 45 26 88 31
http://www.gare-nord-hotel.com/home.html

Room Tip: Listen to your travel agent. Go ANYWHERE else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Mairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The young night shift receptionist ruined my stay and my visit to Paris.
We were staying: My wife and I in a double room, my three kids (one is 21, the second is 14 and my third Down syndrome kid is 13) in another room in a different floor.
The first night while going into the hotel, the receptionist asked me about our room numbers and we informed him.
At 2:00 a.m., I received a phone call from the receptionist asking me to go down as my Special kid was crying for over an hour at the reception, and he claimed that he was calling us for tens of time and that we were not answering.
I ran down the stairs quickly with my pajama, and didn’t find my son. The receptionist told me that my son was back to his room. I went up to my son and he explained to me: he had some leg pain, he went up to our room, knocked quietly at the door in order not to disturb anyone, when we didn’t hear him, he went back to his room, but the door was locked. He went, as a normal guest, to the receptionist asking him to go up to open his room door with the master key. The man didn’t agree so my kid started crying, till after few minutes he convinced the man and they went up and he opened the door to him.
I went back to the receptionist and I apologized for any inconvenience. But the man was very rude and accusing me that maybe I am coming from an uncivilized country, or maybe I am careless father and how come I was leaving a young kid alone in a room, or maybe I am a violent father and this is why my son was crying.
I was surprised from his non-professional attitude towards a guest, and refused his accusations and the way he was talking about me and about my son and about my country. I explained to him that this my 6th visit to France and my third family visit to Europe and that always my three sons stay in a separate room i.e. he was staying alone. While talking, I found the police coming into the hotel. The receptionist told me that he had to call the police because at first glance to his guest list, he didn’t notice any rooms in which my kid was registered, and then after he found out his and our room numbers he called us and we didn’t answer, he thought I am maybe a violent father and my kid was crying because he was afraid of me. He was in a panic so he called the police.
He met the policemen and talked to them in French in a very discriminative and rude and impolite and unacceptable way about me and my special son thinking that I do not understand French. After a minute of surprise and humiliation, I interrupted his speech telling the policemen that I speak and understand French. I clearly stated that I do not accept what he was saying or the way he was talking about me. The policemen were very understanding and decent, but they asked for my full name and birthdate; which till today I do not why, and they left.
After they left, the receptionist tried to apologize, and saying that he didn’t get the chance to meet me or to talk to me before this incidence, and that after talking to me he realized that I am decent person. Also, he confirmed that the police will do nothing.
Honestly, I felt bad and felt humiliated from a man his major objective for his guests should be to make their stay pleasant as much as he can.
Definitely I would never recommend this hotel to any of my family members nor to my friends nor to my business colleagues

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AKandil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated for Eurostar arrivals and all Paris transportation. The rooms are sufficient and well presented. The breakfast is unusually good for 'continental' expectations.
Reception staff are very attentive. Inevitably there is some city street noise and upper rooms are better to minimise this.
BUT BE VERY AWARE - this situation is at the heart of Paris crime and very many criminals feast off unwary travellers - especially Metro line B platforms, being overcrowded and popular with visitors to access other city destinations. Buses are far safer - avoid Metro.

Room Tip: Higher floors may reduce traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord La Fayette 10eme
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,266 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord
#1,111 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#418 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#181 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Paris Gare du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Paris Gare du Nord

Property: Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Address: 31 rue de Saint Quentin, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Gare Du Nord)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #795 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Paris Gare du Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Paris Gare du Nord hotel is opposite Gare du Nord train station, 5 minutes from Gare de l'Est train station and 30 minutes from Charles de Gaulle airport. The hotel is ideally located for visiting the main Parisian attractions: department stores,Opéra, Louvre, Champs Elysées, Eiffel Tower, Montmartre, Stade de France, Le Bourget and Disneyland. The hotel has fully renovated, air-conditioned rooms with WIFI. Snack bar available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Paris Gare du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Paris
Hotel Gare Du Nord
Comfort Hotel Gare Du Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing