We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in good location with very poor Internet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin
Ranked #645 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location with very poor Internet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Good for its class. Stayed three nights in very well equipped room. Hotel is in a lively neighbourhood that may not suit everyone, but close to Metro, plenty of restaurants in walking distance, and good for Eurostar. Breakfast good, but in Paris it is usually best to go out for breakfast, so only had it on first day. The only real problem was the speed and mechanics of the wireless Internet. Speed varied, sometimes being too slow to use and the log-on system required constant re-authentication. May not stay here again on business for this reason but otherwise a good hotel for its class.

Check in was problematic, but (believe it or not) this would not affect my decision to stay again. When asked (in French) if the receptionist spoke English we were met with derision and the comment that you are in France, why would I speak English? It may have been meant as humour, but at then end of a long journey it was not welcome. Pas de problem... Rudeness is expected in Parisian hotels and restaurants. The problem got worse when we were advised that we had only two rooms reserved when we had booked three. Our three rooms booking was clearly set out in the printed confirmation, written in English. Some wrangling then ensued, and the receptionist decided he could speak English. Only when I leaned over and pointed to the lines on the hotel booking screen that also showed our three rooms did the problem get resolved. Not a good start and not clear if it was typical Parisienne "attitude" or simply a problem with the individual concerned understanding the hotel reservation system!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank N E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    236
    64
    13
    8
See reviews for
48
271
37
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delft
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rooms are rather small, but very modern, new and clean. Try to find an affordable hotel with large rooms in Paris, anyway... Very silent, perfectly located in a very short walking distance from Metro line 4. The bed was comfortable, I slept like a baby. I did not try the breakfast, so no clue. Staff was rather kind, they helped me to print my ticket for Paris Photo which I purchased on-line. There is a computer with Internet at the reception, using was free of charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaborDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We walked from Gare Du Nord and we felt very vulnerable in the area around the hotel. It felt like a Harlem as there were a lot of people hanging around, appearing to be selling drugs and prostitutes on the corners.
We asked at reception to recommend a restaurant and were directed to an area where people had collapsed on the pavement, it was dark and there were groups of men glaring at us.
I'm not a timid person by any means but my wife felt very anxious.
The hotel itself is nice and the room small but modern. The shower has no door so the water goes all over the floor and there is no curtain at the window so everyone can see you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GAPrice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Was extremely pleased with this hotel, close to Metro, short walk to Gare du Nord and Gare De L'Est train stations, spotlessly clean, pleasant, extremely well trained and helpful multi-lingual 24/7 desk staff anxious to please you, trendy rooms with all the amenities you could ask for: Nespresso machine in room, I-pod dock, big screen TV, comfortable bed, great decor, great bathroom, very satisfactory breakfast in the basement. Excellent value and location for the money.

Do not let comments regarding neighborhood discourage you. It's simply a very conveniently located, working class neighborhood, and certainly better than many neighborhoods I have stayed in, while at major, high priced, brand name hotels in New York and San Francisco! Came and went all hours of the day and night and had no problems at all. Metro is a short one block walk away.

Note: Use your GPS on your phone when going to hotel. It is slightly hidden down a walkway (no auto access) in the middle of the block. Look for the white building with green planting in front, and Best Western sign --visible as you look down the passage. It is an easy walk from train stations, and metro stops (Chateau d'Eau or Strasbourg Saint-Denis) are each about 1-2 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfchiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked this based on cost and location - and of course a little look at trip advisor!! We travelled by Eurostar into Gare Nord and then walked to the Hotel (15mins). Easy to find with a bit of Bing Map usage! The hotel is in an Afro-Carribean area of Paris with loads of haidressers and beauty shops - this a cosmopoitan city - certaily nothing to be worried about. Location is excellent with easy access to Metro - Strasbourg Saint Denis just around the corner. We also booked L'Open tours (open top bus) again 10 min walk around the corner for nearest stop (56 on yellow route from memory) on Boulevard de Bonne Nouvelle. Book tickets on internet & hop on any but to get tickets. Getting on from this location takes you quickly to an interchange poiint where you can get on the green route for the BIGGIES. Hotel was bijou put perfectly formed - all rooms renovated. Yes we had a seperate loo (Someone had a little moan about this???) and shower - our daughter had one large bathroom with bath and loo (room 21). Breakfast all OK - standard continental in lovely breakfast room. We forgot our plu adaptor - no problem reception lent us one - ALL VERY POLITE AND HELPFUL (make the most of it you don't get this sort of service everywhere in Paris!!!). Bed was VERY comfortable had great nights sleep!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Room #47 was a brand new room - small but clean with a brandnew bed. The problem is the toilet is completely enclosed and separated from the rest of the bathroom - no window and faucet. The other part of the bathroom had the sink and the shower room. The bathroom window had clear glass and the curtain was sheer so that people in the neighboring bldg can see you when you are taking a shower. Another problem was that the sheer curtains are being held only by duct tapes so that the curtain kept falling on the floor. When taking a shower, we have to put off the light to have privacy. Another problem is that the shower area had no door or curtain so that the whole bathroom was getting wet. So many times I informed the management about the window curtain that kept falling and they advise us that they will attend to it the next day - we come back to our room at the end of the day and the curtain is still on the floor. We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and the curtain remained unfixed. Another frustration was the brandnew elevator brokedown on the second day of our stay. We had to use the fire escape stairs to go up and down to the fourth floor. Having osteo arthritis on my knees it was hell in going up and down through fire escape stairs. We were compensated with 3 free breakfasts for the 3 days the elevator was not working but I would rather have the comfort of the elevator for my knees.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jovysso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Small room you need to expect. My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on room #51, the top floor of the hotel. The double bed is comfortable for you to recharge yourself and the renovation is excellent. Not only the decoration is excellent, but also the geographical location you will give this hotel a star. It has at least 3 supermarkets and other shops nearby to replenish the necessities, e.g. water and chips. Also, it is close to the metro station to the central business district, airport and gare nu nord train station. Most important if you may need to move the luggage, you will consider this hotel is amazing good.

However, limited by the space, the toilet is small and no bath curtain. I always make it wet. The lift is small that can only handle 3 persons a time. And many gangs are gathered on the street all the time made me feel unsafe. But they are ok indeed.

Overall, it is an outperform hotel given the price I paid for them. Others can try it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
BEST WESTERN Aulivia Opera
BEST WESTERN Aulivia Opera
#841 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
BEST WESTERN Saint Martin Bastille
Opera / Bourse
BEST WESTERN Hotel Opera Drouot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Marais Grands Boulevards
Opera / Bourse
BEST WESTERN Anjou Lafayette Opera
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin
Address: 6 rue Gustave Goublier, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#353 Business Hotel in Paris
#508 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in your hotel the BEST WESTERN Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin. You'll be more than welcome to discover this hotel with the peas, nature or plums rooms! Discover as well the Bio Breakfast buffet! Be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Paris
Comfort Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing