We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Scary Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin
Ranked #800 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Scary Area”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We walked from Gare Du Nord and we felt very vulnerable in the area around the hotel. It felt like a Harlem as there were a lot of people hanging around, appearing to be selling drugs and prostitutes on the corners.
We asked at reception to recommend a restaurant and were directed to an area where people had collapsed on the pavement, it was dark and there were groups of men glaring at us.
I'm not a timid person by any means but my wife felt very anxious.
The hotel itself is nice and the room small but modern. The shower has no door so the water goes all over the floor and there is no curtain at the window so everyone can see you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GAPrice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    238
    66
    15
    9
See reviews for
49
274
38
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Was extremely pleased with this hotel, close to Metro, short walk to Gare du Nord and Gare De L'Est train stations, spotlessly clean, pleasant, extremely well trained and helpful multi-lingual 24/7 desk staff anxious to please you, trendy rooms with all the amenities you could ask for: Nespresso machine in room, I-pod dock, big screen TV, comfortable bed, great decor, great bathroom, very satisfactory breakfast in the basement. Excellent value and location for the money.

Do not let comments regarding neighborhood discourage you. It's simply a very conveniently located, working class neighborhood, and certainly better than many neighborhoods I have stayed in, while at major, high priced, brand name hotels in New York and San Francisco! Came and went all hours of the day and night and had no problems at all. Metro is a short one block walk away.

Note: Use your GPS on your phone when going to hotel. It is slightly hidden down a walkway (no auto access) in the middle of the block. Look for the white building with green planting in front, and Best Western sign --visible as you look down the passage. It is an easy walk from train stations, and metro stops (Chateau d'Eau or Strasbourg Saint-Denis) are each about 1-2 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfchiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked this based on cost and location - and of course a little look at trip advisor!! We travelled by Eurostar into Gare Nord and then walked to the Hotel (15mins). Easy to find with a bit of Bing Map usage! The hotel is in an Afro-Carribean area of Paris with loads of haidressers and beauty shops - this a cosmopoitan city - certaily nothing to be worried about. Location is excellent with easy access to Metro - Strasbourg Saint Denis just around the corner. We also booked L'Open tours (open top bus) again 10 min walk around the corner for nearest stop (56 on yellow route from memory) on Boulevard de Bonne Nouvelle. Book tickets on internet & hop on any but to get tickets. Getting on from this location takes you quickly to an interchange poiint where you can get on the green route for the BIGGIES. Hotel was bijou put perfectly formed - all rooms renovated. Yes we had a seperate loo (Someone had a little moan about this???) and shower - our daughter had one large bathroom with bath and loo (room 21). Breakfast all OK - standard continental in lovely breakfast room. We forgot our plu adaptor - no problem reception lent us one - ALL VERY POLITE AND HELPFUL (make the most of it you don't get this sort of service everywhere in Paris!!!). Bed was VERY comfortable had great nights sleep!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Room #47 was a brand new room - small but clean with a brandnew bed. The problem is the toilet is completely enclosed and separated from the rest of the bathroom - no window and faucet. The other part of the bathroom had the sink and the shower room. The bathroom window had clear glass and the curtain was sheer so that people in the neighboring bldg can see you when you are taking a shower. Another problem was that the sheer curtains are being held only by duct tapes so that the curtain kept falling on the floor. When taking a shower, we have to put off the light to have privacy. Another problem is that the shower area had no door or curtain so that the whole bathroom was getting wet. So many times I informed the management about the window curtain that kept falling and they advise us that they will attend to it the next day - we come back to our room at the end of the day and the curtain is still on the floor. We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and the curtain remained unfixed. Another frustration was the brandnew elevator brokedown on the second day of our stay. We had to use the fire escape stairs to go up and down to the fourth floor. Having osteo arthritis on my knees it was hell in going up and down through fire escape stairs. We were compensated with 3 free breakfasts for the 3 days the elevator was not working but I would rather have the comfort of the elevator for my knees.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jovysso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Small room you need to expect. My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on room #51, the top floor of the hotel. The double bed is comfortable for you to recharge yourself and the renovation is excellent. Not only the decoration is excellent, but also the geographical location you will give this hotel a star. It has at least 3 supermarkets and other shops nearby to replenish the necessities, e.g. water and chips. Also, it is close to the metro station to the central business district, airport and gare nu nord train station. Most important if you may need to move the luggage, you will consider this hotel is amazing good.

However, limited by the space, the toilet is small and no bath curtain. I always make it wet. The lift is small that can only handle 3 persons a time. And many gangs are gathered on the street all the time made me feel unsafe. But they are ok indeed.

Overall, it is an outperform hotel given the price I paid for them. Others can try it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Staff very helpful, our room had just been refurbished and was very good standard. One of the best value for money hotels I have stayed in paris in terms of the quality of the room and the helpfulness of the staff. Area is a bit grim but very good location for access to the metro and ease of access to the main centrally located sites. Will definitely stay there again if the early booking prices stay at similar levels.

Room Tip: Room 17 very good and no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our 4-night stay in this small but tidy hotel has been very pleasant. Yes, our room (#15) is small with limited storage space (anything more than 2 pieces of luggage - 1 big and 1 carry-on, is space challenged), but it is very efficiently utilized. The over-hanging rack and shelf help. More importantly the room is quiet (facing the court), clean with friendly hotel staff. Bathroom is separate with a bamboo curtain entrance. Like many European hotels, bath tub has a half-length clear glass partition as shower curtain purposes. There is also a tiny room just for toilet inside the bathroom. The free internet terminal is great for web access. The neighborhood is mixed and mostly African. My wife found it a bit intimidating, but not so for myself. They just huddle in groups staring at visitors when passing by, but they are never unfriendly. For the price and quality of services, we will not hesitate to come back or recommend the hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending with 5 are quiet e.g. 15, 25, 35 etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phileepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Best Western Aulivia Opera
Best Western Aulivia Opera
#954 of 1,801 in Paris
250 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Hotel Opera Drouot
Bastille / Oberkampf
Best Western Saint Martin Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#450 of 1,801 in Paris
844 reviews
Entrepôt
Best Western Premier Faubourg 88
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Anjou Lafayette Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin

Property: Best Western Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin
Address: 6 rue Gustave Goublier, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#353 Business Hotel in Paris
#507 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in your hotel the BEST WESTERN Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin. You'll be more than welcome to discover this hotel with the peas, nature or plums rooms! Discover as well the Bio Breakfast buffet! Be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Fastbooking, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Faubourg Saint-Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Paris
Comfort Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing