We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris- Hotel des Comedies”
Review of Hotel des Comedies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Comedies
Ranked #311 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great 3 night stay here. First time to Paris from Australia, Staff very helpful and English speaking. Rooms clean and modern. Easy to get around here. Good shopping and sights. Watch out for pick pockets on Troccoderro Tube Line to Eiffel Tower. Great local eateries walking distance.

Room Tip: Family room very comfortable for 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear guests,
We would like to thank you very much for your kind review you wrote about our hotel on this webpage. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course we would be very happy to welcome you back some day for your next trip to Paris. Yes in Paris there are some picpockets as in many big cities but the police take well care in this famous metro stations as they want to take well care of the tourists.
We wish you a wonderful 2013 and all the best and happyness.
Kind regards from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Matthieu and Jhonny - Night Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 591 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Can not recommend this hotel highly enough, it is in a great location and the rooms were stylish and very clean. I stayed for one night with six friends in two twin rooms and one triple all of which were of the same high standard. All the staff were very helpful especially the lovely Lily who recommended at great restaurant, printed off the menu (and translated it) booked the table and organised taxis - nothing was too much trouble. If I return to Paris I would here stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire9820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Ladies,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel. Of course it was all our pleausure to welcome all of you in our hotel. We love having such nice and friendly guests in our hotel! Thank you so much for all your laughs which was changing our working day too.
Of course we are happy to read that we were able to help you during your stay with us. We all would be very happy to welcome you back some day for your next lady trip to Paris in our little hotel des Comédies.
In the meantime we wish all of you a wonderful year of 2013 and just the best.
Many greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci, Charlotte and Lily - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had a wonderful time at the Hotel des Comedies. The staff was warm, welcoming and knowledgeable. The room was cozy and efficient (the only thing it lacked was a dresser or armoire to put away your clothes.) The neighborhood was very convenient - plenty of restaurants, cafes & a Starbucks! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasheen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel. It was all our pleasure to welcome you in our little hotel des Comédies. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to come back. Of course we would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future.
Until this day we wish you all the best for this new year 2013 and good luck.
Kind greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was a nice little hotel in a great location in Paris. The rooms were comfortable (albeit smallish) and everything was clean and in working order. The staff were very friendly (especially Sandra, such a lovely lady!) and helpful. There are Metro stations very close by, and a grocery shop just across the road. If you don't mind a bit of walking you can even walk to the 1st arr. (~2.5km walk). The only thing was some noise out in the street during the night, but this didn't bother us too much. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley_4787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear lady,
First of all I would like to thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Normally there is no problem for the noise because we even have electrical stores which keep the noise away but sometimes our guests don't pay attention unfortunately but we will try to tell our guests more often.
But I would also thank you very much for the personal note you wrote about me. I still remember
you very well and it was all my pleasure welcoming you in our little hotel des Comédies.
We would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future for your next trip to Paris. Until this day we wish you a wonderful 2013 and good luck.
Many greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Jhonny and Matthieu - Night Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stood here for the New Year holiday and since this was a last minute trip idea, chose this hotel for the reviews and price.
The good:
-location near metro and 2 local markets (it's in the theater district, 10th district).
-beds are comfy and room size-able for 3 people(meaning they don't just shove a prison mattress into a small room, call it a triple and charge you an extra 85 Euros a night like some hotels do!)
room is a legit triple room.
Parking garage next door for 19 euro a day, hotel rate.

The bad:
Soundproofing, it's there but not your double pane glass soundproofing and the wall are very thin. I'll preface it by saying I am a light sleeper and will wake up if I hear a mouse fart. So when we got back from doing the usual New Years on Champs Elysee walk at 1:30 AM, we were tired and ready to fall asleep. Not so for me, because there was a party next building over.

Every 15 minutes a drunk would scream and at 0530 when everything quieted down for a second I thought it was over, not close, they set off some big firecrackers! finally after having stuck toilet paper in my ears (which did not help!) the party ended at 0700!! I didn't sleep a wink and when I asked the front desk for a late check out due to my misery and half-zombieness state, all they said was "fooly booked, fooly booked, sorry!"

Hotels fault? Not really, but don't advertise soundproof rooms when all you really have is the IKEA quality soundproofing. Especially on New Years!

Room Tip: If you can sleep with noise, book it. Charlotte in reception was a sweetheart. For Paris, this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your review about our hotel. As you well mentionned you stayed with us for the New Year's Eve and of course this is a special day in the year in every big city in the world. Of course there is more noise than usual so also in Paris. But all our windows are double glassed and we even have electrical stores to keep away any noise.
Of course as you well mentionned for noisy neighbours we are not responsable and even we call the police after it is up to them to take care of. But as it was new year's eve there was all over Paris party time in every place.
Also we try all the time to find the best solutions for our guests and as we were fully booked the next day we were unfortunately not able to give you the room for a late check-out as the rooms have to be ready at 1 pm four our new guests. Of course if we would have had any availabe rooms we would have loved to give you a late check-out.
Normally we are situated in a quiet little street and our guests don't have any problems with noise.
We hope that your next stay in Paris will be more pleasant and that you will enjoy our beautiful city Paris.
Kind regards
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Johnny and Matthieu - Night Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I found this nice little hotel to be very comfortable during my 5 nights stay in December.
The room was a bit small, but it had all the essentials. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet.
The breakfast buffet was ok.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is very well located, near the subway. It is well connected to all major attractions.
Overall I would recommend this hotel. I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nabila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for your kind review you wrote about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Paris. For a 3 star hotel in France we have the room sizes requred for each type of categorie of room. But of course for your next stay with us we would be very happy to propose you a bigger room with a better size. As we have 35 rooms we have a large choice of rooms which can make evrybody happy.
In the meantime we wish you all the best in this new year 2013.
Kind regards
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

By Parisian standards, Hotel Des Comidies is a gem! Here the rooms are of a decent size with tasteful decor and very clean! Bathrooms are also spacious so you don't feel like your in a broom closet! The staff are super friendly and helpful. The room had a nespresso machine and there were free croissants in the morning near reception. Also can't go wrong with the location, being just a stones throw away from the metro station. Having stayed here a couple of times now, Hotel Des Comedies is definitely my first choice in Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umeshsath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear guests,
What a wonderful message you wrote about our hotel, a big thank you for this. We are very
happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Paris. Yes our superior triple rooms they have a nespresso machine and also a kettle in the room. So our guests can have in the morning first a coffe or a tea before getting slowly up. We are also happy to read that you liked our location which is very central and I agree with you from here you can visit Paris easily in all directions.
We would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the close future for your next trip to Paris. In the meantime we wish you all the best for this year 2013 and good luck.
Kind greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Charlotte and Nicci - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Regina Opera
Hotel Regina Opera
#856 of 1,802 in Paris
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Gramont Opera Paris
Hotel Gramont Opera Paris
#417 of 1,802 in Paris
1,240 reviews
Hotel Provinces Opera
#1,110 of 1,802 in Paris
409 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
Emeraude Hotel D'Espagne
#449 of 1,802 in Paris
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Comedies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Comedies

Address: 8 rue d Hauteville | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $144 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Comedies 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Comedies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing