We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Comedies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Comedies
Ranked #219 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night break in Paris and we were really pleased with our choice of hotel. The hotel was spotlessly clean, staff friendly and helpful, decor was modern and rooms very reasonably priced. The location is perfect for Eurostar travellers. There is a large selection of places to eat nearby to suit every palate and budget - staff are happy to help you find one that suits you or you can just wander up and down the road and take your pick! Great shopping (and window shopping!) is within walking distance (or by metro if your legs aren't up to it!). We would definitely return here in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304 facing internal courtyard - very quiet and very comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anon1971_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guests,
What a wonderful message about our hotel you wrote, a big thank you for that. It was a big pleasure welcoming you in our hotel. Of course we are very happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We are just a little hotel and that is why we try to take well care of all needs of our guests. We want that they know whatever they need we are there to help them.
Of course we would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future for your next trip to Paris.
Until this day we wish you a wonderful x-mas and of course just the best things for 2013.
Many greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci, Charlotte and Samira - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    208
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
205
121
52
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Itala, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Really nice Hotel and lovely staff! The rooms are charming and the staff is as hellfull as possible. We were even assisted in finding a location for an additional night in another hotel with no problem at all!
We found the location of the Hotel perfect for visiting all the sights that interested us.
We hope we will be able to go back next year because Paris is fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vittorio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for your kind message about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Paris at our hotel des Comédies. It was all our pleasure to welcome you. We try very hard to do our best to make our guests feeling like at home with us. Of course it would be a real pleasure to welcome you back some day in the
future for your next trip to Paris.
In the meantime we wish you a wonderful x-mas and just all the best things for 2013.

Kind regards from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci, Charlotte and Samira - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

A delightful find in the heart of Paris. Newly renovated, the hotel is charming, small and most of all incredibly friendly and helpful. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Sandra and her team, all completed with smiles. Our room, 205, was very quiet, facing into the little courtyard, exactly as I had requested. Breakfast is generous and nicely presented. There are many good hotels in Paris, but I have never been somewhere with such charming staff, undoubtedly the 'unique selling point' of the Hotel des Comedies!

Room Tip: Rooms around the inner courtyard are very quiet, especially in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful review about our hotel. Of course we all
still remember you very well. It was such a pleasure having you with us and we are very happy that you have chosen our hotel. We try very hard to make our guests feeling like at home with us and so we want to be there for our guests whenever they need something.
We are happy that you apreciated our service and that you feeled home with us. Also we are happy
that we have some rooms on the back yard which are very quiet.
We would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future for your next trip to Paris. In the meantime we wish you a merry x-mas and all the best for the new year 2013.
Many greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci, Charlotte and Samira - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I can not say enough great things about my stay at this hotel.

Sandra, Nikki and Charlotte were all absolutely lovely, welcoming me and were kind enough to store my luggage prior to check in so I could go out and explore the city.

My room was lovely, well appointed and from what I have heard about Paris hotel rooms, probably on the larger side!

With free wifi, a great breakfast buffet and less than one minute walk to Bonne Nouvelle Metro station, this was a lovely and convenient place to stay, walking distance to several major attractions and the Metro is just there for those that are a bit further away!

Proximity to Gare du Nord station is brilliant, made for a quick and seamless transition from the EuroStar.

Could not recommend highly enough for value, service and location.

Thanks for a fantastic stay & I will certainly be staying here on my next trip to Paris!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear madam,
What else can we say than a huge thank you for your wonderful message about our hotel. Also of course we are very happy to read your kind words about us girls. It was so much fun chatting with you and taking care of your needs. As we are just a small hotel we try to take care what our guests might need and try to do our best that everybody is happy. We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel des Comédies and that you would like to come back for your next visit. Of course it will be with GREAT pleasure.
Until this day we wish you all the best and take care of yourself.
Many greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Johnny and Matthieu - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I do agree with all the reviews below, i stayed in this hotel with my wife and a 2 years old daughter , we all loved the hotel , they offered a free baby cot/crib , there's pizza hut and mcdonalds with a few steps from the hotel , a flower shop and carrfour city supermarket too. The hotel is close to the metro too , you can use the metro to go the the opra area ,its a place full of shopping centers , you can find the tax free office there where you can get a refund of your tax and vats you paid during your shopping at any of the shops that has a tax free logo, what makes the hotel more enjoying and friendly is the staff , the staff are the succes of the hotel for sure , they will help you with anything you ask for,they will offer you help even you didnt ask for , before i checked out they gave me a wake up call for the taxi they reserved for me at 6 am , thank you to everyone in hotel des comedies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iymen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you so much for your kind message. Of course we well remember you and it was all our pleasure to welcome you here. We are so very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course we try to make our best that our guests feel comfortable with us and also we try to treat them more than our friends.
We would be very happy to welcome you backk some day in the future for your next trip to Paris. Until this day we all wish you just the best things and take well care of yourselves.
Many greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spotlessly clean, bright bedroom. Super friendly reception staff, good location. Didn't opt for breakfast in the hotel as plenty of cafes nearby. Alot of nice restaurants in vicinity. Stayed in triple room on first floor with a large en suite. Great quality free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillydillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guests,
What a wonderful message you wrote about our hotel for which we would like to thank you very much. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also of course we would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future for your next trip to Paris. We try very much to do our best to make our guests feeling like at home and so of course we are happy to read that you were happy with our service.
In the meantime we wish you of course all the best and good luck.
Many greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This small hotel (35 bedrooms), just round the corner from Bonne Nouvelle metro station, has a large welcoming reception area with wide windows, light floor tiles and ample seating. The reception staff is very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in a tastefully designed, fairly spacious triple room with plenty of hanging space. The large double bed and a sofa bed had plenty of pillows and cushions, but there was no bed-side table for the sofa bed. The bathroom with bath tub and red-tiled floor was clean, cheerful and well equipped, and had ample space for toilet articles. The radiator could be turned on for 2 hours at a time, a useful and unusual feature.
The only criticism I have, is that there are no hooks, and that the shower screen is apparently not sealed properly, which means that accidental flooding when taking a shower is difficult to avoid.

The dining area is attractively decorated with nicely spaced out comfortable seating. The buffet breakfast is generous with lots of choice: pain au chocolat, croissants, pieces of plain and seeded baguette, brown sliced bread which can be toasted, cheese, fruit and pastries. Instead of the usual lukewarm hard-boiled eggs, there is an egg boiler which you can set to your own requirements.

There is a nice Italian restaurant (La Scala), recommended by the hotel, across the road in Bd de Bonne Nouvelle. The Opéra, Galerie La Fayette, Centre Pompidou, the Marais district and Gare du Nord are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: The triple room on the fourth floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B, Hotel Manager at Hotel des Comedies, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all a big thank you for your kind message about our hotel. It was all our pleasure welcoming you in our hotel and of course we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also we are listening to your remarks how to make some improovements in our bathrooms.We want that our guests feel like at home with us and so we try to find some solutions for any kind of remarks we get. I will check we can do in this matter but I would like to thank you for letting us know so we can change something for the better.
We are happy to read that you liked our buffet for breakfast with our large choice of fresh food.
It is always so nice to read that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and that is what we are looking for the most.
We would be very happy to welcome you back some day in the future for your next trip to Paris. Until this day we wish you all the best and of course good luck.
Many greetings from Paris
Sandra - Hotel Manager
Nicci and Charlotte - Reception
Matthieu and Johnny - Night Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
#220 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Mademoiselle
Hotel Mademoiselle
#252 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare de l'Est Francais
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#416 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Midnight Hotel Paris
Midnight Hotel Paris
#359 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Comedies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Comedies

Property: Hotel des Comedies
Address: 8 rue d Hauteville | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Comedies 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Comedies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing