We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Poor Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Ranked #854 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location Poor Hotel”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for four nights last week . We booked through Travel Republic at a price of £95plus a night. First impression, middleaged lady quite friendly, although English a little weak, the other reception staff we saw later, virtually no English and not as helpful. Room 37 very small , and bathroom not tired, the fittings were exhausted, toilet pedestal loose, fitted plug to sink not working, shower very erratic, from cold to boiling in seconds.Also not very clean. Breakfast OK but virtually served in the corridor, waitress can be grumpy. Location , local restaurants good and Metro very convenient, generally a nice area. Worst hotel we have stayed in for some years. However I suspect there are better rooms which have been refurbished. There seemed to be a couple of nice hotels up by the Panthenon try those as they are close. Hotel OK at £50 per night but no more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamarajorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    226
    134
    61
    37
See reviews for
69
246
39
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was my first trip to Paris, and I was very excited to be there. We had high hopes as the Latin quarter came highly recommended to us. Upon our arrival, the concierge made us wait a bit before he decided he would help us. He finally gave us the keys to our room, and briefly explained the breakfast and hotel ammenities. The room was not what we expected. It was VERY small, could barely fit 2 suitcases open on the floor. The bathroom was also very small, barely fit one person comfortably. The shower was not clean, there were ants all over the floor by the toilet, and mold in the shower. We were only in Paris for 4 days, so we decided to make the best of it. When asking for directions around Paris, one concierge was very rude and unfriendly. We tried our best to be polite, but he absolutely refused to help us or give us directions. He basically handed us a map and told us to figure it out. We had to deal with him a few more times, and he continued to be very rude to us. We had heard that French people were not always friendly to Americans, but he really was the only one that was rude to us during our trip to Paris. They also would not turn on the air conditioning, as it is controlled by the hotel staff and not in individual rooms, and it was around 80 degrees with full humidity. We could not really open windows because it rained a number of times and the front desk looked right up to our room.I would NOT recommend this hotel. We travelled to 3 other European cities, and this was by far the worst hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaFol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Good location and nice rooms. Most of the staff at the front desk are friendly.

Room Tip: Use Trip Advisor or other hotel service to book rooms to receive a better price. The Confort Inn we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_s638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great location: This hotel was a 5 minute walk to the Metro and about a 20 minute brisk walk to Notre Dame. Walking down the street to the right when exiting the building led to many restaurants, several outdoor crepe vendors and wonderful specialty shops (cheese, chocolates, wine, bread/pastry, meat). Walking to the end of the street (where it split at a "round-a-bout", with a church on the corner), we found an absolutely wonderful, small local restaurant/cafe/bar (can't remember the name, but it was on the left -- a larger restaurant was on the right) where people were playing a concertina, singing and dancing -- it was just fun, fun, fun, very very Paris.

The staff was fairly friendly (evening more so than the morning staff) and very helpful in answering questions.

Breakfast was included in the hotel room. It was typical European fare: breads/pastries, cheeses, meats, juice. Although there was not a huge variety of choices, the breakfast was quite adequate. Our only complaint was the tight quarters, which made it very uncomfortable to move around and get food (maybe that's the idea). There is little space for the number of tables and chairs, and the chairs are large, making the space seem even smaller.

The room (56) was an adventure -- there were a few good points and a few very bad points to the room. Good: The bed was very, very comfortable, and the room had a small window that had a decent view. Bad: The room was quite small, even by European standards. There were perhaps 18" between the foot of the bed and the wall. There was so little room on one side of the bed that we could not fully open the bathroom door -- the door opened halfway, then hit the bed. The bathroom was absolutely awful. It was clean, but it had a sewer gas smell and at times a musty/mildewy smell. We did not report this problem because we were exhausted after a long overnight flight and touring all day and we just wanted to sleep. It was 10:00pm when we got to the room and we couldn't even think of having to switch rooms (even if one was available). The smell didn't seep into the room, the bathroom door had to stay shut and we figured we weren't going to be spending a lot of time in the room, so we just dealt with the problem. The other major problem with the bathroom was the shower. It was tiny, tiny, tiny, and the doors opened inward, so it was very difficult to maneuver. The soap was small and the holder had slits rather than a solid bottom, so the soap fell numerous times during a shower. You had to be extremely short or a contortionist to pick up the soap during a shower. The water in the sink took about 5 minutes to drain after simply washing my face or brushing my teeth. One final note on the room -- the shows on the TV were reversed -- any writing we saw was backwards! We watched the TV about 20 minutes every night more out of curiosity than anything, so the reversion didn't matter to us. It was interesting, though . . .

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 56. We have no information regarding the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanP461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We use a hotel to sleep at, store some belongins, and take a shower. The remainder of our time we are out and about. Are you actually going to Paris to sit in a hotel and watch TV?

It is a safe hotel with great service in a great location. There is a metro station within a 5 minute walk. It is surrounded with great little restaurants and cafes.

No luxury to be found but all told we couldn't be happier and it didn't shatter our budget.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishPeac0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

If you want to spoil your trip stay in this horrible Hotel.
The rooms are too small, there's no air conditioning at all, the bathroom is so small that can not even turn inside it.
If you want to sleep a little but more in the morning after a night out, you will not be able. They keep knocking on the door every 20 minutes to clean it up. Even if you ask them to not disturb.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, SO CA USA
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We just returned home from our vacation to Paris, Lyon, and Alsace. We statyed here two nites in late April 2012....I feel compelled to rate this hotel, and wish to confirm this hotel's other recent review....This is not a good place.
If you wish to stay on or near the quaint and wonderful Rue Mouffetard area, don't waste your money here. Reading the previous post, I wish I would have checked out the room before settling in after a long trip from LAX. Not worth the money. We stay in lots of hotels in France, and realize that many are small. But this defined the definition of SMALL. THe bed took up nearly the entire floor space! If you dropped something on the floor, you thought twice whether or not you wanted to pick it up. (that says it all).
It appears to me that they could care less about one's visit, or to do a good job. We are finding that so many hotels nowadays are doing a great job to "EARN" good TripAdvisor reviews...not this place.

Room Tip: Just don't take a gamble - go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#581 of 1,801 in Paris
551 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
Hotel Maxim Quartier Latin
#1,214 of 1,801 in Paris
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#216 of 1,801 in Paris
294 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Arenes
Hotel des Arenes
#982 of 1,801 in Paris
444 reviews
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,236 of 1,801 in Paris
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5

Property: Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Address: 56 rue Mouffetard | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Formerly Comfort Inn Mouffetard/Latin Quarter)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #854 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in one of the oldest and most historically interesting districts in Paris : the Latin quarter. Rue Mouffetard dates back to when Paris was part of the roman empire. Located right in the heart of Paris’s nightlife, the Mouffetard quarter in the 5th district is steeped in centuries of history and is bustling with shops, restauraunts and bars all oozing with traditional Parisian charm. Find out more on the Paris Latin Quarter and rue Mouffetard The 5th arrondissement of Paris is bustling with life and activities The Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard is just a short walk away from the Panthéon, the Luxembourg Gardens, the Notre Dame Cathedral and the botanical gardens, so it’s ideally located for scenic walks. Our team is also on hand to help you plan your trip to the Château de Versailles or to Disneyland Paris. Find out more on Paris 5th arrondissement A quiet hotel with rooms overlooking the courtyard The hotel Mouffetard is an oasis of calm and relaxation in the heart of an animated quarter, right in the center of Paris. Thanks to it's construction around a courtyard, the 42 rooms, all decorated in relaxing colors, will guarantee you a peaceful night's sleep. Before setting off to discover the beauties of Paris, kick-start your day with a full buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mouffetard/Latin Quarter Hotel Paris
Comfort Inn Paris
Paris Comfort Inn
Comfort Hotel Mouffetard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing