We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, very small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint Christophe
Ranked #624 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

There are several things about this hotel that are truly superior, and I'm going to be fair about them, since I think other reviewers have overrated this hotel.

The staff is excellent: unstintingly courteous and helpful. (And if you've been to Paris, you know that this is all too rare.) They accommodated all our requests with first-rate hospitality. They speak English very well, too.

The location is good. You're right in the Latin Quarter, between the Place Monge and Jussieu Metro stations. You can walk to Notre Dame. The Pantheon is no more than 10 minutes away on foot, the Jardin du Luxembourg not much further than that. There are lots of restaurants and convenience stores in the area.

The internet access is good too: free wifi, always a good signal.

The room comes with a refrigerator, which is tremendously useful.

The main drawback is the room, which is so small that the front door doesn't even open all the way. And you might have to move your bed a few inches to make sure that the bathroom door can clear the mattress. I understand that space comes at a premium in Paris, but there are a few things the management could do to make more efficient use of the little space available. For example, your (small) closet is nestled behind the front door, but it has an unwieldy folding door of its own that you can never open all the way because it bangs into the front door. There had to be a better solution. Similar problem with the desk. The chair is on the left side of the desk, the refrigerator on the right. It's impossible to sit comfortably because your chair will bump into the mattress if you try to adjust it. If you're sharing the room with another person, you'll have to get up and move your chair every time he or she wants to get past. If they had simply bought a desk with a chair on the RIGHT side, at least you'd be able to sit and type with full clearance.

Lastly, I cannot recommend the breakfast. For 9 euros, you get tea or coffee (served in cute crockery), orange juice, a selection of rolls and pastries with butter, jam, etc., and there are also sweetened yoghurts and two kinds of cereal available. (You're out of luck if you're counting carbs.) Many better options: the Carrefour City grocery store is down the street at 37 rue Lacepede, and there's even a couple of specialty stores right across the street. We tried the boulangerie and liked it.

Room Tip: Stay away from high floors if you're traveling in the summer. There's no air conditioning a...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrGoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCSTAFF, Manager at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed staying with us and that our staff gave you entire satisfaction.
We are happy you liked the location of the Saint Christophe.
We regret our room didn't meat your expectations. We, also wish we could have bigger rooms, but as you said it yourself "space comes at a premium in Paris ". Are building dates back to 1900. In that time rooms were smaller...and we needed less space...
We thank you for your advice regarding our room. We always learn from our guests.
Next time you come don't hesitate to ask for another room. We will always do our best for you to enjoy your stay the most possible.
Kind regards.
The Hotel Saint Christophe Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint Christophe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 551 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

A great base to explore Paris from. Close to Place de la Contrescarpe and the cafes and restaurants of the Latin Quarter. Friendly reception staff 24x7. Clean room, comfy bed and good shower. Hard to fault, except, as others have said, it's quite noisy, but then you're in central Paris!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCSTAFF, Manager at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy to find out that your stay with us went so well.
We look forward to seeing you soon at the Saint Christophe.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Saint Christophe Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HSCSTAFF, Manager at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just back from Paris having spent a week here in the Latin Quarter A typical Parisian 3 star hotel with small rooms and little place to put anything. We knew on our arrival that the Lift was not in opertion but since our room was on the first floor it was of little inconvenience. However, they extended the date until the end of the month when it would not be in operation which was different from the date posted on their site. No one was working on it that we could see the week we were there. Their Staff is very pleasant and helpful and do speak English. The hotel is well located between the Jardin of the Plantes and Luxembourg Gardens, both being within walking distance. A supermarket is nearby and a boulangerie is just across the street. It is near both the Monge and Cardinal Lemoine Metro stops. It is only a short walk to the Mouffetard district having many affordable restuarants. Free internet is offered and a printer is available to copy Boarding passes, etc. Breakfast is available for a price. Being a "European style hotel" no wash cloths were provided but thankfully we had brought our own. It was disappointing that our drinking glasses were not washed for four days in a row! We bought disposable plastic ones at the Carrefours and solved the problem. The biggest negative is the fact that it is not airconditioned when several hotels around them are. Alhough we "love Paris when it sizzles" we endured four days of over 95 degree farenheit condtions with just a room fan. All in all, it is a quaint, affordable small hotel well situated in the Latin Quarter and I do recommend it providing the "little things" I described about it don't bother you.

Room Tip: Unless you book well in advance you probably have to take what is available. The hotel is not very...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carm18426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCSTAFF, Manager at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you liked the hotel's location and that our staff gave you entire satisfaction.
We regret you were annoyed bu the works done on our lift. I wish to inform you that the lift is now working and that we have finished the works one week in advance.
The date we had put in the Hotel was different bacause we prefered taking in consideration the eventual risk of having problems. You never know. Some problems can happen.
Luckily enough everything went well and the lift is now working perfectly.
You said you didn't see the workmen, that is normal since the workman was in the basement in the "machinery" room.
We also regret you were annoyed by the fact we don't have any air conditionning. This, however is mentionned on our web site and on the web sites of our partners.
We hope that these little problems won't stop you from coming back to our Hotel.
Hoping to see you soon.
Kind regards.
The Hotel Saint Christophe Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Location, location, location is all you need to know!! Rooms are cramped but clean and everything works well. I Ilke it and would definitely stay again. Great restuarants and close to the Rue de Mouffetard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCSTAFF, Manager at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you like the Hotel Saint Christophe's location.
We look forward to seeing you during your next stay.
Kind regards
The Hotel Saint Christophe Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My son and I stayed here (20-22 July 2012). It's a great place to stay, the hotel is situated a block from the Metro, the area is safe. After a long day of walking, it's so lovely going back to a hotel with a nice, crisp clean sheets, comfortable bed, love their pillows. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with fresh towels each day (the downside of the bathroom was the shower curtain sticks to your butt. but that's nothing, not a big deal). Lift was working. The breakfast was perfect. So happy that the staff can speak English and they are pleasant. Would love to come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elyray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCSTAFF, Manager at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy yo find out that the comfort of our rooms gave you entire satisfaction.
We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
The Hotel Saint Christophe Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Excellent location a few minutes walk from the cafes, restaurants and buzz of Rue Moufetard, or downhill to the the Seine and Notre Dame. Also easy transport options. A huge plus are the staff, friendly, helpful and (mostly) English-speaking. For us the only downside was the lack of an elevator, which was out of service for the month of August for maintenance work -- we did not see this on the website, altho it was mentioned. Fortunately, as we had two largish bags, we were only on the second floor. We also thought our room (room 25) was quite small, with twin beds jammed together, but the bathroom was good, with a bath. There was also an ultrabright street light outside, over our window, which meant the curtains had to be drawn tight at night, making the non-airconditioned room a bit stuffy. However, we considered these minor drawbacks only, and they were more than compensated for by the very reasonable price (we stayed two nights) and the pleasant and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 25 is illuminated by a large, ultrabright street light (perhaps room 24 also).
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCSTAFF, Manager at Hotel Saint Christophe, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed staying at the Saint Christophe.
I wish to inform you that the work on our elevator is almost finished.
I regret your room didn't give you entire satisfaction, don"t hesitate to ask for another room during your next stay.
Hoping to see you soon.
Kind regards.
The Hotel Saint Christophe Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#207 of 1,804 in Paris
314 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#447 of 1,804 in Paris
102 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Arenes
Hotel des Arenes
#973 of 1,804 in Paris
449 reviews
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,218 of 1,804 in Paris
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Christophe

Address: 17 rue Lacepede, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in Paris
#339 Family Hotel in Paris
#342 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $145 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Christophe 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in 6-story, early 19th-century building situated in the Latin Quarter, 50 meters from Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saint Christophe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Christophe Logis De France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing