We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Ranked #431 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel option”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just spent a week at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. The decor is a bit wacky (red light in our room) but the location is fantastic, the staff was helpful, the room was small but clean and a great shower. The breakfast was good--lots of choices.

It was a bit noisy at night--since the hotel is in the Latin quarter. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betteluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    248
    92
    32
    26
See reviews for
106
207
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a lovely hotel in a very nice area, the staff were all very helpful, breakfast each morning was plentiful & the lady in the breakfast room worked very hard.the rooms were small but very well equiped all you need. There were lovely restaurants close by especially Cinq Kilo ( lovely brunch before afternoon flight) when next in Paris would certainly use again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel shows as something it's not. The photos published seems to be from another hotel.
It has half the hotel reformed, but the other half is a disaster.
Our room had humidity, the two beds were different between each other, when taking shower the bath got completely wet... And the worst, how could be explained the strong urine smell coming from de toilet table??? That just shows de poor cleanliness. Absolutely disgusting.
The staff: The morning desk clerk, wasn't very helpful; On the other hand, the evening desk clerk was very thoughtful.
The location was the only thing that was really great, but there's lots of hotels around, so, it's really better try another one.
Not recommended at all.

Room Tip: Ask first for what kind of room is it: standard, superior, etc... The standard service is in fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula_Luz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambourn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel has received a number of fair reviews, yes the rooms are clean, yes they have been recently re-vamped in a garish Austin Powers kind of way and yes they have all the things you would like a hotel room to have. That said it would be a squeeze if sharing...I had a deluxe double and glad I didn't have to share, otherwise I would be tripping over my partner. Rooms facing the busy street are noisy but I had room 30 which is the opposite side...so was a little more tranquil. The downside when bagging a cheaper room rate, it is cheap for a reason. The walls in this hotel are 'Waver Thin' think 'Inspector Clouseau' and imagine him saying to you now...'Waver Thin'. If your in your twenties you won't care cos you'll be back in the early hours anyway but if you are older and enjoy the fullness of a day and like lights out before 12 forget it. Chances are you'll end up with loud mouthed, yomping, door banging, groups of party goers next door to you (because like I said it is cheap) Both my friend and I throughout our stay got little sleep. It is impossible to relax and enjoy the comfort of a room when you have a group of over excited lads looking forward to their big night out and getting back at 3 in the morning. I did of course have the fun of banging on one of their doors early morning which was funny because with the rooms being so small and the occupant failing to lock it, I nearly feel into his bed. That woke him up :) Oh yes hotel staff asking them to be quite were ignored. Never again..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyncarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I enjoyed my time at the Moderne Saint Germain. The room was just the right size for one person with ample closet space, in room safe and an electric kettle for making coffee and tea (this was a nice surprise). The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was cozy. It was a really good use of space and I liked the towel warmer which came in handy for drying clothes. My room was super clean and had a balcony. The balcony had cigarette butts from previous guests and they were not cleaned up during my week long stay.

At check in, the staff was, not overly friendly. For example, they rarely smiled and did not say "welcome to the hotel" or "enjoy your stay" or "if there is anything you need..."
One host enjoyed smoking and drinking coffee in front of the hotel quite often. She was friendly after a couple of days. The breakfast was really delicious. Pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, cereal, coffee juice, yogurts, jams, fresh fruit. It was quite the spread. It would be nice if the breakfast ladies (who were fabulous) smiled.

At night it can get a bit noisy from other guests. I heard a couple of loud arguments and when doors slam shut, it rattled my door. There were also renovations going on, but that had minimal noise disruption.

Would I stay again? Yes. The location to the metro and Boulevard Saint-Germain can't be beat. You can easily get anywhere in Paris in a matter of minutes. The neighborhood is very safe and I never had any troubles walking back to the hotel after dinner at night.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Rue des Ecoles are nice. They have good soundproofing from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marien344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

For those looking for luxury, look elsewhere. Otherwise, this hotel is perfect for those seeking a clean, friendly, and convenient place to rest. Its a block from the Metro and within walking distance to the Pantheon, Luxembourg gardens, Notre Dame Cathedral, and many other attractions and restaurants. The rooms are not large, but who needs a large room when you're not spending all your time there? The A/C was cold, breakfast was good, and staff was friendly. When, not if I return to Paris I will make this my home for the time I am there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcharette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of the major attractions. My room was very clean and the staff helpful. The washroom is tiny though and my car's backseat has more legroom than the toilet does! The only concern I had was that you have to leave your key at the front desk when you leave. However, when come back and ask for your room key, they didn't really verify that you're actually a guest there.

Room Tip: The Latin quarter can be quite rowdy at night, so a room in the upper floors might give you a bit mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunningRabbit77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#318 of 1,798 in Paris
957 reviews
Quartier Latin
Agora Saint Germain
Agora Saint Germain
#514 of 1,798 in Paris
935 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#179 of 1,798 in Paris
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#124 of 1,798 in Paris
1,351 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#190 of 1,798 in Paris
248 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Le Jardin de Cluny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne St-Germain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne St-Germain Hotel

Property: Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Address: 33 rue des Ecoles, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#235 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderne St-Germain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moderne St-Germain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne St Germain Hotel
Hotel Moderne St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing