We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room but unwelcoming, unhelpful, uni-lingual staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montparnasse-Alesia
Ranked #1,096 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Unwelcoming, unhelpful, uni-lingual staff.

First impressions are very important and at this small hotel the reception staff are curt, very unhelpful as if it would be a shock to provide anything other than a key, and very ill matured. When I asked if they had an adapter for my computer the receptionist made a big fuss about how difficult the clients were – no one else was in sight and she wouldn't help. Another staff member who appeared to be the cleaning lady went to search but could find anything all while the receptionist was sighing and grumbling.

When I had trouble connecting to the free wireless, they made a great effort to be unhelpful – solve it yourself it is self-evident how it works. The internet here is 22 euros for the cheap rate.

The hotel is currently being renovated. The rooms are very small and pretty with a very functional bath shower arrangement. There are good towels. Sheets and a very comfy bed too. Small closet for clothes too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DB1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 235 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2010

Having read a review about recent bug bugs the day before traveeling I was worried. However we inspected the bed and it was fine and even comfortable! We had a room facing the main road but sleep fine.
Breakfast was basic but there was enough choice. We didn't find the staff too friendly but then we didn't spend much time at the hotel so it didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunsearcher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I found the male staff more willing to help. The hotel has many fast food places around it so feeding was no issue...

For 65 euros a night the single room is extremely small, you cant move around on the bed...Though it was extremly clean..

The older female staff is rude and her answer to every enquiry is I don't know. Their advert said there was cable tv but all channels are in french and her response....I don't know!

No free wifi either...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afrobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed for three nights. It was pleasent and overall clean and service was fine, nothing out of the ordinary.
The room was very small. nicely and newly decorated but small and the same can be said for the bath room.
The location was slightly off the beaten track but easy to get to by metro or cycle (do not miss out on using the cycles!!! There is a docking station five min down the road) and it has feel of being in "real" Paris.
Breakfast was fine, bread, pastry, jam, cheese but not a huge selection and no fruit but adequate.
All in all a reasonable hotel and reasonable value for money AND you can see the top of the Eifel Tower if you get a room facing the street.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LulugLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Excellent value for Paris. Yes it is off the beaten track, so don't expect a central location but we liked being away from the crowds and there were lots of lovely restaurants within 10 mins walk. Smallish room but not ridiculous, friendly and helpful staff and clean room: very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed here from 12th to 15th July 2010. Having stayed in the Montparnasse 14th arrondissement a couple of times before I assumed that this would be a similar experience, however, it's not really conveniently located as it's a lot further away from the Gare Montparnasse and the Montparnasse Tower than I realised and the a bus ride or half an hour walk to Montparnasse.

The hotel is not as convenient for transport links as Montparnasse itself is. The metro at rue d'Alesia , turning right as you leave the hotel, is about 10 minutes walk away, but that area is very rough around the edges and fairly unpleasant and noisy The metro Plaisance further down rue d'Alesia, turning left as you leave the hotel, is a few minutes nearer and a smarter area.

All the roads opposite the hotel eventually lead to Avenue de Maine (the main road towards Montparnasse) and is about a half hour walk. Bus number 58 will take you there too, which you can catch on rue Dido (to the left as you leave the hotel).

The road was very noisy with traffic most of the time. The weather was very hot and, as there is no air conditioning in the rooms, having the windows open over night only made the noise worse. The top end of rue d'Alesia is closed at the moment for road works and pavement widening so I assume that there was less traffic than there normally would be.

There was a problem with our room key card being charged and so for the first 24 hours I had to get a member of staff to accompany me and get access to my room. The wash basin was leaking as well, however, this too was fixed within 24 hours.

The breakfast room is in the basement and not very pleasant as there are no windows to look out to give you a psychological boost in the morning. Breakfast was very basic with the usual orange or grapefruit juice, tea/coffee/chocolate from a machine, jams, honey, bread, butter, three choices of cereal (cornflakes, cornflakes or cornflakes !) and only the very small croissants and pain au chocolats.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank Candoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Cant fault this hotel it was very well priced (for Paris) clean and basic. Breakfast for 6 Euro was well worth taking, especially when you see the prices in Paris. Quite area, but plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. Nearest Metro is about 5-10 minutes walk in either direction. If you are feeling fit, you can walk into the centre of Paris in about 40 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcgGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#756 of 1,803 in Paris
549 reviews
Montparnasse
Patio Brancion
Patio Brancion
#1,201 of 1,803 in Paris
130 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#529 of 1,803 in Paris
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Ibis Styles Paris Alesia Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Parc Hotel Paris
Parc Hotel Paris
#1,271 of 1,803 in Paris
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montparnasse-Alesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montparnasse-Alesia

Address: 147 T rue d Alesia | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,096 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $67 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montparnasse-Alesia 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montparnasse Alesia hotel is what you are looking for. Line 3 of the metro will bring you to the exhibition centre of Porte de Versailles in only 10 minutes; line 4 puts the center of Paris 15 minutes away and Saint Lazare 20. The property offers you 70 rooms; free wifi, air conditioning, flat screen TV with Canal + and 4 international channels, individuals safe, courtesy tray and, laundry service are the main assets of the rooms with contemporary design. The shower or bath rooms are equipped with beauty mirror, hairdryer and with numerous welcome gifts. The American buffet breakfast will be the promising beginning of an excellent day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montparnasse-Alesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing