We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful location, Incompetent staff, do not stay here.”
Review of Hotel Acropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acropole
Ranked #322 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Overall the staff were utterly incompetent. I have several examples of this. First, we asked the front desk to print out a voucher needed for a tour. The individual behind the desk did not know how to use a computer. Specifically he had a problem locating my email and once he found it could not figure out how to print. We were unable to get our vouchers. Second, the maid was rude. We asked for additional towels. When she brought them to us she did not speak English and as a result barged into our room by pushing my friend out of the way to retrieve the old towels. I was still in bed. And by the way, it's not like anyone would ever take them since they are paper thin. Third, the night before we left we asked the front desk to confirm a car service to the airport which they booked for us and they replied with l "we cannot confirm, but I am sure it's fine." This is clearly not the case since our friends who stayed in another room left the day before and the car they arranged never came. Fourth, when we went to leave at 5 am the next morning the man who was supposed to be manning the front desk had the the lights off in the lobby and was sleeping on the couch with an eye mask.

I say the location is poor due to the proximity to an incredibly loud intersection. I am from manhattan and even I thought this was loud. All day long police officers blow a whistle to direct traffic. It is literally all day. You can ever hear the whistle with the windows closed; however,you often have keep the windows open due to lack of a/c. Overnight we frequently awoken by loud sirens and garbage trucks.

The room was average and it did have a safe and refrigerator. The bathrooms were fairly new. That said, don't think it's worth the incompetent staff and awful intersection.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelacropole, Directeur général at Hotel Acropole, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Madam,

Following your comment in which you question the competence of our entire staff, we would like to clarify the following:

With regard to print your coupon, we remind you that it was a technical problem unfortunately the website that day. Do you think although the reception staff to the habit of making this kind of service to our customers and if you could not have your voucher is not due to the incompetence of the receptionist.

About our maids, they are required to be conscientious in their work, which is already very painful, but they have neither the skills nor the obligation to maintain in all the languages of our customers. If she seemed uncomfortable, we apologize but we are working with these people for many years and we do not usually receive complaints about their behavior.

On the other hand, our hotel is ideally situated for access to the capital: the arrival of the southern highway, bus, metro and tram at the door, all these amenities are an asset for the majority of our customers, we sorry for not being able to meet your expectations.

Finally, we do not understand your problem because the station taxi rank is located on the opposite pavement and it takes a minute to arrive on our doorstep.

Madam, you read all of our staff is incompetent. These comments are all the more astonishing that they are discordant comments that we usually receive other clients.

Know that we all do every day work to satisfy our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 501 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had already emailed the hotel because we knew we were going to arrive early; we wanted to leave our bags there while we went off because check-in was 2pm. We were a little later than expected; 12.15 but we were checked in without any problem. This made life allot easier.
We also took a laptop and wanted to hook it up to the TV, although the TV had the right connections the TV was locked down to just use the normal TV channels. (A lot of Hotels do this) When I asked if it was possible to use the laptop with the TV they went out of their way to get the right controller so I could use my laptop. We were really impressed.
Everything we asked they put themselves out to help. Reception was always manned and the staff were very helpful in giving us directions and explaining which Metro lines to take.
We would make this hotel our first choice for staying in Paris, and it is ideally situated for the tram and metro.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent hotel. I went to Paris for 5 days on a limited budget. Result? I'll be back.
Very affordable. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean, plenty of room. Location was fine - Metro literally just outside the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Secure parking is available just minutes away at a reasonable cost. And the Auto-Passion café next door serves a lovely grande bière! I would definitely go back to this hotel - by a number of measures, it was very good indeed.

Room Tip: Some reviews complain about lack of air conditioning and/or the noise if you open the windows at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very affordable accommodation right next to the metro, away from tourist traps. Plenty of good affordable restaurants down the road in the University area. The hotel was clean, the staff charming, one of our rooms even had a view of the Eiffel Tower! Decent breakfast for 12 euros. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missvoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Of course I have little prospective on the matter, we only stayed at one other hotel during our weeks visit....but this place was great. We stayed on the 6th floor in a very modern room with big beautiful bay windows (big for Paris). Subway line 4 was just steps outside the door and our gateway to all of the left bank and beyond (subway line 4 runs through the heart of Paris). The Latin district (wonderful place for food and drink) is one or two stops away. All in all, we loved this place and would book here again. The bathroom/room was modern, clean and dare I say kinda chic. We especially loved the shower (lots and lots of hot water) and the location was spot on.

CONS: The house keeping constantly forgot to restock the bathroom with TWO towels vise just one. The soap/shampoo wasn't replenished daily. The elevator is not on the first floor, but rather the second. With the window open, traffic is very loud (don't worry, you can't hear a thing with the windows are closed). First impressions of the neighborhood was "shady" but after seeing other parts of the city...it wasn't all that bad. The good news is you only have to walk 15ft before your on the subway and into the nicer parts. The elevator will only fit two people (a tight fit at that)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnsEcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Great location, just in front of Portes d'Orleans metro station. All renewed room with nice style, modern and clean. Rooms quite small, but well distributed space.
Very kind service.
Even though the hotel is placed in a very noisy corner, they have double glass windows to avoid noises.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We decited to take a trip to Paris and we found this hotel on tripadvisor it was a great place for us to stay and enjoy the french country ! The rooms were nice and the views were pretty amazing. The reception guy was friendly and helpfull to give us directions to visit around.

The prices were awesome and we happily enjoyed our stay at the hotel ! I have to recommend this hotel for everyone that wants to visit Paris for a weekend or more !

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LundM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chouette Hotel
#304 of 1,804 in Paris
355 reviews
Home MODERNE
#275 of 1,804 in Paris
1,079 reviews
Mercure Paris Alesia
#538 of 1,804 in Paris
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#211 of 1,804 in Paris
1,057 reviews
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#273 of 1,804 in Paris
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropole

Address: 199 boulevard Brune | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#132 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#177 Business Hotel in Paris
#221 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $91 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acropole 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Acropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropole Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing