We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feeling like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abotel Transcontinental
Ranked #1,076 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Feeling like home!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Although you are not located near the Tour Eiffel, Montmarte, Champs Elysees, Louvre and museums like Rodin, O'rsay and Orangerie, it is located in a nice neighbourhood in Montparnasse. Actually Montparnasse is a very nice place. Thw hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, some small markets and near the Montparnasse Gare.
Also, it is three blocks away from Gaithe metro station and two blocks away from thw metro station of line 4. So you will be able to manage pretty easily through the subway to different points of the city. At least for me it was really confortable.

Regarding the hotel itself it is nice and pretty. It is very clean and the bedrooms are really comfortable. I stayed at a room in the forth floor and having the elevator was so convenient. The rooms are bigger than I had expected. The matreses are soft and very, very confortable.
In terms of the bathroom it is very clean (actually they are cleaned every day) and the towels are changed with no problem. The shower is great.
Oh! The best part is the staff and the delicious breakfast you are given every morning before 10. All the staff is atentive and makes their best effort to make you feel well. And the breakfast service is very satisfying. You are offered coffee, tea or a hot chocolate drink. And you also have an Orange juice, jam and cheese and the most delicious pattiserie.
I should say that my stayed at París was even more special thanks to this nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelliPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    90
    38
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
85
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

No complaints here, so let's start...

1) Clean and well-kept rooms, not that small for Europe. Great Wi-Fi signal and for free. Only French Channels on TV, but it's better that way, even if you don't understand a word. You are in Paris, after all!
2) Very friendly and attentive staff; most of them speak very good English, which is always appreciated.
3) Good breakfast;
4) Great location, as it's not overly tourist but still very close to two Metro lines (4 and 13) , several bus stops (28 line, for instance) and a few blocks from Gare Montparnasse.

Overall, it is a great choice for budget travellers who are looking for a nice and comfy place to sleep after spending an entire day sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dominique0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A decent budget hotel near Montparnasse, with good connections to the metro. The room we had was very small, but clean and quiet. Breakfast was included in the room price and was fine. A good choice if you're looking for something affordable in a good location in Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fritz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We just came back from a week in Paris with my 2 teenage children and couldn't have chosen a better location. Near restaurants, 2 metro stations and supermarkets. Only complain was the TV (only French channels) and limited breakfast options. Great choice if you are on a budget - rooms are small but clean and nicely done, hotel has probably been renovated not too long ago. Staff is very helpful and most of them spoke English. I will definitely come back and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room - they are quieter. Also, choose a lower floor, easier to walk the stairs (e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MRRH134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic stay at transcontinental, My first time travelling alone with my 2 teenage children and it was perfect.
The metro stop Gaite is 5min walk from hotel.
The hotel is spotless with English speaking staff that are very helpful, Nice breakfast.
Our room was ideal for what we wanted (clean, enough room and very comfortable beds)
I cannot wait to return to Paris and will definatly be booking to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marie123England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Great choice of hotel if you are on a budget. Small clean rooms. Good location for choice of metro ( which proved very helpful , when there was a metro disruption on one line which almost resulted in us missing our flight home !) What makes me want to return to this hotel is the excellent friendly helpful service we received from front desk - 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cath32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My first trip to Paris and I had booked through Trip Advisor. I had my doubts and was sceptic about the place. Woah! to my pleasant surprise, the hotel was easily approachable by tube and bus. Excellent front office staff who understood and spoke English(I didnt know any French). They made feel at home. There were whole lots of restuarants to my liking and it was accesible to the main tourist destinations easily. Very calm place with perfect ambience.
I have decided that if one is a budget traveller and want to be in a safe place -- THIS IS IT.
keept it up !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1966Doctor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel du Lion
Hotel du Lion
#643 of 1,798 in Paris
423 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
Hotel Oasis Montparnasse
#1,351 of 1,798 in Paris
25 reviews
Montparnasse
Campanile Paris 14 - Maine Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel
#779 of 1,798 in Paris
508 reviews
Patio Brancion
#1,206 of 1,798 in Paris
119 reviews
Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
La Maison Montparnasse
#381 of 1,798 in Paris
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abotel Transcontinental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abotel Transcontinental

Property: Abotel Transcontinental
Address: 155 avenue du Maine | 14th Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abotel Transcontinental 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abotel Transcontinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abotel Transcontinental Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing