We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay for a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais du Pre Hotel
Ranked #1,029 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great place to stay for a weekend break”
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Very helpful and friendly staff, exceptionally clean, room lcomfortable and arger than one would expect for Paris. Good value hotel accommodation with no frills. 5 minutes walk from Gare du Nord, metro and velib stations even closer with good access to attractions. Some nice bars and restaurants locally. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    92
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
27
89
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valais, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

LOCATION: Hotel Relais du Pre is located near the Metro Stations of Poisonniere & Cadet which sit on Line 7. This gives you direct access to places like Opera Garnier, Musee du Louvre & Latin Quartier ~ journey time will vary from 10-40 mins depending on how far out you travel.

Visiting other places of interests such as the Tour Eiffel, Arc de Triomphe, Champs Elysees, Musee d'Orsay, etc may not be as convenient as you have to transfer to different Metro lines. Certain destinations may even require multiple transfers along the way & it can be quite a hassle to navigate the Parisian Metro System when you're not familiar with it.

The Hotel is situated in a rather dingy neighbourhood with narrow grimy streets lined with drab buildings. If you wish to experience some of that romantic ambience of being in the famed City of Lights, all i can say is that you won't find it here...

ROOM: We stayed in a Standard Double Room which was small & drab. It was simply furnished with a double bed, two tiny beside tables, luggage rack, a long narrow table set against the wall with chair & stool, a small wall-mounted TV (limited channels & fuzzy screen-image), an open-style (no doors) closet offering ample storage space.

The room had thin walls which meant that you could hear people talking, walking or dragging their luggage along the corridor, and the frequent openings & closings of the lift door (if your room is situated near the lift like ours). Our room is street-facing on the 2nd floor so for much of the night, we could hear traffic noise from passing vehicles.

We stayed here in winter when the average temperature was about -5 degrees. The radiator was not working well & the room felt really chilly at night; we had to sleep with at least 3-4 layers of clothes on, while huddled under the blanket.

BED: The double bed was of a good size but had an uncomfortable mattress & soft, floppy pillows. Its cleanliness also left much to be desired. The sheets looked clean enough but the moment i got into bed, i felt unbearably itchy all over... Fearing there might be bed bugs, i ended up trying to sleep in the chair with my upper body slumped over the table. My partner was just too tired to bother about the possibility of bed bugs so he bravely spent the night in bed. Needless to say, we both had a torturous night of very little & poor sleep...

BATHROOM: Small but clean & well-equipped with the necessary amenities such as shower gel, body lotion & shampoo, ample towels & hair dryer. The layout was a bit awkward though with the toilet bowl squashed right next to the bathtub. There was good supply of hot water (essential during winter) & the shower head had strong water pressure.

BREAKFAST: Room rate is non-inclusive of daily breakfast which is available at an extra 12 Euros. The buffet breakfast offers an adequate spread with good variety: bread rolls, pastries, cereals, cheese, orange juice, coffee & tea. Breakfast is served in a small cozy room on the ground floor. Cheaper breakfast options are easily available at the many Parisian boulangeries & patisseries along the streets.

SERVICE: Reception Staff spoke good English and were friendly & helpful. Reservation, Check-In & Check-Out all proceeded smoothly.

SUMMARY: Given the room rates, Hotel Relais du Pre offers good value in expensive Paris. If not for the fact that we couldn't get a good night's sleep here, we won't have checked out immediately after the 1st night, seeking alternative accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeChat_EnVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Stayed at Relais de Pre for a long weekend and really enjoyed it. The outstanding quality of the hotel is the friendliness of the staff - it's very laidback and they all go about their day with a smile on their faces, and are genuinely keen to help, which is very refreshing for me after several years of staying in chain hotels with work. Also, the location is great, but peaceful too - one street away is the bustling and noisy Lafayette, but you would never know it on Rue Pierre Semard.

The rooms are quite basic, but clean. Our party had two rooms and one was more modern than the other, which was a little smoky (as if it had once been a smoking room and the carpet and curtains had been tainted). Both rooms were on the fifth floor and looked out onto the street, which was a very charismatic Parisienne view. The rooms were a decent size (nothing like the cubby-holes of Paris hotel legend) and we all slept soundly. If you're looking for something romantic and charming then the rooms won't really impress you, but on the functional front they represent good value. Breakfast is also good value at 12 euros. Fill up on fresh patries, bread etc and it'll keep you going until late afternoon.

Overall, the hotel fitted our needs perfectly. We were looking for something that represented good value and was safe, well-located and friendly... a big tick in the box on all counts.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whisky-Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

My wife, her friend and myself stayed at the Realis Du Pre in July 2009. It was an absolute wonderful stay. The hotel is exceptionally clean and very accomodating. The rooms are well equipped and large by Paris standards. The hotel staff was incredible and served a delicious breakfast of rolls and coffee. The customer service provided by Freddy and the other front desk clerks were exceptional. Fraddy made great welcomed us like we we family and made reliable recommendations on attractions, restaurants, and shopping. The Relais Du Pre is a great little secret in the center of Paris and is easily accessible to the rest of the city. There are some great bakeries right down the street that have delicious croissants and sandwiches. I also recommend the Les Corail Bistro and the General Lafayette restaurants, great Foie Gras, Bon Appeit!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in April, and as a solo (female) traveler, was very concerned about the safety factor. To my relief, the area seemed to be a quiet and safe place to be, and was in a very convenient location (about 7-8 mins walk from Gare du Nord, a 15 minute taxi ride from Gare St Lazare) and also for internal travel purposes, a short walk to the metro / bus stop. The buffet breakfast was good, staff was helpful, and I thought it was good value for money. The room was on the smaller side, but not a cubbyhole as I was given to understand most hotel rooms in Paris are. I was not at all disappointed overall. Bathroom had a tub and hairdryer, nothing opulent but very decent. I was out sightseeing all day, and the hotel was an ideal place to come back and crash. Good value for money (got an internet special rate of Euro 68). Definitely recommend this for a short sightseeing trip to Paris. On the downside, I could hear the flush from either the neighbouring room or the room exactly above mine, and it faces the street so if you leave the window open, you can hear people walk by, but I had no qualms with any of it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeandLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2008

Stayed there in February 2008.
The website I hade made the booking through had for some reason cancelled the reservation, but the staff were very helpful and serviceminded. They checked us in for the first night, and due to full occupancy the next night they found two rooms for us at another "du Pre" -hotel in the same street. The location is only a few minutes walk from a Metro station. We even walked to the Champs Elysees one day.
The area north of the hotel is a little bit shabby at night, but it shouldn't cause any problems because the nearest Metro is south of the hotel, and we went home by taxi anyway.

Clean rooms, good breakfast (10EUR extra) and good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djtromso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

We booked this hotel through the hotel website, for a cheap few days away. Conveniently located, just off the main road, between Cadet & Le Peletier Metro stations (less than 5min walk to either) which are on a direct line to the Louvre, Lafayette department store or a 15min walk to Gare du Nord.

We took taxis each way from CDG because of the timing of flights, these were 40euro in to Paris 50euro back.

Breakfast was not included in our rate and was an additional 11euro per person, needless to say we did not eat at the hotel, we usually got a couple of pain au chocolat a coffee & orange juice from the bakery next to the metro for 5euro. There are plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from.

The hotel was good, no worse no better. It was clean, with rooms cleaned daily and was a decent size, definitely in need of a refurbishment, which is apparently due in Feb 2008. The real plus points were the location & the help and information provided by reception, they are a wealth of knowledge and eager to please. Air con would have been nice especially had we stayed during Summer. This is not a 5* hotel but doesn't claim to be, overall it was a good value hotel for a cheap few days break, exceeded expectation for price and would probably book again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank C0RN1SHPASTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Residence du Pre
#597 of 1,801 in Paris
222 reviews
Hotel du Pre
#942 of 1,801 in Paris
157 reviews
Entrepôt
Maison du Pre
Maison du Pre
#1,273 of 1,801 in Paris
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Brittany Hotel
Brittany Hotel
#843 of 1,801 in Paris
429 reviews
Comfort Hotel Paris La Fayette
#1,005 of 1,801 in Paris
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais du Pre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais du Pre Hotel

Property: Relais du Pre Hotel
Address: 16 rue Pierre Semard, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,029 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais du Pre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near a quiet and charming Square, in the Center of Paris, between Opera, Gare du Nord and the Sacre-Coeur, the Relais du Pré welcomes you in its elegantly decorated rooms.Our hotel offers you : 24 hour reception Breakfast buffet from 7 to 10.30 AM Private lounge and bar for hotel guests Luggage Room Guide of the best restaurants in the nearby area Booking of shows, restaurants and excursions Special price at a Guarded car park near the hotel Free wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Relais du Pre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Du Pre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing