We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location”
Review of Relais du Pre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais du Pre
Ranked #988 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My best friend and I stayed here for 3 days in May of 2011. The staff is very friendly, there is a lounge area which is very comfortable and a small bar. The rooms are nice, bed was comfortable enough, we had a small balcony over looking the street that let in lots of light in the morning. A little noisy at night, but not too bad. The bathroom is very large, nice double sink, and plenty of outlets. only problem with our room was there was now shower curtain or door, which made taking a shower pretty messy, but not that bad. The area is nice, close walk to metro which will take you anywhere you want to go for two young women we felt safe at night. Had dinner everynight just around the corner from the hotel at Pizzeria Venezia. The owner there Paul is very nice and helpful. He gave us great directions to some of the places we wanted to go. He also told us which areas to avoid at night. The food was good, and not too expensive. For the money this hotel was everything we could have hoped for and more. Would stay again, and would recommend to friends or family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed in a delightful B&B neat Chatellet for a week, then traveled out of Paris, returning for one night before catching the Eurostar to London. We looked for a hotel close to Gare du Nord, where the Eurostar begins. Unfortunately, we ended up at Relais du Pre.

First, it is not that close to the train station - about a 10 minute walk if you know your directions. Finding it on foot was nearly impossible. Even locals did not know the name of the hotel or even the name of the short street upon which it is located. A good hour after beginning our quest, dragging luggage up and down the streets, we found the hotel. Small lobby, smaller elevator, narrower hallway, and tinier room. Absolutely no charm whatsoever. The carpeting is very old and shabby, the bed is small and uncomfortable. Everything suggests that the hotel was out of date before WWII and hasn't been upgraded since. The minimum basics - a small t.v., small bathroom. The window opened onto a view of other rooms and all the noise associated therewith. We booked with Venere, which rated the hotel 4 stars. We have stayed in much nicer 2 stars in Paris, in much nicer neighborhoods, and for a lot less money. I'm giving it a 2 star only because the gentleman at the reception desk was nice and gave us ice from the kitchen. Otherwise, one star.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jimvogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Near the train station and about à 7 min walk to THE metro. But perhaps THE nosiest street ive ever slept on. THE sounds of cars speeding down THE cobblestone coupled with construction work made it almost intolerable. Staff is lovely but rooms are small and cramped with no a/c which made THE mouse even louder since we slept with THE Windows open. THE area is à bit dodgy and we did have à bit of an experience wurm we were walking back to THE hotel after THE metro had stopped. Would recommend à hotel in THE Latin Quarter -near st. Michael for those who are into night life like we are.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraversingTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

In a city of pricey hotel rooms I thought that this was a reasonable place to stay (100 euro a night) - very close (less than 10 min walk) to Station Gare Du Nord, where we were arriving from, and close to nice cafes, shops and bars near the canal. The room was very small, however met our needs. I liked that we had a large balcony to look down on the street 4 stories below! One snag - and more my fault really - I had forgotten we did not have breakfast included so had a nasty surprise when I was the saw the added cost of 12e each for just coffee and croissant on the bill!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed here for three nights, was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel as the area is not the best. It is very close to Gare du Nord (and connections to airport and trains to Amsterdam/London etc) so good for onward travel.
My room was small but perfectly suited for a solo traveller. Nice and quiet, had a good night's sleep. Very clean.
The concierge was friendly and I enjoyed our daily banter as kI tried out my schoolgirl French on him. He was always helpful on where to find supermarkets, internet cafes, local sights.
The area surrounding the hotel is very Parisien but got a bit iffy at night - just be careful. It did not feel dangerous but it was the first time in Paris (after staying in the Marais) I felt a bit wary.
Having said that, the service was excellent and I enjoyed my stay. I would dedinitely reccommend to anyone who wants a decent hotel near the Gare du Nord.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsquirrel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in December. The rooms are nothing fancy, but what you'd expect for the price in what is an expensive city. While the room wasn't that big, the bathroom was actually very large.

It's worth noting that the walls appear to be very thin - at one point the people in the next room asked us to turn our TV down, and it wasn't on very loud!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stamphappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

my husband and I stayed in Relais du Pré for our 1 year wedding anniversary. The staff were very friendly, although had not properly recorded our booking details so we had to re-enter all our details for them on the day. No matter, it did not take long. Check in was at 2pm, which was a little later than we wanted, but the hotel is near some lovely cafes and restaurants so we had some coffee at a nearby cafe while we waited.
The staff are incredibly good fun, friendly, and taught us some french, sat with us and we really enjoyed their company.
We did not make use of the breakfast facilities because we were so close to some lovely breakfast joints so ate out every morning.
The room was a fine size and comfortable. It had a little mini balcony to look out onto the street. The only problem was the bathroom was very small and there was no shower, just a bath tub with a shower head in place. This made it a little awkward to stand in a tiny little bath trying to shower.
There was a TV which worked just fine, and I enjoyed the atmosphere of the area.
This hotel is for people who want to actually enjoy Paris itself rather than sitting around a hotel all day long. It is very basic but it works well. It has everything you need and should be an enjoyable trip for yourself and your family. This hotel would probably not be very ideal for children, but is absolutely fine for adults.
Recommended. We will return one day for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaandDaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Residence du Pre
#636 of 1,802 in Paris
232 reviews
Hotel du Pre
#844 of 1,802 in Paris
173 reviews
Montmartre
Best Western Hotel Le Montmartre Saint Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Maison du Pre
Maison du Pre
#1,303 of 1,802 in Paris
159 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Super Hotel
Super Hotel
#1,345 of 1,802 in Paris
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais du Pre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais du Pre

Address: 16 rue Pierre Semard, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#150 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $77 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais du Pre 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near a quiet and charming Square, in the Center of Paris, between Opera, Gare du Nord and the Sacre-Coeur, the Relais du Pré welcomes you in its elegantly decorated rooms.Our hotel offers you : 24 hour reception Breakfast buffet from 7 to 10.30 AM Private lounge and bar for hotel guests Luggage Room Guide of the best restaurants in the nearby area Booking of shows, restaurants and excursions Special price at a Guarded car park near the hotel Free wireless internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais du Pre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Du Pre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing