We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Sacre Coeur, free WiFi, close to metro station.”
Review of Vintage Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintage Hostel
Ranked #14 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

It's a really old Hostel, air conditioner doesn't work very well. Lifts are really small and don't take you straight to your floor, you have to use the stairs, always. Breakfast is included but no so good, everyday it's the same. Wifi is free and only works down stairs. Kitchen is small, there is no laundry or lockers. The room to leave your lugagge before check-in it's not very safe! Bathrooms are so small, but shower is good. Staff is not polite and don't speak english very well.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first's floors otherwise, you gonna have to use the stairs a lot of times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoniqueMascarenhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 777 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

I originally found Vintage Hostel when looking at about.com's Paris Travel section (Their article: Top Ten Paris Hostels) and we decided to book it after comparing it to other hostels/hotels. Knowing that it was a hostel, we went in not expecting much and that's pretty much what we received. We booked a three person private ensuite and it was pretty much what we expected. It wasn't luxurious or overly comfortable, but we didn't come to Paris to stay in our hotel room. It had the basics (decent beds with clean linens and bathroom with a shower/toilet) and it offered luggage storage. Because of that, we could still spend our final day in Paris without worrying about our luggage.
Everyone at the front desk speaks English and is friendly. The free breakfast is decent. The area is very close to 3 metro stops (Anvers, Barbès-Rochechouart, and Gare du Nord). We had a bit of a difficult time trying to find the hostel, but after we did navigating was fine. While this hostel is technically in the 9th arrondissement you are so close to the 18th (Montmartre area) and so close to Sacré-Cœur). This area along with Barbès-Rochechouart is often deemed "unsafe" but we found that if you just pay attention and keep you wits about you, you will have no problems.
We just booked Vintage Hostel for our second trip to Paris, so I'd definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the ground floor have a stronger wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at Vintage Hostel and spent a very nice stay there ! I was accommodated in a new dormitory, with a big bathroom. The room was big enough to accommodate 4 people. I liked the paintings on the wall, and tried several services : free breakfast, lockers in my room, air dryer on rental, free wifi at reception desk...
Nice staff, they took care of everyone, and organized funny moments with lottery on FB or sport forecasts.
Cleanliness is done everyday, the lobby is welcoming too.
At last, the hostel is very well placed, and you can always ask for good deals at the team.

I'm in a hurry to come back to share a new experience there !

Room Tip: Choose a superior mixed bed dorm, for a little extra cost. Sometimes you can be upgraded for no extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Everything the room was like a cut from a horror movie I felt like they could do with a renovation and the carpets had mildew.

What made matters worst was that my friend left her bag in the lobby and her phone and money got stolen...and I suspect it wad the receptionists!! they were crappy and rude and did not even chop the papers to view the cctv to take to the police station and we had to come back to get it chopped and went back to the police station again.

They did not even show a sign of remorse or felt sorry for what we had to go through.

Horrible people!!

I can only applaud the housekeeping because they always managed to keep our room clean.

Also the bathroom ceiling was leaking and on our 3rd day the bathroom was starting to smell like pee.

Never again!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Haryaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vintage_Manager, Responsable commercial at Vintage Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest
we take into account your request and are sorry that you didn't enjoy more your stay. To make you feel at ease, we would like to let you know about our new services and rooms : we have refurbished dorms , rooms and bathrooms, now well equipped with big shower cubicle, lockers in the room...
For your security, we advise to our guests to use lockers in the lobby and keep an eye on your valuables.
We stay at your disposal for further information
Reception team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hostel is the worst place I have ever been too. It had moisture everywere and it smell like a party mix of orange and mildew!! Don't go there! you are treated like trash and the price is high! The room are dirty

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francois_bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vintage_Manager, Responsable relations clients at Vintage Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest
we take into account your request and are sorry that you didn't enjoy more your stay. To make you feel at ease, we would like to let you know about our new services and rooms : we have refurbished dorms , rooms and bathrooms, now well equipped with big shower cubicle, lockers in the room... Let us know if you come back, we will be happy to welcome you another time for a better stay with us !
We stay at your disposal for further information
Reception team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The receptionist was very rude and yelled at me when I asked to change my room, since they put me separated from my other friends. Customer service was deplorable.

Good breakfast and reasonable bed.

Rooms with infiltration.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia_VL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here for a week in July 2013 with my cousin and booked a private twin room. The room was clean although small and the bathroom was small but was clean and had everything we needed. The facilities such as the A.C (which was a god send in the 35 degree heat) worked great as well as the flat screen t.v and the private safe. The room came with it's own balcony from which you had great views of the district of Montmare.

The lift was small but worked fine and the continental breakfast was tasty and filling. Although after a few days, I got bored with the same things on offer. The hostel is literally around the courner from the Gard Du Nord and about 3 mins from the nearest metro station. The surrounding district also has it's own character and it's well worth having a look around the Sacre Cour and area as well as checking out central Paris (about 10 min metro ride away). I also found the district by the hostel to be the cheapest place to get gifts and momento's.

Also the hostel staff were very helpful and gave me some good advice regarding where to eat, how to get to places etc.

Room Tip: Try to get a private if you can afford it as you have a bit more space as well as your own safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshwanderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vintage_Manager, Responsable commercial at Vintage Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest
we thanks you for your review and will take into account to improve. We hope you will have opportunity to benefit from our new rooms and services : we have refurbished dorms, rooms and bathrooms, now well equipped with big shower cubicle, lockers in the room...
New vents are also coming, for the end of the year, so do not hesitate to come back !
We stay at your disposal for further information
Reception team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Regent Hostel
#11 of 181 in Paris
1,020 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#4 of 181 in Paris
798 reviews
Arty Paris
#10 of 181 in Paris
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Hostel

Address: 73 rue de Dunkerque, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $24 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vintage Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vintage Hostel, located in the famous Montmartre, close to Gare du Nord and the Sacré-Coeur welcomes you to live a typical parisian experience, Ideal to share a amazing moment with your beloved one, your friends or your family, choose between our dormitories or between single, double, triple private room. Share a meal in the kitchen, stay fit at the gym, relax in the lobby, where you will enjoy the wifi, games and travelers from all around the globe. Before exploring Paris, start your day with a french breakfast and do not hesitate to ask advices to our lovely and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vintage Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vintage Hotel Paris
Prelude Gare Du Nord Paris
Prelude Hotel Gare Du Nord
Prelude Gare Du Nord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing