We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping back in to the 70's and not in a good way.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Havre
Ranked #1,664 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stepping back in to the 70's and not in a good way.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I dont normally get angry about hotels, but this one i did. its an absolute joke. I know that Paris hotels are notoriously small/crappy/not great if you dont have a tone of cash but this one should win an award for craptasticness.

We arrived at the Hotel around 10pm on a wens night and had to wait 20mins to check in as the receptionist had to deal with a problem in a room? so there was only one member of staff on??? so we waited, and waited and waited....

When i was finaly given my key and got to my room, it looked like a set for a movie based in the 1970's (and not in a cool retro way) The walls and the bed spreads where all matching which was great for making the room feel like a padded cell. The carpet was worn, and dirty. The wardrobe and the 3 random chairs in the room would have looked better in an office rather than a bedroom. The bed its self was meant to be a double bed but it was two singles pushed together and the mattresses were no thicker than 3cm which made them so uncomfortable!!!!

the thing that really got me though was the fact that the bathroom, was literally just a bath, there was NO shower. I tried to call down to reception and the phone in the room didn't work.

In the morning i asked at reception if i could change rooms, and i was told rudely that no they only had baths, and that was that. Therefore i had to have a bath each morning, which in turn meant that i had to get up 1 hour earlier than i would normally do as i had to run the bath and then bathe. It was so old fashioned and not convent.
All they would need to do is add a shower head to the taps and hang a shower curtain. Also don't expect to have nice comp toiletries. Mine was a large, mold stained, broken bottle of multipurpose hair/shower gel that had broken off its fittings on the wall.

I would truly say that if i could, I would have checked out the next day, but all the hotels in the area were full due to a big convention that was on in town (the one i was there for). Just a bad hotel all around and it would take a lot to get me to EVER stay there again.

There are just 2 things that i can say that were quite good about the place 1) it was a quiet hotel & 2) the location is good if your in Paris to shop as its a 5 min walk from the main shopping area and a lot of the tourist destinations. But only stay here if you miss the bad old days of 70's service and have no other choice. I really don't know how this place can charge what it does, look like it does and still stay open in 2014.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms. take your own shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robjay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    44
    71
    70
    86
See reviews for
62
68
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Hotel is located in excellent location near major shopping attraction and having easy access to public transport (Metro/Bus). Room are small and don't expect anything special, they should be improving that part. Breakfast is simple, but as you are in Paris you can find lot of coffee shops and enjoy your coffee and croissant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location is good. Price for one night 150 eur in the single room was way too high for the quality you get. Breakfast is limited. Coffee was bad, no fresh items at all. Baguette was ok. Awful noice from the street during the night. So if you decide on this hotel you should make sure that the room is not the the rue dÁmsterdam.

Room Tip: Room facing the street are awfully noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScandinavianHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

What a terrible place to stay!! The grumpy old man at the desk needs a lesson in customer service and just plain manners as he yelled at us as soon as we walked in the door and got irate at the most straightforward questions. The location is ok but the noise from the traffic is so loud it is difficult to sleep in due to the walls not being thick enough and there is no air con which on 30 degree days isnt acceptable. The elevator at most fits in two people which makes it most difficult when travelling in a big group!! Never again would I stay here!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed there 2 weeks ago, the room, towels and bedding were clean and quite comfortable. I suggest you take your own pillow with you, as the one provided by the hotel is good for one night only. Seriously, we expected it to be quite bad after reading all the reviews, but it was amazing, we left early in the mornings and came back late in the evenings so it was a perfect place to just sleep. Our room was facing the street, and we could hear the train during the day but I did not hear anything during nights. Our room wasn't big but it really served its purpose.
Across the street from the hotel is a metro/train station, there is also Starbucks, and there is a little grocery shop in the shopping mall. We didn't have the breakfast at hotel due to the reviews we read and its cost, we just went to Starbucks in the morning.
Another thing, we were driving to Paris and we left our car in the shopping mall car park (which is just across the street).. we booked it online so we got a really good deal on it.

I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

A shame cannot post the photo...
A room say 4 to 5m2 standing up below the roof. No shutter so waiking up at 6am. Breakfast choice awful, milk even mixed with water to optimize !
Cost : 140€
Only good point:reception staff charming (surely not responsible of such nightmare)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamyleyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I enjoyed the hotel. It's clean and the room is quite big, with a good bathroom. Very well located, few meters from subway station and Stores. Restaurant with reasonable breakfast. A little bit noisy, because it's near to the subway. Nice for travelling alone or business.

Room Tip: nice, clean, cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scancissu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Grand Hotel Du Calvados
#1,565 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Hotel de Dieppe
#1,617 of 1,796 in Paris
2.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
#1,018 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de Geneve
#1,140 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Hotel Charing Cross
#1,383 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Rodier
Hotel Corona Rodier
#1,447 of 1,796 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Havre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Havre

Property: Grand Hotel du Havre
Address: 9th Arr 18 rue d Amsterdam, 75009 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,664 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel du Havre 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel du Havre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing