We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Expedia.com
$190
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Priceline
$148
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Hotels.com$190
eDreams$209
Travelocity$190
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveler rating
461
332
99
49
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
461
332
99
49
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moulin rouge boutique hotel breakfast was excellent busy street clean hotel central paris montmartre metro foyer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 972 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Just got back from a mini break to Paris on the Eurostar. We walked from Gare du Nord to the hotel -about 20 mins. On arrival, we knew we were a bit early to check in but were told our room would be ready in 25 mins. We sat in the quirky lounge area and logged onto the free wi-if. We had free coffee from the machine in the lounge area. While waiting we spied the "honesty bar" that stocked champagne, Grey Goose vodka, Baileys and top quality Cognac. We were soon up to our rooms which are quite small, but again quite quirky. To get the lights on you have to put your key card in the slot as you enter the room! - Remember that when it's dark! Then we went off to explore. As you come out the hotel, turn immediate left up the hill and the Metro is 2 mins away. Also number 30 bus service to the Trocadero which is basically where Arc de Triomphe is and all the sights you want. You can walk or jump on and off the bus/metro . Buy tickets from the machine in the Metro, it's cheaper - about €1.40 per ride. We felt safe to wander about but do keep an eye on your bags. The Christmas market is on to at the mo . Back to the hotel, lovely super helpful receptionist (Monica) speaks perfect English and really gave good information about transport and things to do. Lovely help yourself breakfast buffet downstairs and the hotel will store your bags when you check out but want to carry on sightseeing. Would defo stay here again as a perfect base for sightseeing. Au Revoir Paris, see you again soon! Jackie, Cathy, Emma and Danni

Date of stay: November 2016
1  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OumakhloufRachid, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

Dear Jackie F,

Hello and thank you for this wonderful comment! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our hotel! We will be delighted in hosting you again, my team and myself, and we hope you tell your friends and family about your visit.
We are indeed proud that our hotel has a great location, with Metro stations a few minutes away by foot, or also 10 minutes away from Montmartre as well as the Garnier Opéra House, or with buses that take you directly to Notredame, the Louvre museum, Champs Elysées, the Eiffel Tower, etc.
Thank you for mentioning our buffet breakfast! Our customers generally appreciate it and it is always recommended in order to start your day merry and bright!
And yes, we will tell Monica to continue giving the best tips and information since we are comscious how important it is for our guests to always have in handy and practical information when travelling. All our staff will be delighted in helping you as best as they can. Don't forget to check our website for best rates and promotions!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016

4.5 stars

We spent a long weekend at hotel Josephine at the end of October and had a pretty amazing stay. The reception area is set up like a living room/ library, with super comfortable couches and armchairs.There are lots of books that you can peruse (alas, mostly in French) and as we were there around Halloween they had cool decorations all around. There is a coffee/tea area that guests are welcome to use at any time. The hotel offers happy hour (usually an absinthe based drink) so we spent quite a bit of time chilling there. The female members of staff were all very helpful and friendly and a pleasure to deal with.

We had 3 rooms between us, which were similar in size and style, but each had its specific decorations, adding to the charm of the place. The rooms are small, but that's well represented in the hotel photos when you book - so no surprises there. Everything is very clean and colourful and each room has its own coffee machine. Expect the twin beds to be very small and only have one pillow - other than that, pretty comfortable. The walls are very thin and we were unlucky enough to have very loud and inconsiderate neighbours. But this is mostly on them being uncivilized, not the hotel. Depending on which side your windows face you will probably also get street noise (parties, garbage trucks etc). But this usually comes with having a centrally located hotel.

There were a couple of small issues with the rooms - one of the hairdryers didn't work in the bathroom outlet, the water didn't get very hot in one of the showers etc. But nothing major. Overall there definitely were more positives.

Location wise, the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the metro station and within walking distance (about 20-30 mins) to Galeries Lafayette. The journey by metro from Gare du Nord was about 20 mins all in all, so very convenient.

We had a very enjoyable stay and I wouldn't hesitate to go back to Josephine.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roxanat733
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OumakhloufRachid, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear Roxana T,

We read with a lot of interest your incredible comment! Thank you for recommending us !! It is great to point out all the details you did, and we are very happy you took the time to prepare this review of your stay!
First of all thank you for booking with your family for these special holidays. We are very happy you felt at home here yet were able to explore Paris! It is what our hotel is about! Inviting our customers to forget the hassle of being a tourist and helping them make the best out of their visit thanks to our hotel staff, who as you saw are at your service, and ready to give you the best tips, or by relaxing and preparing your day while enjoying a free drink; coffee, a cocktail or our absinthe!
We are also thankful you mentioned the very interesting location of the hotel, surrounded by great restaurants and having Metro station and buses by the hotel or within a short walking distance.
We also invite you to check out our website for great rates for your next visit!
We will be very happy to see you!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

Great location near everything.Couple blocks down from busy ave (near Mulon Rouge)but was still quiet. Staff was amazing. Monica answered everything all her recommendations were perfect. We highly recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OumakhloufRachid, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Dear MoJoMc,

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic message! We will let Monica know you are happy with her help! All our staff will always be ready to give you the best tips to best enjoy Paris and ease all aspects of your stay! Our staff wants all our customers to feel welcome, at 'home' yet ready to enjoy their trip!
We hope to see you very soon again! Remember you can reserve via our own website for best rates.
Thanks again, for booking with us and for this comment!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016

fabulous staff, fabulous location, has that traditional french feel when you walk in the door, breakfast included, coffee machine in room, safe available, very enjoyable experience, first visit to France, not disappointed

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tanglewoodbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OumakhloufRachid, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear tanglewoodbelle,

FABULOUS!!
Thank you for your kind comment! Two thumbs up! First visit to Paris and you decided to book us! We are very happy about that and also that this visit was a success!
We will pass on your comment to our staff!
Now you know who to recommend and where to book on your next visit! Check our our website!
All the best and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

We spent the weekend @ Hotel Josephine & found everything to be great. The girl on reception was really friendly and explained everything really well.

The room was 602 - we had booked through secret escapes what was a 'superior' - I think that meant we got roll top bath.

The room was clean, bedding fresh - nothing to complain about.

The only thing I'd say is that the hotel is BOILING!!!

Breakfast was great - fresh coffee, pastries, bread, cereals, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs. All delicious.

5 min walk to moulin rouge. 10 minute walk to big bus tours pick up spot. 30 min walk (climb!!) to Sacre Coeur.

The area has some fabulous bars/restaurants - better than in centre of Paris.

Thank you Hotel Josephine - great base for our break.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 454katiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OumakhloufRachid, Directeur général at Hotel Josephine by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear Katie K,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are only sorry to hear that you felt it was hot. Staff could have helped!
You mention the help of the friendly staff as well as our very tasty and complete breakfast! Glad to know you enjoyed it! Staff is always ready to explain and solve to look after all your needs. As or breakfast, yes, it has a large choice of fresh pastries, fruit, cereals, bread and loaves, eggs, sausages, cheeses, ham, yogurt and obviously hot beverages and cold too, as well as special products like expresso, gluten free bread or soya milk, and you can make your own freshly pressed orange juice!
We are very pleased that you were able to move about easily from our location, and that you found also a great many restaurants around the hotel to enjoy!
We invite you to take a look at our website to book for your next visit!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews